We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 31 January 2007

this is a great place to stay in wanaka which is a very relaxing resort,
great room with big bed a large bath room ,friendly hosts serving good breakfast . the room we stayed in, you could hear the road traffic when the window was open

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
182
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2006

Wanaka was definitely a highlight of our trip and the homestead was the best place we stayed in the South Island. Owners were lovely - Roger even gave us a lift to catch the bus the following day which was so nice of him. They also have mountain bikes for your use which is great as you can cycle into town along the lovely lake. Would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — its homeliness
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 May 2006

We were to stay there 2 nights and we extended it to 4 because we loved Wanaka so much. We were on our honeymoon and Roger & Shonagh made us feel at home while we were there. The hotel very much a luxury B&B and is well worth it.

Food is fantastic too.

Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2006

Fantastic cottage stay; excellent B&B. We (two couples) booked in here for just one night, having changed our itinerary on the spur of the moment after determining that Mt. Cook was too long a drive from Te Anau to do in one day. Another place had been recommended, but was full and we felt outselves blessed by good fortune after our stay here. The buildings are beautiful, very fitting for a nice residential area. They sit on a between two quiet streets in a small town on the edge of Lake Wanaka. We were indeed most fortunate that one of the two cottages was open for the evening, in this recently designed and built (by owners) small inn. The cottage was just beautiful . . . 5 star in every way. The furnishings, linens, draperies, everything were top drawer! The two bedrooms are on either side of the great room with sitting area couches, dining area and kitchen. One bedroom has a completely enclosed bathroom w/shower. The other bathroom is just outside the bedroom and has a tub as well. This is a prime rental unit for those who travel as two couples or with children and wish to stay for a few nights in the area. It is beautiful inside and out . . . everything the best!
The dining room is most pleasant and the breakfasts were excellent. Could not have been better. The owner couple is thoroughly engaging. They are a very, very nice young couple, originally from GB, who migrated out and built this place for its present purpose only about 3 years ago. They are most pleasant to talk with and did a great design/build job. Not one of us of the two couples, both of whom travel extensively in the world and frequently stay at 5 star hotels etc., can imagine why anyone would rate the place less than excellent. The individual rooms which we saw were nicely decorated, "charming," my wife said, although they aren't terribly oversized.
There is a beautiful park full of old trees from a long-gone homestead and bordering on the lakeshore just across the little cul-de-sac street at the back of the property. One can sit outside on the patio at table and chairs provided and look across to this verdant scene, across the beautifully landscaped back garden. A strong recommendation from all 4 of us, and kudos to Roger and Shonaugh North, the owners.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2005

We went to NZ for our honeymoon, starting from Queenstown and worked our way up to Nelson. With our itinerary, we were only able to stay in Wanaka one night. I must say, I wished we stayed in Wanaka at least two nights. The Homestead was such an ideal place for our honeymoon. When we first arrived, we were greeted by Nikki who promptly gave us the "honeymoon" suite when she found out we were on our honeymoon. The room was fantastic. CAL king bed with dual shower (wink, wink). As my wife would put it "This is what a B&B room should look like". They're weren't many guest at the time we were staying so it was basically me, my wife and Nikki chatting it up during the "cocktail" hour. The night was quite and warm. With the free internet, we were able to send an email to our loved ones, and the breakfast...cooked to order. We just had a great time there. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank foolball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 August 2005

We stayed in the lodge at Wanaka Homestead in early August 2005 after being disappointed to find that their self-contained cottages had been fully booked for more than six months. We need not have worried, the "hosted" lodge concept - a first for us - was a real delight.

The lodge had warm and friendly hosts, a beautiful guest lounge, log fires & exposed beams, and all sorts of free facilities. Our equally wonderful ensuite bedroom was the most comfortable we found in our entire trip around the South Isalnd. Although only a minute's walk from the lake, the view from the room was mostly obscured by the abundance of mature trees in Wanaka Station Park - another real treasure. On the second night we opted for the "wine and nibbles" option, and, as if by majic, several hours passed seemlessly, the other guests became new friends and we scurried off for an hour of romantic star gazing in the huge steaming outdoor hot tub. With sub zero air tempertaures outside we were expecting the temperature in our seemingly unheated room to be plumetting . Wrong! The room had unobtrusive radiant underfloor heating, thick well insulated walls and timber double glazed windows - the heat was going nowhere! Later we discovered that despite its traditional appearance, the lodge and cottages were only 2 years old and had won awards for their technologically advanced design. By now this was no surprise. The closer you looked the more the place impressed us but even more importantly, this place felt like home.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2005

We booked our room at Wanaka Homestead over the Internet without very much information beyond the nice website. We were thrilled when we arrived to find a beautiful, almost-new house with friendly hosts and guests. Breakfast is great, served at a community table where you get to meet the other guests who offered interesting tips for the rest of our trip. The town of Wanaka itself seemed rather small, but we were quite happy lounging around the house near the fireplace and talking to people. It was truly the highlight of our New Zealand trip.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank floppedthenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
778 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing