We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious cottage for family of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spacious cottage for family of 5”
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed in a cottage here during our NZ trip in August. The place was easy to find.. probably about 5 minutes drive from town & spacious. The host/service was great & we had 2 good-sized toilets (which was so convenient for a family of 5). The only drawback was that the place looked a bit old (as compared to some of the other motels that we have stayed during this NZ trip) & rooms upstairs did not have heating (which could mean cold rooms in winter)... we went around the problem by moving the mobile heater to the top floor...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgpoonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
182
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I stayed at the Wanaka Homestead for 3 nights, as a solo traveller in June. The owners of the property are lovely, helpful and accomodating.

I stayed in a room in the homestead itself, which was lovely and large, with a clean, new looking bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable and there were extra pollows and blankets provided. The property has free wireless internet, which is always a plus!

As I didn't have a car, I found the property a little far from the main street in town (a little over 1km walk), but it was lovely and close to the lake.

I'd recommend this property to anyone travelling to Wanaka!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorksOnly2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I've got to say, Wanaka Homestead was the best lodging we had on our 15 day trip to New Zealand, the room was clean, refreshing and very welcoming after our long day - and the breakfast was great. Oh and did I mention our hosts, they were wonderful. Highly recommmend.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mintkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Stayed with family of five for two nights...cottage was better equipped than my house on the North Island...spacious, luxurious, well appointed, especially enjoyed grilling a meal and eating outside while watching the fire from the outdoor fireplace...laundry facility was just right for our needs, bicycles were put to use and made the children happy...hot tub could use more frequent maintenance. Internet was available in the lodge but we did not use it.

When our time was over at Homestead, we felt revitalized and ready for the last half of our adventure...If you've the choice to stay in Queenstown or Wanaka, don't hesitate to book in Wanaka, and if you can splurge a bit, choose Wanaka Homestead.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed here for only three nights but found that Ed and Carol were perfect hosts. Ed advised us on a challenging but quite wonderful walk to the head of a glacier which we shall never forget .The accommodation was excellent and the breakfast quite delicious. They found us light chairs to take to sit by the lakeside, recommended that we try the hot tub -- our first experience of this and lovely -- and insisted we walk into town along the lakeside. I'm so glad that you did. I think this was the friendliest and best service we experienced in New Zealand. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingpair_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Modern pine lodge with comfortable rooms and nice bathrooms. Breakfast is served communally, with a great choice of fruit, toast, juice, eggs/full brekky - delicious and also really nice to chat to other poeple & swop tips. The hostss/owners are really thoughtful, so that there's loads of books to borrow, a guest lounge/TV and 24 hr access to tea/coffee/fresh cookies. So nicely thought out, it's really homely. There's a guest laundry and a PC, although there's WiFi too. It's a 10 min walk into Wanaka, which is a really nice small town, much more civilised than Queenstown which is a bit mad, although there are more opportinities to do adventure sports in Queenstown. There are many different restaurants in Wanaka so there's something for all tastes/budgets.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stopped in Wanaka for two nights to break up our NZ driving tour with small kids. We were completely amazed at how beautiful Wanaka was and also pleasantly surprised by our accommodation. The cottages are solid and beautiful and extremely spacious. The bedrooms are on opposite sides of the cottages with their own (large) bathrooms. The kitchen was lovely and all furniture in great condition. Overall you feel that the places are really well taken care of. The cot and highchair were all set up and waiting for us on our arrival and we could always locate our hosts if we needed to ask for anything. The laundry facilities are great which is important when travelling with children.

The cottages and the main house open onto a lawn which our kids loved playing on with Douglas the dog. The BBQ area was great for a family meal and we also got to enjoy the hot tub once the kids were in bed. We borrowed bikes and rode into town but it is an easy (and beautiful) walk. I wish we had had longer in Wanaka and I hope to return one day.

Wanaka Homestead was our favourite accommodation of our trip and definitely the best value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefourcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing