We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poipu, Kauai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and so wish we could have stayed much longer. Carol and Ed are gracious, attentive and simply perfect hosts.

We loved the location- easy walk to the center of town but far enough away it was so quiet and serene.

They have thought of everything and it is so appreciated when you're on the road for weeks.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msrpoipu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
182
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

We stayed here two nights after doing the Routeburn Track. We felt like some comfort and this place was the obvious choice in Wanaka. Immaculate rooms and warm and welcoming feel. Free use of mountain bikes was a nice touch. After we left, I discovered that I had left my camera battery charger in my room. Carole graciously posted it to me on the North Island. This was much appreciated as it would have been quite expensive to replace.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Great location, close enough to walk to town which is helpful if you plan to have a few drinks with dinner and are not used to driving on the left side of the road. Nice leisurely stroll by the lake. Great hosts as well. Super friendly and helpful. Beautiful rooms, nice and comfy. I'm sure we'll be back in NZ someday, and when we do go back we'll save a few days for the Wanaka homestead. It was a nice treat for us. Mahalo Ed and Carol, how's Douglass?

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandLHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Wow what a relaxing stay! The room in the homestead was huge with the comfiest bed and the best linen. The walk in double shower with his and hers sinks was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. Carol and Ed had even put a bottle of fizz into our room for our honeymoon, so kind.
The homestead is a little out of town (15/20 min walk, uphill coming back!) but worth staying here for the peaceful location. Additional bonuses are the free use of excellent mountain bikes (great for riding out to the local vineyard), outdoor hot tub, free laundry facilities, free computer and internet and a huge selection of complimentary beverages and homemade biscuits!
Ed was in charge of the breakfast which was all locally grown produce and the selection was superb. I particularly liked the fresh fruit salad which contained so many different fruits, just delicious. There was also a hot breakfast choice and was all served around a large communal table. There were only 3 of us staying there on 1 night and then just us 2 the next so that was not a problem for us.
What was so lovely here is that Carol and Ed just leave you to get on with it!! They are there if you need them but if not the place felt like our own. The guest lounge is gorgeous and relaxing and the whole homestead is so clean and well maintained.
Definitely a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrummyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karratha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Having just completed a climbing trip to the summit of Mt Aspiring and in the final stages of preparation for the .3 multisport race a little bit of luxury was in order - this property was the perfect place to stay for my needs. Nice and quite with wonderful beds, it let me recharge, the hot tub was welcome to ease the sore muscles after the race and the breakfasts gave me fuel for the day ahead. The genuine interest and consideration shown by hosts Ed and Carol with their local knowledge and personal experiences in climbing and multisport was extraordinary - they made the whole package complete. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien_Karratha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights and truthfully couldn't fault it. A 15 min walk to the town by the lake or a 3 minute drive. Helpful and friendly owners who provided us with a great breakfast. Use of laundry (and powder) and bikes, helmets etc. Had good quality toiletries and spacious bathroom. Our room overlooked the garden on the ground floor. Lots of extra touches that make a difference to a holiday. Well done we had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnniePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

We had a guest room in the main house. The room was comfortable and clean, although the walls were very thin and you could hear your neighbours voices. Tiny bathroom and I have to admit that the shower floor looked filthy, but whether that was the gloss having worn off the tiles or dirt I could not figure out, I trust it was the latter. The homestead is located about 20 minutes scenic walk along the lake to the centre of town, so very enjoyable. Breakfast was good, although we only had the cereal and fruit so can't comment on the cooked breakfast which was availble. A computer is available for guests' use which is a bonus. Very friendly hosts.
Wanaka is a beautiful place not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovers816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazza99, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review, 27 November 2010
Dear Rovers816

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Just to respond to your query about the bathroom floor. The bathroom floor surfaces are dyed polished concrete. This surface gives the appearance of a rustic worn look. We can understood how you may have gained your impression, but please be assured the floors are thoroughly cleaned each day and the worn look is simply part of the polished concrete effect.

We agree that Wanaka is indeed a beautiful place not to be missed.

Kind regards Ed and Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing