We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flying Kiwi Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have experienced several backpackers in NZ, but this one is far away the coolest in the South Island!! It's not too big, it's not expensive, there is WIFI Internet, laundery, hot showers, big TV plasma screen, BBQ, everything you need ! The place is also not far away from the main shoppings and lake side. The room are clean, everything is brand new, it's super friendly, and the owners Joel and Jena are really nice people. I definitely come back there if I have the chance to return to Wanaka, and I would highly recommand this backpacker if you are looking for a very nice place to stay in this magical city. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Flying Kiwi Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

I ended up in that hostel after looking at the tripadvisor reviews. First of all the owner Joel will make you feel like home. Dorms beds are the cheapest around thinking there is also free wi-fi. Its a small hostel (30-40 bed) which can give you a break of the crazy party animals hostel in Queenstown. The hostel is at a walking distance from everything (beach, town, grocery store, liquore store,post office, and banks) I will definately come back at this hostel on my way back to the sound island and I already told all my travelling friends about it. Everyting is top clean which includes bed linen, showers and kitchen. There is also a little dog if you'd like to play with ...and oh by the way its only 3$ to clean your clothes and there is enough space to dry it outside. Best hostel in Wanaka !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed in the flying kiwi for just one night, but it felt like home! Staff was very helpful, finding me a ride to travel to the hikes and the atmosphere was very friendly. Everything is brand new and the kitchen is great! Best place to sray if you're going to Wanaka!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olgawasinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I've stayed in many backpackers over the years and this has to be one of the best, Very chilled out, Cool owners and a very cute dog!! scooter the jack russel!! We were here for New year and had the most relaxing New year ever!! Starting off with a BBQ and beers then down to the for the fireworks! We will stay here again and will recommend this place to our friends!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernbird75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I had one of my best NYE in this very nice hostel. It's a new one, hold by a family, all the staff is nice and helpful, they care about making you feel comfortable. The kitchen is clean and new, the bathrooms too. I had a great time with very friendly people. Thank you !
I highly recommand this hostel

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Auriane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at the Flying Kiwi Backpackers this week. The hostel is immaculate; very clean and tidy. It's a new hostel - all the beds, mattresses, linen etc look to be brand new. A nice change from most hostels! The staff are friendly and helpful. The hostel is painted amazing funky colours too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: dortoir les gens sont sympas
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurore C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
791 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Wanaka
Base Backpackers Wanaka
#38 of 45 in Wanaka
400 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Kiwi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Kiwi Backpackers Hostel

Address: 21 Russell Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £29 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying Kiwi Backpackers offers clean and comfortable budget accommodation in the form of dormitory rooms, double rooms and family rooms. We’re the perfect base for meeting fellow nomads and exploring Wanaka and its surrounds. Rooms and prices are as follows and may be subject to change, please check pricing for your stay on our bookings page or by contacting us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing