We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flying Kiwi Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #13 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Its a great hostel with I nice area to sit and watch tv. The city is just three minutes awai and the outside part must be a highlight in summer. It was already in winter!!! Joel is a great owner how helps you in whatever you need. The kitchen is perfect equipped and clean all the time. Plug in next to every bed and lockers are available. Would stay there again whenever I am in Wanaka

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    19
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
20
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The hostel is new (opened Christmas 2013/14) and very well kept. 4-bed dorm with high ceiling and big lockers and powerpoints for each bed. The owner is dedicated and always helpful when it comes to activities or even ride shares. You can rent mountainbikes for 20$/day. Only 5min walk to town and supermarket.

Absolutely loved the kitchen! Clean and extremely well equipped (no old grubby pans and pots!) with fresh basil for everyone to use and more herbs like rosemary outside!

Awesome 3D TV (you can use your own device to watch your films on the big screen) and the Jack Russel was the ultimate extra! Everyone loved Scooter! Oh, and it has a hammock outside!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CarolinRemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coutras, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

One of the best hostel I have been so far. The owner Joel and staff are very relaxed and friendly and I had a very nice time there hanging out and relaxing.
Everything is brand new and very clean and makes for a very pleasant stay: nice lounge with big tv to watch movies, cute dog, nice and comfortable dorms with enough plugs for everyone, heater and lockers, enough Internet to go by if you stay a few days, clean and brand new bathrooms, nice decoration all over the place and great fully equipped kitchen with even fresh herbs to be used freely.
All and all, it is the perfect chilled traveller hang out. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evertkhorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had a great time at the Flying Kiwi. Very homely with good value dorms and private rooms.

The owner Joel is very friendly and laid back and it rubs off on everyone to make a great stay.

Met loads of people to link up and do things with and Joel is helpful with information and sorting activities and getting people together to share rides.

Well located with a short walk to the town, beach and info centre.

He has a great little dog Skoota who kept a smile on my face with his antics.

Room Tip: $30 dorm fills up last so sometimes has only 1 or 2 sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Flying Kiwi is such a lovely little hostel and it was so close to town! Its not too big which gave it a nice chilled out vibe. Everything was very clean and tidy with great new cooking facilities and really nice outdoor seating, perfect for the warm weather we had! The staff were all really helpful and friendly, made for a memorable stay. The hostel had everything we needed while in Wanaka, free wifi, huge plasma TV with heaps of movie choices, BBQ, hot showers, cheap bike rental and laundry facilities! Definitely my top choice in Wanaka!

Room Tip: I would recommend the family room. Definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eezp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have experienced several backpackers in NZ, but this one is far away the coolest in the South Island!! It's not too big, it's not expensive, there is WIFI Internet, laundery, hot showers, big TV plasma screen, BBQ, everything you need ! The place is also not far away from the main shoppings and lake side. The room are clean, everything is brand new, it's super friendly, and the owners Joel and Jena are really nice people. I definitely come back there if I have the chance to return to Wanaka, and I would highly recommand this backpacker if you are looking for a very nice place to stay in this magical city. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I ended up in that hostel after looking at the tripadvisor reviews. First of all the owner Joel will make you feel like home. Dorms beds are the cheapest around thinking there is also free wi-fi. Its a small hostel (30-40 bed) which can give you a break of the crazy party animals hostel in Queenstown. The hostel is at a walking distance from everything (beach, town, grocery store, liquore store,post office, and banks) I will definately come back at this hostel on my way back to the sound island and I already told all my travelling friends about it. Everyting is top clean which includes bed linen, showers and kitchen. There is also a little dog if you'd like to play with ...and oh by the way its only 3$ to clean your clothes and there is enough space to dry it outside. Best hostel in Wanaka !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Wanaka
Base Backpackers Wanaka
#39 of 45 in Wanaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Kiwi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Kiwi Backpackers Hostel

Property: Flying Kiwi Backpackers Hostel
Address: 21 Russell Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying Kiwi Backpackers offers clean and comfortable budget accommodation in the form of dormitory rooms, double rooms and family rooms. We’re the perfect base for meeting fellow nomads and exploring Wanaka and its surrounds. Rooms and prices are as follows and may be subject to change, please check pricing for your stay on our bookings page or by contacting us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing