We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely sunsets”
Review of Lake Wanaka

Lake Wanaka
Book In Advance
More Info
US$150.49*
and up
Mount Cook to Wanaka Tour
Ranked #1 of 74 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
“Lovely sunsets”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I walked to the lake which is scenic with shops restaurants, the weather was very sunny and people were out there sitting on the banks, it was really nice and peaceful here and the sunsets on the lake are beautiful

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    236
    23
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
mold
Level Contributor
532 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“so photographic”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

i must have taken >300 pics of this lake

from the drive up from Haast which is brilliant

to walking round the lake edge to the outlet and the hill

and over to the west side and mount aspiring national park

every corner gives a different view

amazing

got to be one of my favorite places in the world

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
438 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Lovely setting with the surrounding mountains”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It's not as touristy as Queenstown, alot quieter; but there's not much to do if the weather turns nasty. Pity the restaurants are not right on the lake's edge as some are in Queenstown (there's the main road in betweeen). I think I prefer Queenstown, there's more to do. If you're a tourist you really don't need to see both lakes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent three days over Christmas here arriving on Christmas Eve. WHAT a place!!!!!! The town is clean, tidy and very very peaceful. We went to the quirky Paradiso cinema and watched the Hobbit with freshly baked (on site) cookies at half time (Great place). The lake is beautiful, especially during the sunset but watch your food if you are eating anything as the few gulls that are around will take it out of your hand if they can! The town centre is just there with restaurants and everything else that you need. There are nice walks and cycling around the lake edge as well.

Would we go back you bet

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank belly5uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brora, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Small town with a cool, friendly vibe - surrounded by the most amazing scenery - wish I had more time to spend here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ELEMGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing