We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wana”
Review of Lake Wanaka

Lake Wanaka
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.33*
and up
Half-Day Kayak Tour on Lake Wanaka
More Info
US$177.61*
and up
Half-Day Jet Boat and Wilderness Walk from Wanaka
More Info
US$155.32*
and up
Mount Cook to Wanaka Tour
Ranked #1 of 74 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Wana”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great for walks. Beautiful scenery. And good paths.
People very friendly and helpful. Good signage
Tourist ki site office very efficient

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tripper268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,080
    243
    24
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Beautiful, stunning scenery.....another beautiful lake in the South Island New Zealand. We did not take a boat trip due to time restrictions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JManderfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake and pleasant town”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We really enjoyed our two-day stay by this lake -- lovely views, pleasant surroundings. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DixonsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“It's like my eye just saw a slice of heaven”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

it was awesome.

when you land @ the airport in Queenstown, you will fall in love with NZ in an instant.
the airport staff were friendly and nice. they were all great.
our bicycles reached NZ with no damage via Qantas (we were not d only 1s)

have you filled a tub with water before? well, the lakes there are just like that, only that the blue was sapphire blue - my jaw just dropped.

the grass were greener than the US greenback and the skies, the rays of light just kissed your cheek in a way that you will never forget! the wind gusts just caresses your hair and you suddenly feel that you are not on earth but in heaven.

the roads were all paved properly and the drivers are 99% polite - odd balls here and there but hey, which country wont have such people? :)

there some things to do @ Lake Wanaka - there were many pubs, restaurants and also cafes (oddly, they dont do ICED LATTES) but overall, the area was GOLD. some small shops dotted around the area and a small mall. there were some private winery as well there.

it took us about 2 hours to drive into Lake Wanaka but with all the sight that gave us a locked jaw due to its immaculate never-ending beauty, the drive was never boring.

when we drove at night however, there were many roadkill..... i think i murdered a hedgehog or 2 whilst driving at 8pm.

the community there were just kind hearted and friendly as well. i never felt any sense of racial tension as a foreigner. :)

verdict - make Lake Wanaka 1 of your notes in your bucket list. it's a must! did i almost miss my flight back to SG? i was hoping that Qantas does not fly to SG anymore! :)

* i visited in MARCH 2013

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gee_P_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Wanaka”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lake Wanaka with its surrounding mountains is stunning. Where we live in The North Island is predominately green so it was an added bonus being there in Autumn with so many trees in Autumn colours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmershamP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing