We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay though a little inflexible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great stay though a little inflexible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We recently stayed at the clearbrook motel (2a & a 2yo) as part of a South Island trip.

We were impressed on arrival with the motel and the lady on reception seemed fairly friendly and relatively helpful. The room was lovely - a great size and a gorgeous view. It was well appointed and also had a washing machine which was a welcome addition after 4 or 5 days travelling with a toddler.

The motel is less than 2 minutes walk to the top of the Main Street of Wanaka - fabulous location! The town is just gorgeous, by far our favourite of the 4 places we stayed on the trip (lake tekapo being one). It has great shops, supermarket & a lovely foreshore with lots of coffee shops and eateries. We only stayed 1 night but wished we'd stayed longer.

Our son also loved feeding bread to the resident ducks from our balcony.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay. My comment about the inflexibility comes from the attitude of the gentleman on the front desk when I asked if they might have a spare airer we could borrow - his response wasn't particularly friendly and instead, rather short & dismissive. I understand he may not have had one, but it was his reaction that most perturbed me. We experienced a similar response when we asked if we might check out slightly later to work in with our toddlers feeds.

I also felt the room was a fair bit more expensive than other places we'd stayed but again this may have something to do with the destination (and not knowing enough about nz, I can't comment).

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and with a slightly more friendly attitude, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have access to a grassed area where the ducks are but there is a brook runnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    101
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
161
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here two nights and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was roomy and very well appointed with a full kitchen, two separate bedrooms (one upstairs), a spacious bathroom with spa bath and laundry facilities, a living area with 2 couches and small dining table, and a great view. The spa was great after a long day of hiking. The only complaint is that the furnishings are looking a bit worn. Despite this I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We were initially impressed with this motel - nice location, well maintained and better-than average fittings. However, then had to mark them down on 3 points:
1. There was a harsh spotlight immediately outside the front door, and an un-curtained column of glass bricks next to the door - the result was a room lit up like early-morning throughout the night.
2. Lots of decorative cushions of all shapes and size on the bed, but none of them sized to supplement the single, thin, lumpy, feather pillow for each of us on the bed. We didn't discover this until after 11 p.m. - far too late to get some action from the office. Very few places now have only 2 pillows in a double room, and most have at least one hypo-allergenic pillow available in the room.

Putting these two issues together did mean we got a very poor night's sleep.

The worst fault though was at check-out - we had reserved a room with 2 continental breakfasts well in advance, but when we came to check out we were asked to pay MORE than the agreed rate. The girl on reception said prices had gone up since we booked - it was only a few dollars extra but what hotel / motel thinks a contract is not a contract? I told her I'd pay the agreed rate only, and after my insistence that is what we paid - but the request was at best unprofessional and at worse a con.

Room Tip: Check position of the outside lights to make sure they won't keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearbrookWanaka, Manager at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Hello IMUK, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Clearbrook. In response to your comment regarding the "harsh spotlight" outside your door, this is there for security and also so that you can see your way if returning to your room at night after dark. If you'd have let us know that this bothered you, we could have had the light switched off. Secondly with regards to pillows, we do provide two spare pillows in every bedroom (which are also hypo-allergenic), these are located in the drawers below the luggage rack as stated on the in-room information. The pillows on the bed are high-quality feather pillows with quilted pillow protectors. Finally, we apologise for the simple error regarding the breakfast price. As mentioned, in the time since you made your booking our breakfast prices have gone up by $2 and the new price was accidentally applied to your booking. As soon as we realised the discrepancy we fixed it and never insisted that you pay the higher price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a breath of fresh air. With a view of the mountains, a balcony overlooking the babbling brook, ducks waddling around made our stay an absolute pleasure.
The room was large, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The kitchen provided all amenities and a bonus was the washing machine and dryer. The hosts were friendly and very helpful.
Very conveniently located to the town centre but on a quiet street.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Good weather helps I know, but Wanaka made an impression. Clearbrook is ideally situated looking towards the hills/mountains with a 'clear brook flowing in front of the units. Spacious accommodation on two floors for our 2 bed apartment. Nice bathroom with jacuzzi and laundry facilities. Also able to eat in with the good cooking arrangements. Friendly and helpful staff at check-in and out. Wifi is not free but I guess you can't have everything. Would stay again if we are lucky enough to get back to NZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadders58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Accommodation was spacious, clean. Great views. Close to restaurants and shops.
We were made to feel very welcome and very impressed with the hospitality.

Would definitly come back again and recommend to our friends

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynH233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

On the positive side, the room was large and well-equipped. We were especially pleased to have a washing machine in the room, so we were able to catch up on our washing in comfort. We had a room downstairs at the end of the building, which was close to a path leading into the hotel -so not very private and no view to speak of. The babbling brook is very nice -but beware it is also noisy -it was very hot when we were there, and if the window is open at night, the noise can keep you awake. The ducks on the lawn were very tame -but watch out -they come into your room if they get the chance!!
A bad aspect is that you have to pay for internet -this was the only motel we stayed in 6 weeks travelling in NZ where this was the case. We ended up having to pay $10 to read our e mails. Come on Clearbrook, this is not competitive!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearbrookWanaka, Manager at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thanks for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed the spaciousness and facilities in your studio apartment but sorry to hear that you didn't find it very private. That particular studio is actually a favourite for many of our regular guests who find that being able to walk out their door and cross the foot bridge over the creek provides easy accessibility & a great short cut to stroll down to the lake front. It is very much a "babbling brook" as you say, and quite a feature of our property, so much so in fact that many guests find it soothing and leave their windows open so they can hear the water at night. In terms of internet, we have taken your comments into consideration but do feel that our system and charges are reasonable and on a par with the rest of Wanaka at this time. We thank you again for taking the time to place a review, and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday! Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearbrook Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearbrook Motel Wanaka

Property: Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Address: | Corner Helwick and Upton Streets, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearbrook Motel Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearbrook offers affordable motel accommodation for all! Including families and groups visiting Lake Wanaka. Conveniently located close to Wanaka town centre, Clearbrook comprises 14 private self-catering apartments and two self-contained holiday homes, fully equipped for a Wanaka holiday.Clearbrook is set in a peaceful location by Bullock Creek and each self-contained apartment has a private balcony or courtyard with stunning mountain views. Clearbrook's spacious accommodation is ideal for corporate and wedding groups, families on ski and summer holidays and visitors on hunting and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearbrook Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing