We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

One night stay on our way through Wanaka in June 2013. We arrived shortly before reception closed, but were welcomed in and found a modern, airy, two bedroom apartment, with the second bedroom on a mezzanine above the living room. View over the stream and to the mountains was pleasant, if it wasn't raining!

It had a fully equipped kitchen, including dishwasher, as well as a washing machine and dryer in the single bathroom.

Only minor disadvantages were that the TV was limited to local channels only and that we had to pay for wifi (perhaps offer the first 50mb free?). Overall, these are minor compared to a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

The motel was in a very good location. It was within easy walking distance of the lake, shops and restaurants.We had a room on the top floor with a balcony. We could sit outside and enjoy the view. It was very clean and well equipped with all we needed. It was great to be be able to wash and dry clothes without leaving the room. We stayed in a few motels and this was well priced and by far the best.

Room Tip: We loved having a balcony but the ground floor apartments looked good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I had a room on the top floor and had a fantastic view of the mountains. I believe that there is underfloor heating as well as the lino areas felt warm to walk on. There was an added bonus of a dryer and washing machine in our room, at no extra charge just take your own washing powder (its cheaper to do that)
We would certainly be happy to stay there again and on our recent trip to the South Island it ranked as one of the best places we stayed.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkLady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We chose Clearbrook Motel, as it has one bedroom units and is close to town, as we were staying three nights and required more space than a studio unit. The three days we were there it appeared there may have been two other units being used. As the units downstairs and upstairs are the same price, one would expect the owners to put the new guests in the better units upstairs for the view, however this did not happen.
The unit is large and has a kitchen and also washing machine and drier, if one needs it. The furniture in the lounge is dated, marked on arm rests and very uncomfortable. There is no computer desk. The bed is very hard. We came across one broken piece of kitchen appliance and placed it on the bench for the cleaning staff to attend to and it ended up back in the draw. The frying pan has a dangerously loose handle. First day of our stay the room did not get cleaned well into the afternoon. Second day cleaning, extra toilet paper was not replaced. The Wi -Fi is charged out. When one can access free wifi in Wanaka, it would be great if the motel could also provide this. We have never come across a motel where there was not a DVD player and we had to rent the player from the office, however upon check out we were not charged for this.

Room Tip: The downstairs units and the upstairs units are the same price, so ask/choose an upstairs for the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Clear brook is in a great location, and is exceptionally good value. On our second stay, we shared a two bedroom, two story apartment with friends. It was spacious, the kitchen well fitted, and a much needed washing machine and dryer in the bathroom. It was very clean. The rooms back on to a bubbling stream, which is story book pretty. Do stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baffenbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

My husbarnd & I stayed here while we were travelling round. Clear brook is our all time favourite place. Absolutely Awesome. . Price was fantastic, we live in Perth & would pay at least $400 for what we got. Views were stunning, location was tops & hosts were brilliant, can't recommend Clearbrook enough. Will def be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Nice place to stay, friendly helpful staff and a short stroll into town so a pretty perfect location. Room itself was quite comfortable, the kitchen and full utensils came in very handy (and good if you're trying to save a little bit of money instead of eating out all the time). Only a few things let the place down- mainly the sleep quality. There is a very bright porch light directly outside the front door, which would be fine normally but there is a narrow glass panel (/decorative feature) that runs down beside the door which means that harsh light completely illuminates the room of a night time. Perhaps installing a small blind or curtain or a dimmer bulb or one that can be switched off by the occupant would be a good idea. I understand these lights are probably a safety requirement but perhaps some measures could be taken to ensure a better nights sleep. Bathroom was pretty average; the shower is one of those ones that has no lip/barrier on the floor which means water gets everywhere when you have a shower. The layout of the toilet and vanity was a bit odd, if you were a particularly tall or long legged person I'd say sitting on the toilet would be almost impossible- as it was I was wedged in with my knees touching the vanity and I'm of an average height. Even if the vanity was moved another half a metre this would help a bit. Lovely listening to the babbling brook of a night time. No fans or aircon in the rooms and the curtains are quite thick which means the room gets a bit stuffy of a night. Furthermore the windows and doors have no screens which means if you leave them open of a night you gets lots of mosquitos coming in. I stayed on the upper floor and the balcony was a nice addition with a nice view. Did note a strong unpleasant chemical smell when I arrived (and it lingered somewhat) obviously from some cleaning solution they use, but I've noticed others have mentioned it also, so perhaps time to switch brands? The washer and dryer in room was particularly helpful- to be able to do your own washing in room rather than trudge down to a laundry block and shove in coins and hope your clothes don't get stolen is a massive bonus! Worth noting that the property has quite a steep driveway so take caution when parking and reversing etc, particularly if you're in a rental!
Overall a pretty good place to stay with lovely staff who did their best to make my stay pleasant and feel like home. Only a few little things letting the place down (mainly the light), but nothing that can't be fixed. Would recommend and probably stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj_05529010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.1 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearbrook Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearbrook Motel Wanaka

Address: | Corner Helwick and Upton Streets, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: £102 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearbrook Motel Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearbrook offers affordable motel accommodation for all! Including families and groups visiting Lake Wanaka. Conveniently located close to Wanaka town centre, Clearbrook comprises 14 private self-catering apartments and two self-contained holiday homes, fully equipped for a Wanaka holiday.Clearbrook is set in a peaceful location by Bullock Creek and each self-contained apartment has a private balcony or courtyard with stunning mountain views. Clearbrook's spacious accommodation is ideal for corporate and wedding groups, families on ski and summer holidays and visitors on hunting and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clearbrook Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing