We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartments only a short stroll to city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely apartments only a short stroll to city centre”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful apartments & located only a few steps from the city centre. With a beautiful balcony view of the mountains and a flowing clear brook this is a perfect family stay.  Would be amazing in winter with everything geared up & ready including heated towel racks etc but was a bit warm upstairs for us staying in summer time - could not locate any air conditioning but luckily a beautiful evening breeze flowed nicely through the apartment. Good laundry facilities in unit but need to purchase liquid from front desk which for price I think should be included - same with access to wi-fi which we found was included in most of our other hotel stays which were cheaper than this one.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 105Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    103
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
164
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Excellent accommodation for the the money paid, the room had everything you needed as well as space. Only gripe which seemed odd was having to pay for wi Fi. Dishwasher, washer, dryer , bubble bath all provided but wanted more brass for the wifi. Shame we only stayed one night. Wanaka is lovely and all to a good quality.

Room Tip: Downstairs were for 2 or 3 people and patio doors opened out to a nice lawn next to the stream ans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed for two nights during Southern Lakes tour. Spacious unit had everything - washing and drying facilities, proper cooker, even a dishwasher. Location excellent for short walk to town centre for restaurants, bars and shops.
Proprietor was particularly helpful about places to visit.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have balcony with lovely mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Nice place in good location. Apartment nice but what you should expect for the price. A couple of points:

1. I know check in is after 2...that does not need to be the first thing you say to us abruptly when we turn up at 12.30. It is not our expectation to get in early but we thought we should ask.

2. The apartments are not cheap and i think it is very tight to sell wifi as an additional extra but not only that but to sell it in data limits. Really really tight and actually took the shine off this place. Come it is 2014 not 2004. Every other apartment has provided this free of charge quite rightly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Nice apartments with good sized rooms and amenities. Close to restaurants and eateries. Good spot by the Road Trip Co NZ who booked us there. Our friends had the 3 bedroom unit / house and that was huge and really nice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JCase_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My family of 3 stayed here for 1 night in our 14-day driving tour of southern half of South Island, NZ. We were totally surprised to find such a gem among our motels. True to its name, there is a very pleasant and clean stream flowing right in front of our room. The gurgling brook was stress relieving and soothing especially for any one who sleeps in the living room. The kitchen was large and well equipped. Another pleasant surprise was the availability of the washer and drier right in our toilet, all at no extra charge! The owners take pride in looking after the premises, and they do walk around and inspect several times a day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanWong2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

There were some hits and misses with Clearbrook. The hits were: the location; the facilities - having laundry facilities in the apartment is clearly a plus; the friendly receptionist, Lincoln, the cleanliness of the place; and the brook that runs alongside the motel. The misses were: the heat in the summer - all the rooms / apartments face the west so when we got back in the afternoon, it was akin to walking into an oven, especially the loft which trapped a lot of heat; the mosquitoes that came in swarms if you leave the doors / windows open to cool the place. The loft windows had no curtains to keep the bugs or the sun out so unless you do not mind the bugs and heat and are an early riser, that could be a problem. Overall though, more hits than misses.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearbrook Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearbrook Motel Wanaka

Property: Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Address: | Corner Helwick and Upton Streets, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearbrook Motel Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearbrook offers affordable motel accommodation for all! Including families and groups visiting Lake Wanaka. Conveniently located close to Wanaka town centre, Clearbrook comprises 14 private self-catering apartments and two self-contained holiday homes, fully equipped for a Wanaka holiday.Clearbrook is set in a peaceful location by Bullock Creek and each self-contained apartment has a private balcony or courtyard with stunning mountain views. Clearbrook's spacious accommodation is ideal for corporate and wedding groups, families on ski and summer holidays and visitors on hunting and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearbrook Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing