We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Such a beautiful spot so close to town and has everything you could ask for. The owners were so helpful and all the staff so friendly of all the places I have stayed in wanaka this would have to be by far the best one. Thanks once again for a great experience I look forward to bringing the family down in August.

Phil, Christchurch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teapot2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    102
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
163
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Decent location, within walking distance to town centre and lake. (There are other accomodation closer though). The place basically looks like a motel externally but quite nice inside. Fully equiped with kitchen, fridge, microwave, washing machine and dryer. Very convenient. You have to pay an extra $3 for washing powder which is fine. When we first walked inside, there was a strong unpleasant odour of something we just couldn't place. It wasn't a smell of uncleanliness or anything like that. Smelly wood perhaps. It's bearable though and after a while we just got used to it. There were glass sliding doors that lead to our "courtard" with a table and 2 chairs and an ashtray for smokers. There wouldn't be much privacy though as there were no walls to separate our area from next door's. Not a big deal. Here we had a nice view of the mountains in the distance and a little stream that flowed only a metre or 2 away from us. The bathroom in our room (room1) was wheel-chair accessible so in other words the shower floor was basically the bathroom floor (no tub or shower cubicle - just a shower curtain) which meant our whole bathroom floor was wet after every shower. Overall, stay was o.k. The place was neat and tidy, parking was free, but we were disapointed as this was the most expensive of our stays in New Zealand but least impressive.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelzSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at Clearwater motel for 3 nights in April and it was great. The location is fantastic as it is only a 3 minute walk into town and has a lovely out look, and the babbling brook is an added bonus. The rooms are clean, large and have everything you need, the washer and dryer made life so much easier with a baby to cater for. I would definately stay here again its one of the best motels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

This was a nice little motel which is worth considering if you are travelling through or staying in Wanaka. Clean rooms, newly renovated, friendly owners who were really helpful, great outlook onto a little brooke (that has its own trout) and across to some lovely mountains and close to town. Free parking on-site and internet is cheap. Wanaka is worth staying a day to explore.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryamode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We arrived at Clearview Motel after 2 weeks of overnight stays in motels whilst travelling around New Zealand and couldn't believe our luck in booking Clearbrook. It was fully euqipped with washing machine and dryer a separate bedroom and a fully fitted kitchen. The lounge area looked out onto a lawn with a babbling brook - absolutely perfect.
Every morning and evening the resident ducks came to the patio doors to be fed.
I'd thoroughly recommend this motel if you're staying in Wanaka.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedstepmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed at Clearbrook in Jan 2010 for 2 nights and booked a studio room upstairs.
they phoned us 2 days before and said our booking had been changed by a relief receptionist and we would be on the ground floor. My wife was not too happy as we had requested an upstairs room for the view.
However, when we checked in they were apologetic and offered us a room discount and gave us a nice bottle of wine free!

The studio rooms are very spacious, and have full cooking facilities, king size bed and a large bathroom.
There is a small creek running through the property and it is very peaceful.

The whole complex is very modern and being located only 1 block back from the shops (3 minute walk) it is in a great location.

We have nothing bad to say about this motel at all and would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankali, Owner at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this review, 15 October 2010
Thank you for your lovely review! Look forward to maybe seeing you in the future

Bernice & Dougal Owner
Clearbrook Wanaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Really nice room, we stayed in a studio which had a big bed and sofa, lots of space well equipped kitchen with washer and dryer. Lovely patio overlooking the brook. Great location very close to town. Would recommend the White house restaurant and you must visit the funky cinema - it's just round the corner,

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c~~k~~Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearbrook Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearbrook Motel Wanaka

Property: Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Address: | Corner Helwick and Upton Streets, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearbrook Motel Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearbrook offers affordable motel accommodation for all! Including families and groups visiting Lake Wanaka. Conveniently located close to Wanaka town centre, Clearbrook comprises 14 private self-catering apartments and two self-contained holiday homes, fully equipped for a Wanaka holiday.Clearbrook is set in a peaceful location by Bullock Creek and each self-contained apartment has a private balcony or courtyard with stunning mountain views. Clearbrook's spacious accommodation is ideal for corporate and wedding groups, families on ski and summer holidays and visitors on hunting and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearbrook Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing