We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights and it was amazing. The restaurant was very enjoyable and the food was delicious. The staff throughout the resort were very professional and friendly. Next time we pass through wanaka we will definitely spend a few more nights

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twiglet69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    334
    197
    95
    39
See reviews for
201
498
25
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Located a few miles outside of Wanaka - its not within walking distance to the town centre for a night out but it has all the facilities and car parking you need. We were blown away by the size and comfort of our 1 bedroom apartment - complete with laundry facilities (not available in all apartments so make sure to request this otherwise you pay to use the communal laundry facilities) The resort itself has many heated outdoor pools which was lovely in the evening - however we were there in a quiet time so not all the facilities were open. This resort is so large we mainly drove from our apartment to reception if we required anything. But great if you like lots of open space. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: If you are on a driving trip make sure to request room with laundry facilities - very handy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Pro:

* Great views
* Very large, clean, comfortable rooms, with self-catering option.
* Complementary spa and sauna

Con:

* Just on the outskirts of Wanaka -- a ~ 40 minute walk in to town.
* NZ$ 20 / day WiFi

Overall:

A good choice for Wanaka, but I'd like to try something a little closer to town next time

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nik_google
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Oakridge is a large resort (needing a map to find your room) with plenty of parking. We were given a flat which included kitchen facilities which were useful as the only option for eating without driving into town is the hotel's own restaurant. The pool and hot tubs were brilliant and thoroughly relaxing after a long day's drive. Service was correct if a little curt. Bedrooms were ample and clean, beds were comfortable though the sofa bed's matress was extremely soft. Breakfast was good though only one toaster was provided for all guests despite a group of 50 arranging for a group breakfast. One of our number wanted hot chocolate and was told this would be an extra $7, not great but ok. He was then brought the same sachet of chocolate powder all bedrooms have with their tea and coffee service for free!
Would have expected more from a regular Mercure let alone a Grand Mercure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveladdictMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at Oakridge Hotel because we are Accor Members and the standard of their hotels is very good. Oakridge didn't disappoint was a lovely hotel to stay in. We were in Wanaka for a leisure weekend for some boating and fishing. We would definitely stay at Oakridge again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Has the wow factor - wonderful views over Mt Aspiring and the lake
Rooms more chalet like but adequateand have doors that open to experience the brisk air of the high country
Great restaraunt and food

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAINT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wamberal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

On our weeks road trip around the south island this was one of the most expensive rooms we paid for and whilst first impressions were very good by the end of our stay we had decided that is one place we would not return too.
Firstly the hot 'springs' advertised are not of the thermal variety but the spa/hot tub variety...and only one of half a dozen was operational.
secondly, we phoned reception nurmerous times to arrange a wake up call...no answer.
In our 'Superior' room only one tiny soap provided for entire stay.
No HairDryer...on checkout we were told we had to get a hair dyer from reception and then bring it back after use!!!
But the biggest thing that put us off was that the resort is made of of several blocks and each block has several townhouses and then 3 rooms in each townhouse ( a downstairs superior room and then two hotel rooms upstairs)
Although the resort appeared to only have a few people staying we were all lumped into the same townhouse/block. So this meant that we could hear people coming and going through the communual front door day and night, who ever gets there first gets the convenient parking spot, toilets flushing upstairs disturb the downstairs. Oh and people coming in that communual front door can see into the downstairs bathroom..no curtain.
For the price we paid we expected better.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from other visitors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jparker61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing