We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Grand Mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Run by Williams hotel, where their brand was more prominent than Accor. No acknowledgement of A Club status on arrival. Room was spacious, but lacked air con and in the middle of summer was too hot. Windows could not be opened while not in the room as this compromised security. Room had a nice ball of someone else's hair on the floor. Of the 3 pools only 1 was usable on arrival. The main excercise pool remained closed for the duration. The restaurant was expensive for the area. Breakfast was below par, my pre-paid arrangement had not been passed on. The hot buffet was luke warm and the choice did not match the menu description. The jug of hot water for tea had had coffee made in it previously and thus the tea tasted of coffee.

The spa was excellent. I had a 60 minute massage, which was the best I've had in recent times, highly recommended. The other positive was the free WiFi, greatly appreciated. This hotel has huge potential to be a spectacular hotel, but is not currently run as one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickytommyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 973 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Verona
13
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This was the most disappointing stay in New Zealand! The room was not clean, a layer of dust on the tv and counters, stains on the bed spread, stains on the floor, debri on the bathroom floor. For bosting a 4.5 star hotel, it was upsetting. I would never want to stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We spent a night here recently. While neither the lap pool nor the spa pools were operating (too early in the summer season?), the two hot pools were great. Nicely tucked away out of any wind, we spent a couple of hours lounging in the sun and cooling off. Wife also had a massage which she rated very highly. Ate in the restaurant (just us and another larger group). Good food, great wine and beer list and attentive but not over-powering service. Yes, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaPNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescaVoza, General Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately your stay did coincide with unforeseen pool maintenance but I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the other spa pools during your stay. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our restaurant.

We look forward to having you again.

Kind Regards
Mark Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This was a very nice hotel overall but my wife and I had an unfortunate experience there. We took our pre-dinner drinks into the lounge where there were half a dozen or so other people. Over the next 20 minutes more people came in and obviously they were all part of a group (apparently something to do with earthquakes). They kept staring at us and making us feel uncomfortable until eventually a member of the hotel staff suggested that we should take our drinks elsewhere. Since this group had apparently not reserved this room but just thought that it was a nice place to have an impromptu meeting, we thought that it was they who should have been asked to leave not my wife and myself. This episode distressed us.

Apart from that, the room was very good, the dinner was absolutely first class even if we were the only diners (which is not unusual in hotel restaurants) and we would go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDREW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We have stayed there 1 night. Hotel is quite nice. Check-in smooth and easy. we have got a room on the 1st Floor. The size of the room was just right. Big and comfortable bed, nice and clean bathroom, working heating, fridge in the room. Parking just outside the room. Quiet location with nice view. We haven't used any facilities but there is available swimming pool for free. Town is approx 5 min drive from the hotel, therefore if you don't have a car you will have to eat at the hotel. Overall perfect place for a short stay. Price very reasonable for that location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oktawik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

the room was just fantastic but im afraid that the service really was not up expectations.we were told on our arrival that the resturant was open for dining till 9pm,we arrived for dinner at 8.40pm to be told that the restaurant was shut and that there was also no room service available.very dissapointing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fidam365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights and it was amazing. The restaurant was very enjoyable and the food was delicious. The staff throughout the resort were very professional and friendly. Next time we pass through wanaka we will definitely spend a few more nights

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twiglet69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
515 reviews
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £81 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing