We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start the new year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was our second time we stayed here and it was the perfect place to see in the new year. It was great just being out of the township as you could enjoy the peace and tranquility Wanaka has to offer. The views were amazing and we found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to the next time we stay at the Oakridge.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Oakridge Resort Wanaka is a comfortable accommodation, 2.5km from the city centre. It is quiet and has a lovely heated pool, hot spa area. Nice self contained 2 bedroom apartment we are in. However lacking in cooking utensils, washing basket and clothes horse. It is lovely having the washing machine, dryer, hot plates, oven, microwave and fridge. There is also a restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brettnjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We didn't have a good stay here. The price was expensive and the room was tiny, it wasn't possible to open the cupboard door next to the bed. The bar fridge had been removed and there was no air conditioning - I'm normally not one to complain but we this was one of the most expensive rooms we had in New Zealand and one of the worst. The hotel is located out of the town, so this makes you feel isolated. The location of the room overlooking a car park and just off a reasonably busy road was depressing.

We amused ourselves by going to the pool bar, which was full of children having - having fun to be sure but not a very peaceful place to go for a drink.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast that was included was OK but the price of the room and the breakfast was not justified.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a standard room, they are small and badly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed for one night and found the place very nice. The room was adequate in size and fittings, and the beds were quite comfortable (sorry to previous reviewer who had a bad bed). The balcony too had a nice outlook and offered a difference to other hotels when you're normally stuck inside an air conditioned room. A word also to reviewers who complain about the distance to Wanaka township... it's fairly obvious from the website and maps you can find on the internet that the Grand Mercure is out of town, so why complain about it if you book it!! Seriously, think twice before booking if proximity to town is an issue.
Now, some issues for the owners.. the stairs up to our room were very steep and not exactly a great way to get luggage up. Perhaps a porter service might help people. Fortunately I am quite strong but would hate to imagine older generations or young women trying to lug heavy suitcases up these stairs.
Our room was booked for a king bed, but wasn't the case. We mentioned to this to reception in which they said they will rectify the issue. They didn't!
Finally, the weather forecast you have in the reception area is too confusing. Even your front desk staff couldn't understand it. Just make it simple - such as, today fine and 20 degrees, tomorrow wet and 18 degrees. Simple is best.
Overall, still a very nice hotel. Just needs a few adjustments to make it a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to be a 5 minute drive from town, then this is ideal. If you want to be walking distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We arrived and found that we didn't have the rooms we'd paid for (although they were nice rooms), they transferred us to the correct rooms after we had lugged our luggage up the stairs. We had a spa in the hot spas by the pool and the waiter brought us some drinks there. The pool and spa area was nicely set up. At dinner the fish had been frozen so it was watery; the shrimps were claimed to be large but were small to average sized; and the dessert took far longer than it should have even though there were only six tables of people in the restaurant. There were also a few things in the rooms which required fixing.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainMarvell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Had a lovely time here, beautiful place. Great pools to relax in and the evening meal was excellent really nice food. Would definitely stay again. As an accor member the accomodation and the meals at 50% off made it good value for money

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

If you are expecting the standard Accor Mercure branding, don't, other than an Accor plaque on the entrance and a plaque on the reception desk you would not think of it as a Mercure brand.

Reception is a little dark and dingy, receptionist fairly friendly.

Had a "standard" room which it was basic but clean and fairly comfortable with a nice view over the gardens. TV fixed to wall by ceiling. The resturant food in the evening was very good and service was polite and friendly. But beware of asking for ketchup as they will charge you an additional 50c, which is a bit silly in this day and age of serving the customer, times must be hard if they have to raise revenue this way.

Breakfast was dismal, the continental consisted of a few bowls of cerial, toast and meager fruit and no yoghurt options.

Check out was fine. There just didn't appear to be any kind of welcoming atmosphere at this establishment.

Room Tip: If you have a standard room and have heavy luggage, there is no lifts and these are lodge type accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southdown_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescaVoza, General Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very glad to hear you had a nice time in our restaurant and have passed on your comments to our head chef. Our breakfast buffet is highly stocked each morning so I will be looking into why the yogurt was not available. We offer two different types of yogurt (plain and berry) daily.

I have also passed on your comments to our reception team and there will be a more conscious effort in welcoming each and every guest to the resort. We certainly appreciate your custom and hope to make you feel this way on your next visit to Wanaka.

Thank you once again for taking the time to send your observations to us.

Kind Regards
Mark Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
847 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#13 of 20 in Wanaka
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £83 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing