We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be a good hotel but our experience was bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This could be a good hotel but our experience was bad.”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I spent one night here as part of a three week tour of NZ. We'd booked a package so no choice of hotels. We can't comment on value of individual places therefore but we do get to compare and contrast lots of NZ hotels.

We found this to be our worst hotel in NZ. You may think I'm picky when you read the review: possibly, but it was an accumulation of small things that disappointed us. Your experience may be different.

The hotel is a modern (probably recently built) complex out of the main township and away from shops, restaurants, bars, lake etc. I didn't see any other places to eat and drink adjacent to the hotel - and it's too far to walk into town. Hence you can't drink unhless you do it at the hotel..

The units are two storey: each subdivision contains three rooms, one downstairs and two upstairs all sharing a common front door.

What went wrong for us?

When we arrived, they didn't have our booking. Every other hotel in our holiday worked perfectly so I put the mistake down to Mercure: the receptionist herself commented that we were not the first guests it had occurred to that day

We were put in a north facing room - upstairs. The stairs are steep and it was hard work getting the suitcases up and through the two sets of doors. We couldn't do it quietly and nor could our neighbours.when they left early next morning. The design of the rooms means that the noise from multiple doors and staircases is communicated widely. And the car park is gravel - so you get more noise from the cars coming and going therefore. So don't expect a peaceful night.

Our north facing room had a view over the car park: south facing rooms have a lovely view of the snowy mountains and lake. North facing rooms have a balcony and get two chairs. South facing rooms have a table on their balcony. Why so mean with the north facing? Since they apparently don't expect them to be used, why not give you a larger room instead.

When we got in, we found a small room and what seemed to be a nice bathroom. The bathroom looked OK - it had two sinks. But there was nowhere to put down your toiletries. Why not take a sink out and give you a shelf??

The bedroom itself was small and dominated by a large bed. To be fair, the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. But there was nowhere to put your cases down. So I had to move the two chairs and small round coffee table so I could put the suitcases somewhere - there was no space on the floor. Why not provide a smaller bed and a bit of space???

We decided it would be nice to have a cup of tea. But couldn't see any cups or drink making facilities. They were on a tray in the wardrobe! But you couldn't open the wardrobe doors fully because they banged against the bed - so we had to attempt to tease the drink items out through the gap that was accessible. I was starting to swear.

We put the kettle and cups and tea bags on the desk - the only possible place as the coffee table was nowhere near a plug. But suspended over the desk about 5foot 6in off the floor is the television - a traditional CRT not flat screen - as there's nowhere else to put it. But every time I went past it or tried to do anything with the cups on the desk, I banged my head. And so did my wife. We ended up hanging a towel from it to warn us. Frankly it was dangerous and I left with a headache. I started yelling and continued every time I hit my head - which was often.

Back to the tea making. Need to fill the kettle - but it won't fit under the tap in either of the sinks!!!!! We ended up filling the mugs and tipping them into the kettle. Ridiculous. Imagine the shouts of frustration.

We thought we'd watch a bit of TV and relax - there were twelve channels tuned in, but only 4 different ones. Doh!!!

Eventually bedtime came. But we couldn't draw the curtains fully as the heading tape was damaged and the curtains were falling off the track. But the light coming in was useful, as the bedside light didn't work.

We didn't use the restaurant - we didn't fancy what was on offer and it looked pricey. So we drove into Wanaka and enjoyed the lake.

The receptionist was OK but not especially friendly or helpful. No porters offered so had to carry our own bags etc.

Wifi was free and unlimited. Excellent.

Wanaka is a nice place. The Grand Mercure Oakridge wasn't nice for us. You have been warned.

Room Tip: South facing if you want a view. Another hotel if you want space?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dai_the_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    352
    205
    100
    40
See reviews for
213
524
25
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Lovely hotel, booked a studio room but when we got there were upgraded to a studio apartment which was great. Very clean, modern and comfortable. The pool and spas were awesome, a nice way to relax.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlgreeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Resort is not exactly located in the heart of wanaka, its only a short drive when heading to town about 3km. Pool was always used by us as our toddler loves the swimming pool. They also have the gym, sauna and spa to enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WyveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Beautiful hotel and location.
On check in offered a special at the spa facilities, unfortunately after further enquires there were no vacancies for our stay. Why make the offer? Disappointing.
Refused a knife to slice some cheese as we hadn't booked a kitchenette?? One was available should we like to pay for an ungrade!!
Room was small but adequate however, accessing the fridge was awkward due to clashing doors with the wardrobe.
Overall full of potential but disapponting

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viper747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

After having checked in around 14:00 (no problems with the check-in procedure) we wanted to take a swim in one of the pools, only to find that one was covered and another was in the process of being serviced. We had forgotten our pool towels in the apartment, but the girl working in the pool area told us we cold get some from the reception (located in a different building). Still not sure why the hotel kept the spare towels in the reception and not actually in the pool area where needed!) We fancied a beverage whilst sitting next to the pool, but a sign said that the bar was closed and guests would have to go to the main bar (again in a different building). In the main bar we were told that this was closed until 16:00! In other words: If we wanted a beverage before 16:00 we would have had to get into our car and drive to Wanaka! We did that... but we brought with us our suitcases. The Assistant Manager couldn't really see the problem that he was running a dry hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank azhiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

dunedin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

For the money i think the Grand Mercure Oakridge was about right. The room was small but serviceable and nicely decorated. The few complaints we had were: a) the card key/lock was quite temperamental, sometimes having to try it 6 or 7 times before it would open. b) Check-in took quite a while as we waited for the receptionist who wasn't welcoming at all. c) breakfast was also a little bit underwhelming.
Overall our stay was fine nothing great but nothing terrible.

p.s The hot pools are great! but we couldn't get the sauna going.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc3246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I had read bad things about the Grand Mercure (Oakridge) re noise transference but we were given one of the little low set bungalows which were just great. Nice sized unit with spa bath!! Restaurant was nice but selections limited. Beware of the hot spa pools. I don't think that they work and some of them look rather dirty. The other pools though (there are 3) were great. We had a nice time here (service was very good) and would go back in ski season.

Room Tip: If there is just two you you ask for one of the little bungalow rooms. They were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing