We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad, a bit out of the way” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not too bad, a bit out of the way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We really enjoyed visiting Wanaka but not sure if this is the best place to stay. The hotel is located some distance out of Wanaka, meaning it is necessary to drive in to town to get to most restaurants and to see the lake etc. There were certainly hotels near the lake in town that would be a much better location. The location does have nice alpine views, but so does just about everywhere in Wanaka.

The room itself was fairly basic, with slightly dated furnishings. The bathroom had a large spa with a shower over it, with an unusual hinged glass shower screen setup that made it difficult to stop water going all over the bathroom floor.

The restaurant at the hotel offered a fairly ordinary breakfast and the customer service in the restaurant was somewhat lacking.

Of some concern was an issue upon check-in where we were issued keys to a room only to find when we opened the door to the room that it was already occupied by another couple. It turned out the staff had mixed up the room, a bit of care in this regard would have avoided this embarrassment.

On our next visit to Wanaka we will book somewhere closer to town near the lake.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atsmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    334
    197
    95
    38
See reviews for
201
497
25
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Good service if you begged and cajoled. (Had to beg for extra towels, a coffee plunger, and fight off their attempts to charge me more for these things.) Room walls were really thin so you could hear people farting in the next apartment. Room cleaners threw away some of our stuff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbinCBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Loved our brief stay here. Location is a bit out of wanaka, but only 3km or so. We walked to Lonestar about 5 mins down the road for dinner which was no problem. Highlight for us was a soak in one of the hot pools and a swim, along with poolside bar service. A truly relaxing experience to be in the hot pool with a wine on hand! View from balcony of room was great. I am already thinking of ways to get back to wanaka to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

A few weeks on the road, some good hotels, some bad hotels but nothing really relaxing and then, whammo, luck of the draw and we end up in a place that is seriously kitted with guest luxuries.

This one was a one night stay booked at a super discount rate through Mercure so we weren’t really expecting much. Mercure is always a mixed bag. What a surprise. The facilities at this place were brilliant, stylish and totally what we needed. The main pool is gorgeous. Heated and surrounded by intimate private hot pools that really should be hot-tubs (bubbles please!), there was a gym, great looking dining options and, for the first time in weeks, I could actually do laps courtesy of the separate 25m lap pool. I really could have skipped with joy when I saw the lap pool area! My back was thrilled!

Whilst we were there in summer it was pretty apparent that winter was the time that this hotel would really shine. It has been designed to look like an alpine resort and is nestled at the base of the ski fields. I don’t really know how this one is only officially rated as a 4 star but, once again, there goes the inconsistency of the NZ Qualmark ratings. I really felt it was closer to 5 than 4.
I concede that our room was a cheapie and it was pretty clear that we were at the back of the building. It was also pretty clear that there was a refurbishment program in place and that our room hadn’t been done. The enormous old style roof mounted TV really needed to go in the bin or be condemned on the basis of being a potential safety hazard (there must be a point where roof mounted brackets concede defeat against 50kg of old technology!) and the room was, well, quite small. Despite this the bed was comfy and I was just so thrilled to be back in a decent hotel where I could sit in a hot tub, do laps and then sweat out life in the sauna that I could happily overlook the few shortcomings.

It is a little way out of Wanaka but this isn’t really a problem. The car trip is about a minute. Despite the reference to Lake Wanaka in the name it isn’t anywhere near the lake. The place was also a nightmare to find. The GPS kept sending us by the front gate because they don’t appear to have any decent signage. Specifically they don’t have a sign with Mercure written on it which is generally what you expect when you stay at a Mercure. The sign says Oakridge and, after checking in, we actually started to wonder who actually ran the place. It must be the most un-branded Mercure in the world!

If you are going to Wanaka then this one should be at the top of the list. It is a hotel that you actually want to hang out in and, with the rather mediocre Puzzling World (good maze though!) as the main non-ski related activity in the area, you will probably be more than happy to stay at the hotel and unwind.
 
 
 
 

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty spread out. If you want to be near the pool then you'll need to request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

The whole place is great. Great for New Zealand anyway. But don't tell everyone because it is expensive enough and I'd like to come back at the same price. So keep it for yourself and write a mediocre review. Not! Forget about kidding, I do mean the restaurant is classy. I may be lucky because twice I was served and advised by Kris, a German waiter who doesn't let you wait and whose discretion is only matched by his communication skills. I have not met the chef, but if it ever occurs to me to open a restaurant , these two are on my short list. I'd write some more but I'm off to the outdoor heated pools.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank aplescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Brand & Quality Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
So glad to see Kris' service is appreciated! We are his biggest fans so we really value your agreement that he provides first class service. Our chef will also be delighted to hear your comments about the restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed the hot pools and hope you are able to come back again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed Saturday night for a wee getaway from the hubbys and kids!! We were very impressed with our 2 bedroom apartment, very luxurious, clean and spacious, faultless really, and staff were fantastic!! We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on it (although perused the menu in our room and it is quite pricey). We got back to the apartment after dinner out and decided a nice soak in the hot pools was in order. They are amazing and have such a great ambience. Our only complaint is that we had been told that there is a pool bar and a waiter would serve drinks to us in the hot pools. However, when we went down to the pools at 8.30pm the pool bar was completely closed, not a person in sight!! Come on people, it is Saturday night!!! It was such a shame as we were so looking forward to a few drinkies as well as a good soak. I would love to know why it was closed so early?? Overall though, a fantastic resort and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Brand & Quality Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm sorry the pool bar wasn't open when you were there but it sounds like you had a great time with your friends. I'm really glad you found our staff helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I really enjoyed my two night stay here with my family. We selected it for a nearby wedding not really looking into the details for the place, but it was a pleasant surprise - clean, modern, well furnished. Relaxing comfortable with good views out to the mountains.

The spa / pool area was fantastic. I jumped in the pool but unfortunately it was too cold, luckily the smaller one in the spa area was heated and I could recover quickly!

The only minor issue for some might be its on the edge of town, so if you would rather be within walking distance of the shops and lake your would have a fair trek. Only a short ride by car however.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landersonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Brand & Quality Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased that you had a pleasant surprise when staying at Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort! We know that there is nothing more relaxing than a good soak in the hotpools. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing