We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NZ getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NZ getaway”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Our stay at the Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka for 2 weeks was a just great and we had a wonderful time. It is such a relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff and great amenities. Staff there was able to advise us of the best places to visit during our stay at the Resort. We had a 2 bedroom spacious apartment with separate bathrooms with heated towel racks, laundry facilities in house; kitchen adequate for our stay as we cooked meals a couple of times. We also dined just a short walk to the restaurant where the meals were delicious, presented well and service was timely. We also visited the Lone Star Restaurant and Francesca’s for meals which were in walking distance.
The scenery was excellent with views on the surrounding mountains, lovely gardens, great pool and spa area.
One disappointment was the TV – small screen, some problems with the video as built in and did not work in some of the rooms. Some channels did not work some of the time. A technician did come to check the connections but hubby missed the car race (had to go out to watch it).
I would recommend Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka as a destination to visit. It is not far from the ski fields.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonfly-tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. Regarding the problems with your television, we apologize for the inconvenience and we have implemented new maintenance procedures to prevent future occurrences. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    348
    202
    99
    39
See reviews for
209
520
25
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed there during early October, kinda shoulder-season so the place was fairly quiet. The rooms were chalet style and very well appointed. Quite a distance to the central cafe/bar/ breakfast area.
Excellent views of Mt Aspiring from my nice veranda. No meals Monday or Tuesdays which happened to be my two days, but the excellent reception staff sent me to Lone Star, two minutes walk down the road where we had a great meal.
Cafe serves good pizzas when the restaurant is not open.
Breakfast simple and comes with scrambled eggs and bacon.
Great staff, excellent hot pools, quality fittings in my room.
Recommended. would be a top place to take a family of kids for a week or so.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome you to stay with us again. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Visited here at a quiet time in Spring so was able to be given an apartment with a spectacular view of the Alps.we had a 2 bedroom apartment. 2 fully fitted bathrooms with excellent facilities. Awfully fitted kitchen and our own laundry facilities.Excellent standard of cleanliness with our rooms being serviced each day. The pools were not very hot on this occasion. The restaurant ambience wasn't too good so we ate out or prepared our own
A little out of town but very quiet because of this My son has visited in the skiing season when busier and found the standards to be the same

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and thank you for your time taken to leave your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your to stay with us and your comments will go along way to improve future guest experience. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruakaka
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel grounds are large and spacious with a great pool area that we unfortunately didn't take advantage of. The fridge in the room is very small and I wasn't able to take one of the trays out to fit a bottle of wine in so went without. To fill up the kettle was a mission as was finding somewhere to plug it in easily. The bed although comfortable was made of twin beds pushed together so there was a lump in the middle of the bed. I assumed such a large hotel would have Sky but no such luck. A good place to stay with a family or for just one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again. We thank you for your time taken to leave your comments and your feedback will go a long way to improve future guest experience. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTLAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in Oakridge Resort for 2 weeks and it was excellent accommodation with all yoou expect, pools, sauna, gym, bar and restaurant. The staff cannot do enough for you and everyone is only too willing to assist you. Free papers every day. Great views of the snow covered peaks. Cinema 5 minutes walk. We originally wanted to stay in Queenstown and could not get into the Time Share there and selected Wanaka and we are so glad we did. We went to Queenstown for the day and only spent 1 hour there and would not go back there, too commercialised and busy. Wanaka is laid back, no stess. Everyone you could ever want is in Wanaka and the scenery is better, the walking and mountain bike tracks are excellent and varied. We will be back to Wanaka next year and plan to stay 3 weeks. It is a great base to see glaciers, Mt. Cook, Milford Sound, Dunedin and of course all the snow resorts. The resorts of Cardrona and Triple Cone are accessed from Wanaka with plenty of great snow. Don't go to Queenstown, staqy at Oakridge Resort and have a great time in Wanaka.

Room Tip: Rooms 170 and 174 for Interval Time Share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JENNIFER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your time taken to leave your comments and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here recently as part of a wedding group. The accomodation was clean and well appointed. The heating was very good. A little surprised to find the bed jammed in to a corner and not with easy access either side. Bed was very comfortable, with plenty of pillow choice.
Staff most obliging and considerate. TV was of an older style, but adequate.

Room Tip: We were in Room 10, only complaint was main entrance services 3 seperate units and parking at the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing