We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent 1 night here and it was very comfortable. It was a little difficult to find as it was a drive out of town. The restaurant and bar were very good. The rooms are spread throughout the property and as it was raining, we had to use the car to go to dinner. The staff was very helpful in guiding us to various places to visit in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We thank you for your time taken to leave your comments and are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    354
    206
    100
    43
See reviews for
213
528
25
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights while in wanaka, we booked a studio room and got a great deal. All the rooms look to have balconies or patios that look out on lovely lawns/garden and the mountains in the distance. The pool and hot tubs are excellent. It is a few Km's from town centre.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We thank you for your time taken to leave your comments and appreciate your feedback. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel was a drive out of the town so you would need a car to drive to the beautiful lake. We enjoyed staying here. There was a bar with happy hour between 5 and 6pm and a restaurant. There were outdoor heated swimming pools set into the rocks and the bar overlooked this. The rooms were spread throughout the grounds with parking attached. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We thank you for your time taken to leave your comments and we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Our stay at the Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka for 2 weeks was a just great and we had a wonderful time. It is such a relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff and great amenities. Staff there was able to advise us of the best places to visit during our stay at the Resort. We had a 2 bedroom spacious apartment with separate bathrooms with heated towel racks, laundry facilities in house; kitchen adequate for our stay as we cooked meals a couple of times. We also dined just a short walk to the restaurant where the meals were delicious, presented well and service was timely. We also visited the Lone Star Restaurant and Francesca’s for meals which were in walking distance.
The scenery was excellent with views on the surrounding mountains, lovely gardens, great pool and spa area.
One disappointment was the TV – small screen, some problems with the video as built in and did not work in some of the rooms. Some channels did not work some of the time. A technician did come to check the connections but hubby missed the car race (had to go out to watch it).
I would recommend Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka as a destination to visit. It is not far from the ski fields.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonfly-tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. Regarding the problems with your television, we apologize for the inconvenience and we have implemented new maintenance procedures to prevent future occurrences. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed there during early October, kinda shoulder-season so the place was fairly quiet. The rooms were chalet style and very well appointed. Quite a distance to the central cafe/bar/ breakfast area.
Excellent views of Mt Aspiring from my nice veranda. No meals Monday or Tuesdays which happened to be my two days, but the excellent reception staff sent me to Lone Star, two minutes walk down the road where we had a great meal.
Cafe serves good pizzas when the restaurant is not open.
Breakfast simple and comes with scrambled eggs and bacon.
Great staff, excellent hot pools, quality fittings in my room.
Recommended. would be a top place to take a family of kids for a week or so.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome you to stay with us again. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Visited here at a quiet time in Spring so was able to be given an apartment with a spectacular view of the Alps.we had a 2 bedroom apartment. 2 fully fitted bathrooms with excellent facilities. Awfully fitted kitchen and our own laundry facilities.Excellent standard of cleanliness with our rooms being serviced each day. The pools were not very hot on this occasion. The restaurant ambience wasn't too good so we ate out or prepared our own
A little out of town but very quiet because of this My son has visited in the skiing season when busier and found the standards to be the same

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and thank you for your time taken to leave your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your to stay with us and your comments will go along way to improve future guest experience. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing