We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT apartment style rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed 13 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank maishirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We rented two studio queen rooms for 4 adults for one night. The rooms were very clean and parking was very convenient. Our only view was of the parking lot and units across the way. I would assume that a higher grade of room would offer more of a view. The staff seemed friendly and helpful.

I was a little disappointed because the photos on the website made this resort appear to be a bit more luxurious than it turned out to be. There was a large swimming pool area with a number of hot tub.

From the other reviews, it appears that many of the rooms do have nice balconys and views so if you looking for that you might have to specifically request it or choose a higher priced room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flomap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Thank you for your comments about our housekeeping we pride ourselves on our high standards of room cleanliness. We apologize we did not meet your expectations and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again in maybe one our 2-bedroom apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Arrived in Wanaka on Friday night by accident and as a Accor member we checked and there was rooms available. Had great staff who made up the room but I when I enquired as silver member re internet I was told no go, had noisy neighbours and thought the bar staff was kidding when he not know a basic drink and then when I was taking outside where I came from he tipped the drink into a plastic cup and threw the rest of the drink away.Based on that we did dine there.

Just finished 2.5 half weeks travelling around the South island and stayed in Accor hotels all the way ,all great except this one and we were looking at staying longer here but could not get out quickly enough after a bad night of noisy people, Great location, but it needs some work.

Room Tip: Check it is busy as the walls are thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Six003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your comments will go a long way to improve future guest experience. No glass is prohibited in the pool area for health and safety reasons, we sincerely apologize if this was not explained to you at the time. Once again thank you for your review and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Beautiful Resort, Great Staff that were very friendly and helpful. Could not fault anything. Top place A++++++++++ (: We were Recommended by some friends that had a fantastic stay. Will Definitely be back Cheers

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayden D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lee-ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My partner and I arrived in Wanaka and were informed there was a room booked for us at this hotel. Not knowing what to expect we were very pleasantly surprised to see our 1-bedroom room. With a full kitchen, lounge, dining area, outside area and large ensuite with laundry facilities, this room blew us away. The room, which was on ground level, didn't have a view of the lake, but we could see the mountains. It was quiet and peaceful, and the staff were lovely! The only thing I would've changed is the duration of our stay - with only one night there, we didn't have time to enjoy all the facilities on offer, such as the swimming pools, gym, bar and restaurant. We absolutely loved our stay there though, and will gladly come back to enjoy the lovely Wanaka hospitality again!

Room Tip: If having a view is important to you, go for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K2Xtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your time taken to leave your feedback. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We are staying here for 2 nights on 16 & 17 December. Whilst the accommodation is ok & the views from our room no 53 were to the mountains we have the following complaints:
* whilst we were there - early summer season - they were re tarmacing the drive. Because the started early & went on through the evening we could no use the pool area or sit out on the balcony because of the horrendous noise!!! It is like sitting in the middle of a construction site!!!!
I asked to see the Manager but he was 'out of town'. How UNPROFESSIONAL to have this work carried out in the summer season!!
* on arrival we could not enter through the normal entrance because of the above -- there were no signs to help us find our way to the car park or reception - UNPROFESSIONAL!! -- when we told them they put out some signs!
* we had to walk the whole way around the site to get to reception or chance walkimg across hot Tarmac!!
* other irritants included a free 30 mins of WIFI per stay not day - pathetic!!
* a 1.5% charge on Credit Cards!
Of all the places we have stayed on our New Zealand tour this is by far the worst!!!

Room Tip: Room 53 has a decent mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveSuzDiPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
832 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
70 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £93 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing