We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed at Oakridge Resort for two nights on our way to Fox Glacier. We were extremely happy with our guest room, comfortable and modern. The hotel was in a convenient location only a five minute drive to the town centre. We loved the overall atmosphere around the resort, extremely quiet and relaxing. The several small hot tubs around the pool area were great, as it allowed us a hot tub to ourselves. We dined in the restaurant on our last night, the food was amazing and wait staff extremely friendly, however maybe slightly understaffed as the restaurant was fully booked and there were only three of them. Overall a wonderful stay, one of our favourite hotels on our New Zealand holiday!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in particular our comfortable and modern rooms, location, staff and facilities. We hope to welcome you back to the Oakridge Resort on your next visit to Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    334
    196
    95
    38
See reviews for
201
497
25
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We have been members of Accor hotels for 17 years & the Vacation Club for 11years. We were driving back from Picton to Queenstown & decided to stop off at the Mercure Oakridge. It was not clear to find as it was badged Williams rather than Mercure. The room rate was off the Internet the night previous & was good value. We did not use the hot tubs or pools as we drove to Mt Cook & then decided to stay an extra night. The food in the restaurant was enjoyable especially at the Advantage Plus Card rate. The staff were friendly but seemed understaffed at times. We never tend to write adverse comments as we are loyal Accor members but we did find it strange to have an ironing board & no iron (even in the laundry which was undergoing renovation). Also no hair dryer. Managed well without them but normally they are provided Also a dangerous piece of wood ripped off below the place where cases are stowed and two nasty nails stuck out - quite dangerous & we reported it. Check in was slow in fact we were not acknowleged whilst the receptionist took three lengthy phone calls. We are entitled to free WIFI at proper Accor resorts but were told at Wanaka that we had 30 minutes regardless of how many nights we stayed. Very unusual! We are currently in a Sydney Pullman Hotel and it is excellent. We do not believe in making adverse comments. The above review states the facts as we found them. It was explained to us that there are Vacation Club apartments but reception only really only act as a sort of 'booking agency ' for Accor like Wotif or Expedia. There seems to be some sort of identity crisis here! Anyway, enjoyed stay for a couple of nights & price reasonable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank redCairns_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our good value and our restaurant. We apologize that there was no hairdryer or iron in your room during your stay and have spoken to our housekeeping team regarding this issue. Please feel free to contact our reception for any missing facilities during your stay. Grand Mecure Oakridge Resort Wanaka is one of only three accor franchised properties in New Zealand and is setup differently to other Accor properties. Once again thank you for your feedback and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again on your next visit to Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Excellent facilities, far enough out of the town's centre yet still close enough. Fantastic staff who are very well presented and genuine, great room, love the pools,sauna and big gym too. Will be back -often.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cleave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us along with our great facilities and staff. Our staff will be delighted to hear your comments. We look forward to your next visit and appreciate your recommendation to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night but wish it was more. We had a one bedroom apartment on top story with great mountain views. Well appointed and ver modern. Pools were wonderful, and inky wished I could have used the spa pools. I would love to return. Thank you

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our rooms along with their beautiful views. We would love to welcome you to stay with us again and make sure to take advantage of our fantastic facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked here because we needed to add another night in Wanaka and this hotel offered a special last-minute price. The resort is a little ways out of town, but it's a nice place. We had a king bedroom with a large balcony facing the mountains. The food in the restaurant was good. There is also a café just across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEBBI1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the view from your room. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were here last year and our agent rebooked us here again. This property gets a lot of turn over for group tours so some might find it busy at times
Our room has full kitchen facilities which makes a nice break from restaurants and there are enough utensils available for a reasonable home cooked meal.
We did have several maintenance issues with the room which were quickly rectified by their maintenance staff
It is a 25 minute walk to downtown Wanaka which is great for us as we like the quiet of this location

Room Tip: A north facing room ground level is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your time taken to leave your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our location and rooms. We are pleased we were able to quickly rectify any maintenance concerns in you room and apologize for any inconvenience caused. Once again thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a lovely family holiday at Oakridge resort. Very friendly and obliging staff. The apartment was perfect with everything you need when travelling with children, great cooking facilities, well equipped etc - and handy to supermarket/shops etc. And of course, the children loved the pools (with several to choose from), and a lovely relaxing environment with sun loungers, tables and chairs, and poolside bar. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemeo124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit with us along with our facilities, rooms and friendly staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Wanaka and we appreciate your recommendation for other travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.6 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing