We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great warm rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    346
    202
    99
    39
See reviews for
209
517
25
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Just on the edge of Wanaka, Oak ridge is nicely placed on the way home from a day on the slopes up Cardrona. The rooms are well equipped, and comfortable although I personally found the beds quite firm. There's a spa, though, which should help loosen things up. Lone star restaurant is very nearby and a small, boutique cinema - perfect for those inclement weather days or apres ski dinner. The views are absolutely spectacular. I actually wish I could buy one of these units.. They're great!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ren H,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in particular well equipped, comfortable rooms, convenient location to nearby attractions and beautiful views. In regards to one of our units we actually have one available for purchase and please feel free to contact us directly for more information. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel in July as part of a package. I was travelling solo but am a bit old for the backpacker scene and the hotel was ideal for what I was after. It was in a great peaceful location overlooking the surrounding snow covered mountains with fantastic gym, spa, restaurant and day spa facilities. The rooms were clean, roomy and functional, although the walls were paper thin and listening to the neighbours conversations while trying to fall asleep was sometimes frustrating. Best of all however, Oakridge is the first stop for the ski bus in the afternoon and last stop for pick up in the morning.

The restaurant was lovely although could have included a few more options for breakfast.

The main downside is that it is a 25 minute walk from town, although it is a lovely walk or alternatively taxis are quite readily available and only cost $12 into town.

Definitely recommend Oakridge for good functional accommodation near Cardrona - oh and if you do stay here, make sure you check out the most awesome little café Florences (just across the road) for breakfast one day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katewitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sooty016,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed you stay with us at Oakridge Resort and thank you for your kind words relating to our peaceful location, fantastic facilities and clean and spacious rooms. We apprecaite all feedback and take on board your comments relating to breakfast options and are currently looking at more options to provide for our breakfast buffet. Once again thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your recommendation to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for a week from 25th July, a group of 3 adults and 3 kids in a 2 bed unit and 2 friends in a twin room. The reviews were very mixed so i was a little nervous, we booked through Interval International (transferred Marriott Vacation Club points) and this was the only available property in South Island. So we were pleasantly surprised, the hot pools were a hit with the kids and the big girls. We did our research and knew that Cardrona was the best for kids skiing, so we were very happy at how close this is to the resort, turn right and keep going till you get to Cardrona park entrance. Just over 30 mins. The 2 room unit was great, clean, fairly well equipped, washer dryer was handy for wet ski clothes, we were 6 so used the sofa bed, only a pain because the room is not serviced for a 7 day stay so the bed was up all the time. The unit was roomy and had a lovely fire and big balcony. The hotel restaurant is a bit basic in terms of choice and open hours, but Lonestar next door (very short walk or ask for the free shuttle) is excellent and very kid and adult friendly. The town is very pretty on the lake with parks and walks. We did Puzzling World which was a real hit. We also did a Wine Tour (private van, 8 seater, 4 vine yard half day tour - even that was very family friendly if you mention you have kids: Wanakawinetours.com a bit expensive but worth it). The skiing was amazing and varied, a day of sun, a day of cloud and a day of absolute blizzard - but all good. Overall we liked the resort, the area and the activities - well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the hot pools (hotel rooms) or units opposite (we had 170) are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear cheryl l,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in particular our fantastic hot pools, conveninet location to ski fields and spacious rooms. We take on board your comments relating to our on-site restaurant and will look at ways to further improve on our dining experience. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Wanaka so you can experience more of the wonderful attractions and activities Wanaka has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had picked this resort for it's proximity to Cardrona ski field and it's quiet position away from the noise of Wanuka central. We booked for one week and were very disappointed to find no drawers to unpack our clothes and a very small wardrobe space with inadequate hangers (take your own if you go). A desk was located in the master bedroom with no power point or light over it and who needs a desk on holidays anyway? A chest of drawers here would have made more sense. We were annoyed by having to live out of our suitcases- more like a backpacker's hostel than a Mercure resort. The bed was very hard and the so called "King size bed" was two singles of uneven height pushed together. We were amused by the Hobbit sized refrigerator in the kitchen ( we had an apartment) but assumed it was their way of acknowledging the Trilogy. The lack of a coffee plunger or dripolator machine was also surprising, given they are standard now in all other places we have stayed internationally. Just a few things but we probably wouldn't stay here again given the sleep was not restful after a long day's skiing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Shrubmolarmarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take on board your comments regarding our room furniture and kitchen facilities and will look at ways to improve on these matters to provide the best possible service for all our guests. Whilst we do understand that we can not please everyone in terms of choice of furniture we will into different types to provide better storage for clothing. Also in regards to the bedding we do provide the different bedding options for the convenience of our guests. Coffee plungers are available on request. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to invite you back to Oakridge Resort Wanaka so we can remedy your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just stayed here as part of our snowboarding trip. There was a group of 5 so we had two rooms put together. Room 153 & 154.
We had full kitchen facilities and a washer/drier which was so convenient as we needed to wash our ski gear.
Everything was new and nice and there was a spa bath in the room.
Outside the hot pools were amazing after a day of skiing plus it's a short drive into town.
It's very close to alone Star restaurant and Ruby cinema.
We will def be coming back here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time taken to leave your kind words about your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding our room facilities, convenient location to near attractions and hot facility. Once again thank you for your review and we wish you a warm welcome for your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was a great place for the family. We had a 2bed unit and it was spacious and had washing machine and dryer which was great for a week skiing. You can park your car at your front door so very little distance to cart all your gear. Kids loved the hot pools. Cooking facilities were ok but even better you could order from the Resturant and eat in the comfort of the unit.

Highly recommended

If you are a couple looking for nightlife you may prefer something in town.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others but all easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pay010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in particular our spacious rooms with convenient facilities and our room service dining. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to invite you back to the Oakridge Resort on your next visit to Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing