We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Venue is located 3 kms for town centre. The facility has a large number of mixed sized accommodation and features heated swiming pool and spas. Resting in the pool after an extensive days drive with a mountain backdrop and a cool drink from the Bar is ideal. Rooms are spacious and relatively new. Satff are freindly and take an interest in your pursuits and take pride in making sure the venue meets your needs. Pity the venue is so far away from the town but it is a small price to pay. Graet place to recover in time for the next days activities

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkyposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    354
    206
    100
    43
See reviews for
213
528
25
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Friendly staff. Nice hotel with a good spa. Rooms are a bit small (but who goes to Wanaka to stay inside?).

Only negative comment is the sound insulation, especially between bathrooms. The Japanese couple in the room next to ours sounded like they were in the same room as us.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_and_Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Oakridge resort is well suited to any kind of traveler. Upon my friends and I arrival, the staff were very wonderful and welcoming. They checked us in an adequate amount of time with great ease. Our accomidations fit four of us comfortably. We had two bedrooms with a full kitchen, washer and dryer. The rooms were very well kept and clean.

Oakridge is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the panaromic views of the surrounding mountains. My friends and I really enjoyed sitting and relaxing in the seperate spa pools after our day in the sun. On the otherhand, the lap pool was great to have in case of feeling the urge to swim a few laps. I had the joy of recieving a wide array of relaxation and healing therapies to suit my every need in the day spa that was inside the resort.

The restaurant had spectacular food that could cater to anyones dining needs. With the relaxing atmosphere, all we needed to do was soak in the beautiful surrounding views. The servers were great and were able to help us when needed.

The only issue (if I would call it an issue) was that the resort itself sits about 5 minutes away from town driving. You could walk, but time would need to be allowed. Overall, we had a wonderful time and cannot wait for our next trip back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyprkr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

My friends and I stayed here over the New Years break,

Our rooms were stunning with a lovely view.
The pools are great.
We definatly had a blast here.

Also the staff were very friendly and welcoming to anything you needed. So great service.

It is a while from Town but its worth it.

The only thing I didnt like was our rooms ceiling was FILTHY it was like someone had chucked food at it.

But other then that we all had a fantastic stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I stayed at Oakridge during the ski season of 09 with a large group. I thought that the rooms and faciliies were great. Rooms were really modern and nice as well as the grounds. The beds were REALLY comfortable, however the king 'zip' bed is annoying, but it is stated that this is the bedding format.
Bathrooms were great, LOVED the heated floors throught out the apartment. Also LOVED having 2 bathrooms for 2 bedrooms. Great not having to share.
We were a fair way out of town so a taxi or car is a must if you want to go out for the night. A 5 minute drive only though.
The only couple of things that were annoying were that room service would come daily, and unless you specifically pointed things out or left a note stuff would get missed. e.g. many of us had to specifically ask for our floors to be mopped...things like that.
Also a fair few people in the group got gastro and we were told by the chemist in town that it was common to get gastro from the hot tubs as they were not only open to people staying at the hotel, but anyone could pay a fee and use the pools and spas.
That was a real shame as the pools and hot tubs were lovely after a day skiing but i gave them a miss for the last 2 days after that.
I don't know if this is a 1 off, or if this is something that is common. A quick call to the local chemist will tell you!
Overall a great place to stay, with only a couple of small things that we weren't happy with. Defintely reccomend for a large group.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wish_it_was_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Great Everything. Service was top notch, pools were awesome, rooms were updated, clean and room service was GREAT. Food in restaurant was great and bar staff was exceptional.

Wanaka is great. We spent 3/11 nights in town. If I was going to do the south Island over again, I'd spend half here and half in Queenstown. I'd skip the Glaciers, Christchurch, Lake Tekepo and where I am currently, kaikoura. There was so much to do in Wanaka and the views were amazing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infaithdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

We stayed at a standard king room for a night.Staff upon checkin were friendly&helpful.We arrived very late and the shops had already closed, the staff were kind enough to organise and lend me some bowls and plates so I could eat some instant noodles.

The resort was well presented externally although a slight bit away from town and can be a little difficult to find without a map in the middle of the night.

We stayed at room 23 and the room itself was contained in a building similar to a apartment, there was a room downstairs and two rooms upstairs. However, all three rooms shared common areas including the stairway and there was only one parking available outside each building. Additional parking is still available for the other guests, but 20maway.

The room was clean and to the standard expected of the hotel, the room contained basic facilities you would expect of a hotel room. There is also a shared pool, gym and very nice spa within the resort that can be enjoyed.

I pre-paid $90 AUD for the night and felt that compared to some of the other accommodation available at Wanaka, it was a good price and decent value for money. Just be aware that if you do request for a 2nd level room, be prepared to walk up a tight set of stairs with all your luggage!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIersHasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing