We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Stayed for one night (19 Dec) as part of an organised tour of NZ with the family. Not sure what the cost of the room was. I stayed in a twin room on the second floor, overlooking the grass area with mountain views. Absolutely beautiful! The rooms were new and modern, clean sheets. The bathroom had a shower (no bathtub - fine by me!) and two sinks and cupboard mirrors. It also has pool, spas, sauna, gym and self-laundry. I had dinner and breakfast here and the food was fresh and delicious.

Service was fantastic and the staff were very helpful. Internet was a bit expensive though, $5 for 30 minutes.

Location might not be that close to the main Wanaka area, but the hotel has everything you need. If you're not travelling with a car, this place is probably not the most convenient for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescaVoza, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Hello

Thank you for the review.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and I agree that the mountain views are absolutely beautiful! I am pleased that you also experienced the dining in the Poolhouse restaurant.
30 mins on the internet is the least amount of time we offer, we do find that most of our guests choose longer packages which work out around $20 for 24 hours.
We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Fran Voza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    348
    202
    99
    39
See reviews for
209
520
25
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I chose this hotel for its facilities and the fact it was away from Central Wanaka during the busy Christams period.
We were very pleased with our stay, on arrival it was discovered our selected bedding option was not available so we were upgraded without fuss by Fran the friendly and efficient receptionist. The room was clean and well appointed with everything we required for our stay. The beds were VERY comfortable and it was quiet which had been one of our special requests. We were offered options and advise for dining in or out and really enjoyed the great hot pools. Good value for money and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescaVoza, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Hello

Thank you so much for the review and the kind words!
I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed our room and facilities. I must agree we do have a lot of comments about our comfy beds !
We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Fran Voza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stayed here for 1 night travelling from the West Coast - We had room 201 located at the very back, right beside a main driveway into the hundreds of units in the resort of the resort $125 a night off wot.if. It was an upstairs unit that overlooked a grass area. It was a warm day and evening and we needed all the doors and windows open to try and get a breeze - but there were sandflies and we were nowhere near the lake, let alone a beach. This made it difficult to cool the room with no fans or aircon. The room was lovely with 2 sinks in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, and no free wi-fi. We probably would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescaVoza, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Hello and thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you had concerns during your stay. I must say that you are the first person who has mentioned seeing a sand fly in Wanaka, I know from experience that there are a lot on the west coast but we generally dont have them in Wanaka.
Also we dont have a room 201 in the resort, so I was unable to find a record of your stay.
We are having some beautiful warm days here in Wanaka and we understand that it can get warm in the rooms, we do offer fans on request.
We generally ask people with any concerns during their stay to bring it to the attention of the front desk and we will do our best to resolve the situation.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the resort in the future and thanks again for the review.

Fran Voza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakespeare, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

It is a great place to hang out and relax. The Grand Mercure is far enough out that you will need a car (but we had one). Had a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen, which was nice as we were able to make light breakfasts and snacks (even managed to cook some lab burgers one night). Things are modern but starting to show a little wear and tear from vacation traffic.

Hotel has great facilities, although there seem to be children's swimming lessons everyday which really detracts from the pool area.

Would likely go back although I think some place in town might be on the agenda next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkahless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Easy to find just on the outskirts of Wanaka. Reception efficient and the best was to come when entering our "superior room" - wow!!! Facilities were outstanding both in the room, restaurant and amenities.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southlandrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescaVoza, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Hello
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the room and made use of the facilities available in the resort. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Mecure Oakridge in the near future.
Kind Regards
Fran Voza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

The Resort is situated some km back from the lake and a long walk to Restaurants and shops.
Staff welcoming and helpful. Regretably the food was disappointing for Dinner and Breakfast. Rooms not properly serviced over a 3 day stay.
Comment card completed and handed to management but no response - not to accor standards

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewrgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancescaVoza, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka, responded to this review, 18 December 2010
Hello
Thank you for your review,
I'm really disappointed that your stay wasn't what you anticipated - I have sent a separate message to you for some other information so I can personally follow-up and get back to you. Our goal is to provide a relaxed and enjoyable environment, so if it doesn't happen we need to know what we can do to fix it.
Kind Regards
Fran Voza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka

Property: Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Address: 20 Studholme Rds, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Oakridge Resort is 100 kilometres from Queenstown and 2 kilometres from Lake Wanaka, the fourth largest lake in New Zealand. The resort features 173 hotel rooms and fully equipped apartments, a superb restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining, heated swimming pool with poolside bar and a day spa. During the warmer months, local activities include bushwalking, mountain climbing and fishing, while in winter the snowfields of Treble Cone and Cardrona are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Mercure Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing