We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and comfortable apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wanaka Edge Apartments
Ranked #32 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Check in was friendly and prompt. The apartment was new and looked great, had an unusual configuration eg had two doors that opened into each other from laundry cupboard and bathroom. Bedrooms small but comfortable. No view at all which is a shame in Wanaka but it was close to everything. Good quality fittings and appliances. Noise at night from another unit was almost amplified into ours and meant that we couldn't sleep for a couple of hours until nearly 1 am, it was a warm night and there is no airconditioning so the window needed to be open. I am sure that there is better in Wanaka re view and overall atmosphere but would stay again in a different room.

Room Tip: Do not choose a ground floor room given the noise from higher units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed five nights and Wanaka Edge and found the apartments to be very comfortable, well run and in an excellent location.

We had our 10 month old with us and the staff went out of their way to help us with a high chair and nicely-made up/comfortable portacot. The apartments were very quiet both during the day when our baby was napping and at night.

The apartments are very well situated - there are no views (as they say on the website) but it was a nicely spacious apartment with great facilities and a neat little courtyard.

A few reviews here mentioned it being in an industrial zone which put us off a bit when we booked; thankfully this was unfounded. Yes, there's a Mitre 10 and a few other places up the street but Wanaka Edge is just off the main road into town and in a predominantly residential area. Alternatively there is a beautiful park that you can walk through onto Lismore St with lovely mountain views.

All staff that we encountered during our time were extremely helpful and professional. If you are very unfit and expecting sweeping mountain views from your apartment this then you might want a different option but for well located comfort and excellent service Wanaka Edge is a great option.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njmanning76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

A more than adequate apartment for two people. Plenty of room and a well equipped kitchen. The best news was that it also came with a washing machine and drier - along with the necessary soap powder - all included in the price (so no trying to hunt around for $1 coins!).

Yes, the apartments are away from the centre of town, but it is easily walkable. It is in a light industrial area - but there is no traffic. Like others, we did have some noise from the gym, but clearly they had turned down the volume.

There is also a private outside area (for apartment 2 and the others on the ground floor). It doesn't get the sun, so is cool (wear a sweater!) but its nice to have some external space.

During the evening their was a tap on the patio door and a little furry face peered up at us. It was a lovely, friendly, long haired cat. Very well behaved - wanted some fussing and then left! Apologies for the hair one the carpet - it wasn't ours!

Perhaps it was just my husband and I, but we didn't sleep particularly well. The bed dipped in the middle and we kept on bumping into each other.

Room Tip: The ground floor apartments (1 - 4 ) have outside patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLLushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Very friendly, accommodating and the apartment was spacious, clean and even with two separate bedrooms and a balcony! Could have done with a better frying pan for our hotcakes bur otherwise-fabulous. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

this was the 2nd time we have stayed here, staying one night in a two bedroom unit. Prior to arriving, Aggi had emailed me to ask the bed requirements as she had noticed i had three people in the group, which was very thoughtful. our late arrival also wasn't an issue. the apartments themselves are clean, modern and comfortable.
Wanaka itself is a good enough small town, with enough eateries that we did not make use of the cooking facilties.
there was only one downside of our stay this time. we stayed on a friday night, after about 8hrs of driving that day and was looking forward to a slightly more leisurely morning. the gym club next door to wanaka edge didnt feel we deserved this and at 7am on saturday morning we were awoken by loud pumping music and some guy shouting his head off. this is not a reflection on wanaka edge, and we didnt encounter this on our previous stay two years ago, just bad luck on the schedule!! (seriously, do people really pay to be shouted at at 7am on a saturday?).
overall a good stay and this makes a great base for exploring wanaka and the surrounding area

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We booked this apartment on-line. It gives the impression that it is close to the water as only 1 street back but there is a forest in between. However the apartments are lovely and fairly spacious - we had the wheelchair access suite. Very clean and all mod cons which was great. Also a nice outdoor area which was nice and sunny.Underground parking is handy although spaces are tight. They are reasonable close to the town although it is a little difficult to get there as there is a no right turn at the end of the street - that is the way you need to go.

Room Tip: We had the wheelchair access suite (didn't ask for it )so there was a huge shower area which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leif L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Paid $160 per night for two nights via expedia.co.nz. Had room number 2.

Shower = brilliant 5/5, great pressure and lots of hot water.

Bed = queen, a bit on the soft side. 3.5/5 (5 being a massive king).

Location = 2/5, it's not on the waterfront, but only 10 minutes walk from the town centre which didn't worry us. The problem was more the gym next door which starts playing loud gym bass-driven music at 6am.

Room quality - 4.5/5 quite modern rooms, well appointed. Lots of kitchen equipment, glassware etc. Nice furnishings. Didn't actually do any cooking so can't comment on ease of use.

Overall comfort = 2/5, the underfloor heating was set to 28 degrees by the previous guest, housekeeping hadn't checked so when we arrived the place was like a sauna. Had to sit with all windows and doors wide open for a couple of hours to cool place down, and even then it was still baking. Even after turning it down to 16 the room stayed excessively hot for the rest of our stay.

Possibly the gym wouldn't have been such an issue if we hadnt had to have all the windows open due to the heating problem.

Room Tip: Our room was room two on the first floor, which had a nice courtyard out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passive649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
1.7 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Edge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Edge Apartments

Address: 13 Plantation Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka Edge Suites)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £142 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Edge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened October 2006, Wanaka Edge Suites offer 26 stylishly appointed and contemporary 1 & 2 bedroom suites, fully equipped and serviced daily. With on-site spa and sauna, reception, parking, broadband internet in all rooms and located just 1km from the town centre, Wanaka Edge Suites offers a relaxed residential atmosphere with the latest and state of the art amenities. Our complimentary activity planning service ensures that you maximize your enjoyment of Wanaka’s stunning alpine and lake setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wanaka Edge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing