We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Ranked #8 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. It was well set up with plenty of space. We particularly liked the open fireplace and the bed was very comfortable too. The only problem was the outdoor spa was quite a trek from our apartment so we didn't use it.
Would thoroughly recommend this apartment complex. Quiet and in a good location too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Shellby_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We very much appreciate your nice review:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked 10 nights at Wanaka Luxury Apartments in a one bedroom.

We were hugely disappointed with the room when we arrived, there was no kitchen at all, insufficient heating - only a small oil heater in the bedroom - and its really dark, no natural light. For skiers like us, there is no drying room at all. There is only a communal laundry ...and so on...

The next morning I went to the front desk and politely told the very nice girl on duty that unfortunately we will be leaving, and stated the reasons. She rang the owner who said they would charge us the whole period of our stay, over $2000.

I asked to speak to the owner, and calmly said that we simply weren't happy, very fairly, not in accusing way, and asked if because of the reasons above, they would simply cancel the booking. We had paid a deposit of $500, which I never asked for, meaning $300 - a night and a half - for them.

First I spoke to the wife, who attempted to explain that have to keep our money with a lie saying they were full and had turned away bookings, the place was minimally booked. However she was reasonable and was conceding our points, and tried to offer us a two bedder, when the husband, Alex, got on the phone and said, amongst other things that "we've got your credit card details anyway mate so this phone call is a waste of your time". When I said that I wasn't going to accept this charge, and that I would now be spending the first day of my holiday speaking to any authorities I could find to help me in this situation, he said "like what?" to which I said I don't know, I've never been in this situation before, but am sure there will be some way I can prevent this, to which he said in a threatening manner "your best bet mate is to walk out of their happy".

I am astounded at the positive reviews of this place. It is cheap, and the word luxury is a bad joke. In fairness, the 2 bedders seem better decked out than the one bedders, and it was good value. But it is way out of town, you can't walk, please take a closer look on google maps.

And PLEASE do check the cancellation policy before placing any money on this accommodation, they are draconian. Alex and his wife kept saying that was their policy - if you cancel under 30 days you pay in full - and I explained that we weren't cancelling, we were unhappy and felt we had been misled by the 2 bedder advertising, lack of heat, distance and so on.

In the end we escaped with just out deposit, as they did not have our credit card - we arrived after hours, so they never got the number, and the booking is through a 3rd party website.

If anyone would like more details of our experience, please private message me, I will happy to share more details.

As soon as we got to our new accommodation, an hour later ended up having one of the best holidays we've ever had - Wanaka is absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank DJShambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

This review is to be taken with a grain of salt.
This was very difficult guest to deal with. We did our best to explain we could just resell the room, then they wouldn't have pay for the nights they didn't stay. The guest wanted to leave with his deposit changed.
This review only reflex the temperament of this guest and makes us more grateful for the lovely guests that have stayed with us and staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights this time in a 1 bedroom apartment.
WLA is great value for money given the levels of appointment to the apartments.
They definitely create a great home-base in Wanaka from which to explore and enjoy the region.

The heating and gas fire and great. Underfloor tile heaters bring an extra touch. Spas inside the bathroom and outside in the communal area are great.

Staff are helpful, very accommodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stunew78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Fantastic review thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had such a lovely stay here - overlooking the mountains and a very short drive from the centre of Wanaka. The townhouse is beautifully appointed and very comfortable - lush furnishings, great coffee maker and wonderful fire place. Highly recommended. (Only down side is wifi is pretty hopeless).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharlene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your review. First to hear about the Wifi but will look into it. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

An excellent set of apartments that are extremely close to town, the lake and the roads to the ski fields. The apartments (I had a 1 bedroom) are warm, comfortable and luxurious. The spa bath was a godsend after a day on the slopes - and there was also the spa pool!!
An awesome as stay! Many thanks.
Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ_MOUNTAIN_BIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Cool guys we loved having you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The price is well-worth the luxuries we got. We booked a two-room apartment and it came with heated tiles, gourmet Miele coffee maker, dish washer, washing machine, dryers, fireplace and many more. We used the bicycles available at the apartment and cycled around the beautiful lake. The place is located away from the main street and thus it is very quiet. If only the wifi access is not limited to per stay. Otherwise, it is heavenly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3yj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Cheers thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We only stayed for one night unfortunately, but this place was great. Warm, clean and modern. Like a home away from home.
Close to township. Has all you need inside as well, heaters, fireplace, kitchen, lovely bathroom, nice comfy bed with electric blankets etc...
Would definatly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April-c-is-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Fantastic thank you:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
0.8 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Luxury Apartments

Address: 8 Stonebrook Drive, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £97 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wanaka Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Self-contained and fully serviced apartments provide a choice of 1, 2 or 3-bedroom luxury living in warm, alpine luxury. One glimpse in our photo gallery and it's easy to imagine toasting your toes in front of cosy flames in a stone fireplace, surrounded by beautiful exposed Baltic timbers. You'll find all the expected features such as hot tub, under-floor heating, plus unexpected touches that border on the indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wanaka Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Luxury Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing