We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family accomodation in Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Ranked #8 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family accomodation in Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very well sized and appointed accommodation in Wanaka. Reasonably priced with good facilities (spa bath, satellite etc). Quiet and ideal for families, we enjoyed our stay. Cons - just a bit too far from Wanaka bars/ restaurants to walk, though I get the sense RBT is not a priority in this town

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneymarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for the review.
Walking to town is 10-15 minutes, its not for everyone but its a highlight for most.
RBT is big in this town so make sure you have a number for the Yello taxi service.
Or enjoy a nice stroll back to the apartments under the stars:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    84
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
127
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our family stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which exceeded expectations in terms of room comfort and fitout. It really felt like 'home away from home', making our vacation extremely enjoyable.
+'s - all amenities a ski holiday required.
-'s - a dated copy of Sky TV guide and not enough access for the price of the unit.
Suggestions: maybe a shopping service for those who do arrive late at night; some explanation
of the prima facie miserly wireless access bandwidth ( it really is OK but the presentation of how it is used lets them down); and some sort of orientation concerning how to use the combo of the electric wall heaters, the gas fireplace and the underfloor heating to obtain comfort levels without experimentation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Notes taken thank you for your review.
We do explain how everything works on check-in.
If you are checking in after hours we can only explain how everything works if the guest asks us or reads the guest information book in the room.
For most cases operating the gas fire and underfloor heating is easy as.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having booked online & just trusting the web reviews, I was looking forward to seeing our apartment. Arriving late at night, we were not idssapointed. heaters on & everything ready for our stay.

the place was well set up with quality kitchen appliances, loved the Miele coffee machine, gas fireplace with a very helpful guide to start it, otherwise we may have been left wondering. Rooms well set up & comfortable. Spa / pool complex well set up as well with BBQ & fireplace, really enjoyed a hot spa after a day in the snow....

Well worth the cost & recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatwhiteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. Fantastic review see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were drawn in by the extremely positive TripAdvisor reviews and decided to eschew our usual favourite places to stay in the area (either The Moorings or Riverview Terrace in Albert Town) to try something new and highly rated. I'm sorry to report we were rather disappointed. The apartments are nice, but not spectacular and undeserving of the luxury moniker. The best parts about the apartments are the underfloor heating, the spa tub, and the fire place. The parts of our stay that were not so great, which have resulted in average rating given our high expectations, include the lack of a proper kitchen (no dishwasher or proper hob - just a portable one that wasn't super functional), housekeeping service and the abysmal internet connection.

The housekeeping service on offer is on the light side, and this is clearly described in the guest manual. Light (daily) housekeeping fine, but what is not so cool is the fact that for several days we did not have any because we apparently did not vacate our room at the right time (even though we used the appropriate 'do not disturb'/'please make up our room' door tags). The light touch housekeeping service meant that when there was sand in our tub after use (as we had been walking on the beach in Australia right before we flew to NZ), the tub wasn't wiped down (or cleaned at all after we checked in). Also, Wanaka Luxury Apartments recycles, which is great, but there are no dedicated bins for disposing of recyclable rubbish in room, which meant we had a pile of bottles and boxes stacking up over the days of non-existent housekeeping. It felt a bit like living in a (nice) student flat at times, which was a little odd for the cost and the luxury title.

Finally, the dreadful internet connectivity was deplorable. This could be a Wanaka thing (though I don't recall painfully slow internet from previous visits), but we struggled to get online or do anything useful on the internet. Each day it took over an hour to log into HSBC online banking - super, super frustrating. I hear more relaxation-minded folks saying "but you're on vacation! why do you need the internet?!", and the answers are simple and plentiful - to check the forecast! To see which ski fields are open! To check out restaurant reviews/book a table! It is simply not acceptable for web connectivity to be so poor at a place boasting luxury accommodation WITH internet access.

So, we can recommend this place to folks who don't use the kitchen or bath too regularly, and don't need internet - otherwise, you're best looking elsewhere in lovely Wanaka.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank synaptoneurosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Despite this negative review our apartments are appreciated by a huge amount of guests throughout the year.
Wanaka Luxury Aparments are Qualmark five star rated for many years now.
We have been awarded Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013 & 2014.
Our servicing and cleaning is better than its ever been.
Our daily servicing involves changing towels, making beds, wiping down benches & basins, doing dishes, taking out the rubbish and doing the recycling.
We vacuum and mop when needed and do a full clean on the fourth day of your stay.
If the guest would requests something else done for housekeeping we will do this for them.
This guest didn't give us any opportunity to help or solve their issues regarding housekeeping or Wifi which makes us question how valid this really is. We have the latest Ubiquiti Wifi network which is free for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in a one bed apartment. Nicely furnished and plenty of room for 2 people. Its about a 10 minute stroll to town.
The only negatives are that there is no washing machine, dryer or coffee machine. I think these should always be available in an apartment. We mentioned on checkout that we'd have given 5 stars if these were included but the young man told us that you get what you pay for. He went on to state that if we wanted to pay double and upgrade to a 2 bed apartment then we would get those facilities.

Room Tip: If you are a couple and want a washing machine, dryer and coffee machine then you have to go for a 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissie-based
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
Our one bedroom apartments are very nice to stay in.
We state in detail what is in the one bedrooms on our website and other on-line sites.
The one bedrooms are perfect for a couple. They includes basic cooking facilities with a small kitchenette. There is laundry facilities on site which we provide a laundry service for $10 to wash and dry our guest clothes.
If you require all the facilities like an oven, coffee machine, Laundry in your apartment please book a Two or Three bedroom apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

4 of us stayed here for a few days at the end of our snowboarding holiday and loved it I've stayed in wanaka a few times now and this is by far the best. Only a 10 mins walk to the pub and about 30 mins drive to cardrona and treble cone. The owners were very helpful aswell.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Fantastic, super happy that you enjoyed your stay at Wanaka Luxury Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were a group of friends travelling together and had a 3 bedroom apartment. It is actually a one bedroom and 2 bedroom with a common front door which may not appeal to some people.
We had a great stay, the heated floors were great after a long day of boarding. The gas fire kept us cosy and we loved the built in coffee machine. The spa was always hot, and we would have like to have used the wood fire pizza but ran out of time. It was fairly well equipped, perhaps a few more glasses and large bowls for salads. It was quiet and very clean.
The only thing that I would agree with another reviewer is that when checking out the guy/perhaps the owner was quite rude , thank goodness we only had to deal with him when we were leaving.
It is a bit out of town, walkable but on a cold night you probably wouldn't want to.
Still highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you have a group of people get the 3 bedroom place. I am not sure I would like sharing right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean_Erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volalex2001, Guest Relations Manager at Wanaka Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Luxury Apartments

Property: Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Address: 8 Stonebrook Drive, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wanaka Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Self-contained and fully serviced apartments provide a choice of 1, 2 or 3-bedroom luxury living in warm, alpine luxury. One glimpse in our photo gallery and it's easy to imagine toasting your toes in front of cosy flames in a stone fireplace, surrounded by beautiful exposed Baltic timbers. You'll find all the expected features such as hot tub, under-floor heating, plus unexpected touches that border on the indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Luxury Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing