We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Bris, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So helpful”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We didn't plan to stay in Wanaka but thank God we did. Turned up on spec and the owner could not have been more helpful. Very comfortable tidy room and great location to walk to everything you need to walk to. Recommendations were perfect and had the best meal in New Zealand that we might not otherwise have found.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigellang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    76
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
37
117
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here overnight and found the room to be well equipt,clean and comfortable.The gentleman at reception was very helpful,giving us information about things to do whilst in Wanaka.We were close to all the amenities, Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago, and returned because of its central location (close to shops, restaurants and the lake) and its VFM. We found the place under new management, who'd done a good job in making the rooms lighter and brighter. The motel rooms are large, with a well equipped kitchen. The staff did their best to make us feel at home. Small niggle - this was the only place we had to pay to use wifi during 2 weeks in NZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We phoned ahead to secure a room and spoke to a woman who offered a studio for $130, and we negotiated $120. This was obviously not recorded on the reservation. On arrival we were asked for $140 by a man in reception We politely corrected him. His response was bad-tempered muttering while our credit card was processed, then a key was banged down on the counter. No milk, no map, no welcome, no directions to the room. The only good thing about this place was the central location. It was old, grubby, and I couldn't see any claimed panoramic mountain views.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabusbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay here at Aspiring Lodge Motel, unfortunately a slight lack of communication caused a bit of a surprise for the manager, we apologize if his attitude came across as unpleasant at all. As for the rooms, we have recently done some new, brighter improvements to all of our studios and units and hope that if you are in Wanaka again you will give us another chance!
Regards,
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We looked around Wanaka fore the right place that suited us for a two night stay at a reasonable price and this is where we stayed. There was enough room for the two of us and the room was very clean and comfortable. We loved the location too because it is a short walk to the restaurants , the lake for a swim and a very short stroll to the wonderful movie theatre in Wanaka , also the supermarket is right next door.
I thought that 140$ Aus a night was pretty reasonable seeing that it was the Christmas holiday season, the manager was very nice and let me use the motels bar b q to cook on, all in all it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I think it would have been nicer to have an up stairs room, comfy and clean if a bit dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max274967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We have had such a fabulous time staying at Aspire Lodge. Firstly the rooms are excellent value for money; comfortable, spacious, clean, furnished, LCD TV with pay-tv, a full kitchenette complete with cooktop and fridge, and a clean bathroom with a bath tub. We also had a balcony. Secondly, the motel is in an excellent location; 1 street back from the lake and far enough away from all the taverns on the main street to get a peaceful night's sleep. The motel is right next to the supermarket too which is very convenient. Thirdly the hosts were so delightful, friendly and extremely helpful and generous. You can tell they love their town and welcoming visitors. Wanaka is a truly special place and our stay at the Aspire Lodge added to the experience. I might sound gushy but I feel obliged to be because I read the negative review by Mike T on 5/12/12 and think it unfairly portrays the motel. It's common courtesy to check out on time, especially when you're staying at a small family run business with a limited number of rooms. If you want to stay later, the courtesy is to ask ahead for a late checkout, not just hang about for as long as you please. I'm absolutely certain it would have been accommodated if requested in advance. As for the creaking rooms - the building has an 'alpine' aesthetic so there is a lot of wood and very occasional creaking. Mike T's complaint about the noise is a complete exaggeration. Furthermore, the wifi data provided is extremely generous - 50mb which is heaps. At the end of the day, its a motel, not a luxury resort. For the price it represents exceptional value and I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you so much for your extremely kind review!!
We are extremely glad to hear that we helped make your stay enjoyable and hope that if you are ever in Wanaka again you will contact us so we can thank you again!
Kindest Regards,

Ela and Ziggy
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We originally booked for 3 nights but stayed for a 4th. Our itinerary took us away but we we enjoyed our stay so much we found time for another 2 nights a couple of weeks later. The hotel owner/manager could not have been more helpful, and we took up his offer to drive us 12 km out to Glendhu Bay for a gorgeous walk back to town along the lake. There were a couple of minor maintenance issues which, when brought to the management's attention, were addressed but our room was spotlessly clean and maintained throughout. Wi-fi is available for purchase, with restricted usage. Although the motel is handily placed next to a large supermarket and on a busy corner we did not hear any intrusive noise. The lake shore and shops are just 2 short blocks away and the views across the lake towards the snow-capped mountains are breathtaking. Plenty of good cafes and restaurants, though we particularly liked Kai Wkakapai on the corner of Ardmore St & Helwick St which showed its class by using a knitted woollen 'cosy' on the teapot!

Room Tip: No 1 on the corner is larger than most motel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twasthatgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you so very much for your lovely review!
We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Aspiring Lodge Motel and even happier that you enjoyed it enough to return!
If you are ever in Wanaka again we hope that you choose to stay with us again!

Kindest regards!
Ela and Ziggy
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspiring Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Lodge Motel

Property: Aspiring Lodge Motel
Address: 16 Dungarvon Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspiring Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspiring Lodge Motel is nestled in the heart of the Southern Lakes tourist resort of Wanaka and the gateway to the Mount Aspiring National Park. Being one of the only motels situated right in the center of town, you can easily access many of the exciting activites that Wanaka has to offer by foot. Wanaka is a playground with an abundance of activities for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aspiring Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspiring Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing