We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly little lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Friendly little lodge”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Comfortable little lodge, well situated near everything. Rooms were good sized and well equipped. Very friendly Polish owner who was full of information. Handy to all restaurants and lake walk. Easy parking .TV and WiFi had good reception.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are a bit quieter although all pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    74
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
37
113
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent our second night in Wanaka at this motel because our first motel couldn't take us for another night. We were very happy with our large and comfortable room which had everything we could ask for. Certainly the motel was built a while ago but, for the price, we were extremely happy. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillymarlene49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed in beautiful Wanaka for 4 nights. Restaurants, shops, lake front and activities so close ,a few metres away. The room was spacious and clean with cooking facilities. Our room had great views over the lake from the balcony.The beds and pillows were comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep. Good value for money. Ella and Ziggy the hosts were so helpful with tour activities and local knowledge as Wanaka has so much to offer. Would highly recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janjanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the Aspiring Motel in Wanaka last night. The owners were incredibly helpful with restaurant and travel advice and the room was clean and comfortable and within steps of everything in downtown Wanaka. Good value in a great place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJPolisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed three nights at the Aspiring Motel. The room was great and functional for our needs. On site parking plus being very handy to the supermarket. Because of the excellent location there was no need to use the car and no worries about driving after being out for dinner.
The bed was very comfortable and although the motel was built quite a few years ago it is still holding its own with lovely wood panelling in the room.
Our room had a view of the lake, top floor closest to reception we were offered a room on the ground floor that had a king size bed but opted for the room with the view.
The owners were very knowledgeable about the region which helped make our holiday very enjoyable. I believe they have only recently taken over the motel but you can already see the obvious difference in the décor etc.
Would definitely stay again when we visit Wanaka.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This place is wonderful!!! Can't rave enough about the amazing location as well as the service. The family run business makes it a more than accommodating place to stay, and I would definitely recommend Aspiring Lodge to anyone. I was there for three nights and the rooms were always perfectly clean, and a great size. There is so many amazing things to do in Wanaka, and the location of this lodge makes all activities so accessible. Wonderful people, wonderful place 5/5 :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellyluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Was stranded in Wanaka (not a bad place to be stranded) when the Haast Pass was closed due to rock falls. I was thankful to be able to get a room at a reasonable rate without a booking. The room was ground floor with no view, but adequate for one night.

Location was very good, within walking distance to the lake and central resturants, and was next to the New World supermarket (which sells great Central Otago wines).

The rating only just scrapes and average, primarily because of the check in process. As stated, I was thankful to get a room without a booking, so think I was a little more tolerant if the issues than I would normally be. Upon entering the lady at the counter was skyping her relative (as she told me). The office/counter was strewn with papers. After waiting a few minutes for her to end her call, she got up, from her chair, wiping crumbs off her. Not a big deal, and would not normally comment on, just didn't think it was very professional. When I explained I was heading to the West Coast to see the glaciers and scenery, the conversation steered towards why I should forget the West Coast and stay in Wanaka. This included telling me "the West Coast is a waste of time, the beaches are horrible and full of sandflies, and you can fly up to see glaciers in Wanaka".

It turns out the lady had only been in NZ for a year, and had been on a number of tourism tour familiarisations, so am guessing the intention was to sell the tourism benefits of the Wanaka region. Unfortunately it came across as misinformation, and I didn't think it was very informative Luckily I know NZ, and know the West Coat, like Wanaka is an AMAZING place to visit. And the Aspiring Motel, apart from misinformation which was well intended, is a good central location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karabatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eezp, Owner at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Karabtraveller,

We are sorry to hear that you were displeased by the way we run some of our processes at Aspiring Motel, however due to the fact that we are a small family run business we occasionally do slip up or fall behind a little. We apologize for that and will keep it in our best interest to remain on top of things.

Regarding the advice given, we simply believe that Wanaka is one of the most beautiful places in New Zealand (which is why we moved here in the first place) and we want all of our guests to experience as much of it as possible, apologies if this was miscommunicated to you.

We would be glad to have you stay another again and allow you to see that we have taken your advice on board!
Regards,
Aspiring Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
418 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
746 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspiring Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Lodge Motel

Property: Aspiring Lodge Motel
Address: 16 Dungarvon Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspiring Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspiring Lodge Motel is nestled in the heart of the Southern Lakes tourist resort of Wanaka and the gateway to the Mount Aspiring National Park. Being one of the only motels situated right in the center of town, you can easily access many of the exciting activites that Wanaka has to offer by foot. Wanaka is a playground with an abundance of activities for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspiring Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspiring Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing