We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We booked the family suite which actually looks as if it was once two rooms.there is an inter connecting door and the bathroom in one has been replaced with a fully functional kitchenette, with 2 ring induction hob, fridge , microwave etc. in one room there is queen bed and sofa, table and chairs , TV, in the other, queen bed, two singles.its bait weird going through the other bedroom at night to use the loo but it is a family suite is it didn't matter! It is spotlessly clean, tea, coffee provided. We booked one night and stayed two. Very convenient, right off the lake front, and next door to the supermarket so handy for shopping. One other point is the rooms are wooden. we had temperatures in the mid 20'sC in the day and at night it was cool so the building creaked a lot with the wood cooling down! Not enough to keep us awake though. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Oldsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    76
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
37
117
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Firstly, great location, can see the lake from the motel, right on the edge of town, just perfect! The owners were absolutely lovely, gave us great insight into what to do in the area. Would come back just for them, extremely accommodating and lovely! Parking was a bit squishy but that's because they were fully booked, but that completely fine. Rooms were clean, big and great value for money. We left very satisfied customers and would recommend to all! You are guaranteed a nice big room, lovely welcoming and service, plus strong wifi and superb location. Cannot go wrong with this motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My sister, husband and I drove all over the South Island in December; we had a change in plans and reserved two rooms here at the last minute. What a great decision! This very reasonably priced motel had well furnished rooms, big bathrooms, and wide terraces. The very nice manmager recommended Relishes Cafe on the lake-front street two blocks away that was one of the best meals we had in NZ. Also, the walk along the waterfront in the evening was delightful!
Clean, comfortable, good wifi - we could have happliy stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Comfortable little lodge, well situated near everything. Rooms were good sized and well equipped. Very friendly Polish owner who was full of information. Handy to all restaurants and lake walk. Easy parking .TV and WiFi had good reception.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are a bit quieter although all pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent our second night in Wanaka at this motel because our first motel couldn't take us for another night. We were very happy with our large and comfortable room which had everything we could ask for. Certainly the motel was built a while ago but, for the price, we were extremely happy. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillymarlene49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed in beautiful Wanaka for 4 nights. Restaurants, shops, lake front and activities so close ,a few metres away. The room was spacious and clean with cooking facilities. Our room had great views over the lake from the balcony.The beds and pillows were comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep. Good value for money. Ella and Ziggy the hosts were so helpful with tour activities and local knowledge as Wanaka has so much to offer. Would highly recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janjanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the Aspiring Motel in Wanaka last night. The owners were incredibly helpful with restaurant and travel advice and the room was clean and comfortable and within steps of everything in downtown Wanaka. Good value in a great place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJPolisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspiring Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Lodge Motel

Property: Aspiring Lodge Motel
Address: 16 Dungarvon Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspiring Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspiring Lodge Motel is nestled in the heart of the Southern Lakes tourist resort of Wanaka and the gateway to the Mount Aspiring National Park. Being one of the only motels situated right in the center of town, you can easily access many of the exciting activites that Wanaka has to offer by foot. Wanaka is a playground with an abundance of activities for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aspiring Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspiring Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing