We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy, friendly, but a little noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Stayed here for xmas with family, had 2 rooms with adjoining door, was well equipped, comfortable, clean, strong hot shower, kitchen pretty well equipped (and we were able to borrow one or 2 things when cooking) tho a proper stove is always more handy than just hotplates and microwave, but we adapted ok (and were aware of the kitchen facilities when booking). A table and chairs would have been good as well.
Very friendly and helpful owners (loved the scenic flight we did over Mt Aspiring which they helped organise for my Dad and I, this was a highlight of our stay in Wanaka.
Great to be next door to the supermarket, across the road from other shops and a block from the waterfront.
One problem with a wooden structure, it creaks quite a lot (and quite loudly sometimes), especially with the change in temperatures at beginning and end of day...also noticed how much the place seemed to shake when someone slammed the door and can can hear other guests a bit too easily at times (an early morning 'loud discussion' by one lot of guests proved this point)...but this is not really a fault of the accommodation.
Good value
A few more TV channels would be good as well...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2007

Possibly the worst place we have stayed in NZ. We booked this motel as it was advertised as being self-contained with panaromic mountain views. All we saw was a hedge and a busy road. The kitchen set-up was dangerous and ill equipped. The two element cooker was fixed on a high enclosed shelf, making cooking impractical. The decor and kitchen was very dated. The fridge was an old model and kept us awake during the night, not to mention the walls and floors creaking all night too. The showers were limited to one a day as the hot water ran out. It was not possible to have a bath. There was no sign of the drying room. Car parking was tight. Our hosts were unfriendly, not to mention unreasonable, and they didn't seem to enjoy their chosen lifestyle, and came across a little bitter. We paid $135pn and was not impressed. The only positive was that the room was serviced daily. There is a lot of choice of accommodation in Wanaka and surrounding areas, so be sure to check these out before booking. We would not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellingtonkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsman56, Manager at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2007

I can understand some of the comments written ( and we have taken action on some) but the personnal attack on us is due to the fact the couple managed to scorch a benchtop and then failed to advise us. It was noticed by the cleaning staff on the first morning but we were still not notified until my wife approached the guests and asked them 2 days later. They advised us it had just happened. We charged them for repairing the damage ( not replacing the bench top) which was a far cheaper option. They did not beleive it was their problem.
This was the third case of damage to the property in a fortnjght over the winter season.
There s a drying room in one of the buildings we have at the rear of the property.
As for the walls and floors creaking, the upstairs is timber but the unit they were in downstairs is concrete floors and walls??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

The motel is right in town. The room was spacious and clean with a balcony. Hosts were very nice. The kitchen however lacked utensils. The street was noisy and so was the structure of the motel itself-- the long pine board walls and ceiling kept cracking all day and night.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank Webplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

My wife, brother-in-law and I spent one night here on a tour of the South Island. After staying in some lovely places, this was a real disappointment, and we were glad we only stayed one night. We were expecting a suite, but all we had was two adjoining rooms, one with the bathroom closed. The place was cramped and basic in the extreme, with an ancient microwave and tiny fridge. We didn't use the bath, having noticed that the sink overflowed into it! The Motel was on a busy road, which kept us awake at night. We paid NZ$185/night, which was the same price as much better places elsewhere. Avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsman56, Manager at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2007

When email booking our 2 room unit I give a general discription of the unit set up ( and definitely do not descirbe it as a suite)and we do advise that we are in the town centre. Over January/February the town population increases from approx 4000 to over 15000 so yes it becomes very busy. Yes the microwave is an older one but is still in good working order, it just is a bit more difficult to programme and operate.( It has now been replaced with a new sharp).
The unit has a small fridge in the kitchen area but there is also another small fridge in the other room.
Other cooking facilities are available on request (electric frypans/small grill ovens/portable barbecues)
The other bathroom is a disbled bathroom and we usually open on request.
I am sorry you were disappointed but for us to improve our service we need the feedback when you leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2006

The motel was a little hard to find because we didn't have a map of Wanaka. The room we had was very comfortable, good sized and clean. We were very pleased with our little garden in the backyard and the TV (with Sky). The shower was very strong and steady but the hot water was not enough for 3 people. The bathroom is right next to the main walk path outside our room, and other motel residents could have seen us through the bathroom window - we didn't feel very comfortable about that.

However, the customer service the motel provided was f-a-n-t-a-s-t-i-c. The motel manager/owner (Ian??) was a great man, he and his daughter gave us HEAPS of information on what to do, where to eat..etc. We were looked after very well, and they even saw us off after we checked out.

Thank you for looking after us, Aspiring Lodge Motel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janda0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsman56, Manager at Aspiring Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2007

Thanks for the great feedback.
Each unit has it own water cylinder ( 135 litres) and as you say the shower is very strong (17 litres per min) so as you can work out it does not take long to empty the hot water but it has a good recovery and is usually hot again within approx 4 hours. We are unable to reduce the flow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DD198407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank spootnik72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspiring Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Lodge Motel

Address: 16 Dungarvon Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: £73 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspiring Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspiring Lodge Motel is nestled in the heart of the Southern Lakes tourist resort of Wanaka and the gateway to the Mount Aspiring National Park. Being one of the only motels situated right in the center of town, you can easily access many of the exciting activites that Wanaka has to offer by foot. Wanaka is a playground with an abundance of activities for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aspiring Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspiring Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing