We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and out dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Old and out dated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

If it is a budget motel you are looking for, then look no further. The Alpine Motel is a 70s/80s construction with decor to suit. Even the walls are concrete block. The bathrooms are terrible with nowhere to put things around the sink and a shower curtain across what is a low pressure shower. The microwave is a genuine antique!

One thing I will say is it was quiet where we were, which was in one of the kitchenette studio units at the back. Apparently there is a modernisation programme but we saw no sign of that in those units.

The motel is well placed in relation to town facilities, with a short walk to the lake and central Wanaka, there is also plenty of easy parking.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a joining door. The back units are much quieter than the front units which face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oamaruvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    42
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
59
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uae
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had spent one night in Wanaka on our way back from Fox Glacier. The place is run by a couple, who are wonderful people. They gave us all the information about Wanaka and the tourist locations around. The place is well kept and the room comes with a small kitchen and a sink. There is also a kettle, microwave,gas and necessary utensils for cooking which was very surprising. The whole place is made up of wood and gives the feeling of being in the Alpine hotels of Switzerland. The scenery around is just breathtaking overlooking the lake Wanaka. There is also a big supermarket to buy essentials for cooking. Overall a memorable experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Pleasant couple who greeted us. Rooms were fairly outdated but comfortable. Unfortunately there was rather a lot of construction work being done on the roads serrounding the motel which is puts it in an unattractive setting. Saying this, it is still in a prime location for town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunedinCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Great place to stay at Wanaka with all the amenities you need and very close to the town centre. We stayed for one night in 2 bedroom unit. Though a little bit smaller for 5 adults, it was very tidy with comfortable beds and a full kitchen. Accomodation is very good value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We booked pretty much last minute for a family of 2 adults and 4 teenagers aged between 15 and 18 and despite not having a room really large enough, the owners found a place for us and were happy to move all the furniture around to fit an extra bed in. The units was clean and well equipped and the owners are obviously upgrading the facilities as time and customers allow. We only a five minute walk to town and lake front but were never disturbed by the party that was happening in town most nights. (We visited between Xmas and New Year). Over all an ideal place to stay for us. Perhaps not as luxurious as some other places but the location, price and owners attitude easily make it a great place for a family stay.

Room Tip: We had teenagers with us who came and went at all hours and the unit furthest from reception was ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This was a nice surprise for me as I headed down the southern island on my way to Queenstown. You have your own self-contained studio apartment. The new owners have just taken over and are delightful. Many upgrades will be coming to the rooms once they hit slow season, but the property itself was already in good order. Laundry service on site, walking distance to the lake and the town center.

All in all a very nice visit and worth stopping by.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calitraveler310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Good Quality Motel Situated Near the Lake Front,If your looking for a spacious motel located near the lake front bars and activities, good stay for young travelers and couples alike, The only thing i would say would be that the cost is a little high for a motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 912Phippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments

Property: Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Address: 7 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments is located at the entrance to Wanaka town centre, an easy 5 minute walk will see you in the heart of the town, where lots of cafés and restaurants are situated and access to the beach side of beautiful Lake Wanaka. Our Studio Units and One and Two Bedroom Family Apartments are spacious, warm, and comfortable. We offer our guests FREE WiFi 5GB per day, heat pumps/air conditioning in all apartments, daily room servicing, children's play area, BBQ in our seated garden area, guest laundry with a separate drying/waxing room, and plenty of free off-street parking. Under new management since July 2015 your host Derek and his team warmly invite all new and returning guests and will assist you in any way they can ensure your stay with us in 'paradise' is an enjoyable one. Wanaka, located in Central Otago, New Zealand is known for its scenic beauty and variety of activities that attracts many visitors every year. Wanaka has a host of activities to entertain all travellers including Puzzling World, Transport and Toy Museum, Warbirds and Wheels Display, Tandem Paragliding, Sky Diving, Jet Boating, Paradiso or Rubys Cinema, Scenic Flights, Mini Golf, Shooting Range, Wanaka Beerworks and many local wineries are worthy of a visit. Should you wish to explore the beauty that makes Wanaka truly unique there are plenty of walks/bike tracks around the lake front or visit the local Department of Conservation (directly opposite our office) to discover all the local walking/tramping tracks. A full range of brochures is available in our reception area detailing all Wanaka and Central Otago has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Wanaka
Alpine Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing