We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Baffling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puzzling World

Puzzling World
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.38*
and up
Combo Admission to Puzzling World
Ranked #1 of 6 Shopping in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Wanaka's wonderful world of weirdness! Puzzling World has been messing with people's heads since 1973. Bizarre buildings, rooms of illusions and our famous maze will baffle your brain and challenge your perceptions of reality. Even if you only pay a visit to New Zealand's most unusual public toilets, your world will never be the same again. Seeing is disbelieving!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Sudarg
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Totally Baffling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Having paid yer money, Yer charged to reach all four corners of the Maze. This is not easy, and some weak character end individuals give up and slink out via an emergency exit.
We did just that, but night was falling and 33 hours without nourishment was to much to ask.
Joking. But we did give up after over an hour, having found 2 towers.
The rest of the rooms are very interesting and the final one gives you the opportunity to manipulate many small puzzles and to answer hard acrostics etc.
Well wort a diversion, but do take adequate supplies into the labyrinth with you.

There is a well stocked shop in which many hard-to-find puzzles may be found as well as the ubiquitous pencils with rubbers in the end.

Good value!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Sudarg,

Thanks for your fantastic review!

I'm certainly glad you didn't spend 33 hours in the maze - that would "perseverance" to a new level!

Our Puzzle shop - we work hard to offer unique items so thanks heaps for this comment

We hope to see you again at Puzzling World,

Kind regards

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    556
    108
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a place for kids as well as adults to enjoy! Puzzle in the lounge area are free but the ticket to the illusion rooms and maze is a small price to pay for the fun. It takes more than two hours to explore the whole place and take amazing pictures. The unique toilets at the back are an added bonus. Although we opted out of the great maze after a few minutes, it would be a great activity for the kids.
Worth a visit as it is thoroughly entertaining!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Hina,

Thanks for your amazing review (and great photos!)

We love it when customers take advantage of all the freebie and paid things on offer - we like to absorb the visitors in the whole theme of "eccentricity" - hence the crazy toilets :)

"thoroughly entertaining" and "well worth a visit' is golden - thank you!

We hope to see you again at Puzzling World,

Kind regards

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun place fo kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Cool place to take the kids and spend some time working out the illusions with them. Very educational process and kids loved process of working out each puzzle. We had teenagers with us and they found some value in all the rooms. Overall a good place to spend a morning or couple of hours when you are driving though Wanaka.

Parents can also have some fun in the lounge area waiting for the teenagers to explore the rooms as there are lots of brain teasing small puzzles on every table. Coffee was average though.

Overall a very good stop over place which kids all ages will really enjoy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pacyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi pacy,

Thanks for your great review!

I'm really pleased your kids enjoyed all things on offer although I think you've downplayed how much the adults enjoyed the "brain teasing" elements too :)

Coffee - yep, bean machine self brew - not barista quality but we're able to pump out hundreds a cups a day without delay. We're working on making this style as good as café style coffee so watch this space!

We hope to see you again at Puzzling World,

Kind regards

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
667 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Unique and worth more than one visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

No wonder that this place is so popular.

I have seen nothing so mind boggling anywhere else in the world. Thoroughly entertaining and achievable by all ages. Thank goodness that it's in a small town or it would be unbearably busy.

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi David,

Thanks for your brilliant review!

We love being "world's first" in many different areas here - many have tried to copy without success so we think our 40 yr old formula works well too!

Small town numbers - come back early Jan when we entertain over 2,000 a day! Lots of fun but very tiring :)

We hope to see you again at Puzzling World,

Kind regards

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Interesting Illusions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The maze was how should I say "interesting" as I did not follow the suggested order for the towers which at the end I raised the white flag wimped out and took the emergency exit.
The illusions with out visual clues reminded me of doing unusual attitudes under the hood for my instrument flying ie a queezy stomach
Overall good fun especially if you want to keep the kids quiet!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi Bill,

Thanks for your great review!

There's no shame in taking an Emergency Exit out of the maze - gives you something to achieve next time :)
Obviously the Tilted Room gave you the feeling of flight - but not necessarily the type you want?! It's a simple but strong illusion huh!

Thanks again for your comments, we hope to see you again at Puzzling World,

Kind regards

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puzzling World also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing