We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Puzzling World

Puzzling World
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.26*
and up
Combo Admission to Puzzling World
Ranked #1 of 6 Shopping in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Wanaka's wonderful world of weirdness! Puzzling World has been messing with people's heads since 1973. Bizarre buildings, rooms of illusions and our famous maze will baffle your brain and challenge your perceptions of reality. Even if you only pay a visit to New Zealand's most unusual public toilets, your world will never be the same again. Seeing is disbelieving!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fun way to spend an hour or so. We didn't go in the maze, but went through the illusion rooms. Very fun, particularly the tilted room and the hall of faces. Good place to take kids, lots of puzzles and games as well as the giant maze and illusion rooms.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Jess,

Thanks for your awesome review (and great photos)!

I'm so pleased you loved the Illusions and the puzzles so much and hope to see you back again to take on the Great Maze :)

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    566
    109
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“puzzling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

the maze is worth the visit. i didn't think i would enjoy a maze but i did. the illusions are wonderful. well worth going to

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank alecver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi arl

Thanks for your brilliant review!

We love to turn around people's perceptions of what they think they might be into - many have said that our maze has blown away their connotations so I'll add you to our happy list!

"wonderful" is a great way to describe our Illusion rooms so thanks heaps :) - we look forward to welcoming you back to PW!,

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'm local and loving it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I live in Wanaka so frequently drive by intending to do the "tourist" thing and revisit Puzzling World.
Well was I impressed. The Hosts friendly and welcoming and yes the Maze itself was as fun as I have always found it to be in the past. The illusions and puzzles great entertainment. Most amazing of all though was the new extension of the Illusions building. A gallery filled with sunlight and space provided the opportunity to linger and explore the exhibits without feeling you needed to move aside for others. I simply did not want to leave. FANTASTIC architecture ! What a magical space.
CONGRATULATIONS Puzzling World.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donah1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Donah

Thanks for your spectacular review!

We're always pleased to hear of locals (re) discovering the magic of Puzzling World as we work hard to evolve and improve the experience for new and repeat visitors. We are extremely proud of our newest illusion room and look forward to welcoming you back to show you (and VFR) our latest offerings.

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Interesting puzzles but a little overpriced for what you actually get to do. Bring a jacket because it gets pretty chilly in the maze in the shadows.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 7_Fitz7_7_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Fitz,

Thanks for your review

I can't tell from your comments what you actually did here but I'm sorry you felt pricing was expensive. We tend to think a total fee of $17.50 for the activities offers extremely good value so I hope you visited all 5 Illusion Rooms, Great Maze, Puzzle toilets, Roman Loos and Puzzle Centre. Did you check out all the illusionary artwork on display and get your photos holding the Leaning Tower, Tumbling Towers etc ?

I hope you enjoyed in Wanaka and we hope to see you back again

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun road trip stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had low expectations for Puzzling World, but I was pleasantly surprised. We stopped for a few hours and had a blast (I was with 3 friends, ages 20 and 22). The illusions were good (some were obvious, others hurt my brain) and the explanations fascinating. The illusion hall is well laid out, and isn't too long or too short. Just enough to keep you entertained, but not enough to get sick of illusions. The maze was frustrating enough to be a challenge, but not impossible (we made it to all four towers in less than 45 minutes). It was a really nice break from driving (we were on a road trip from Dunedin to Cromwell), and a pleasant afternoon. Worth a stop if you have an hour or two to kill in the area :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abigail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Abigail

Thanks for your awesome review!

We're always pleased to hear of expectations being exceeded and I'm stoked you all had such a blast here

It sounds like just the right amount of amusement and bemusement was had by all and we look forward to welcoming you back to PW!,

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puzzling World also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing