We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place, we'll be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Distinction Wanaka
Ranked #11 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, we'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My family of 3 stayed here for week at the snow in August in 2011 in a 2 bedroom apartment and we'll definitely be back.

Our apartment was fantastic with everything you could want/need. Full kitchen with everything on hand to cook all your meals or was close enough to Wanaka for a quick drive in for food and/or shopping. We found it a bit far to walk after a day of snowboarding but that's very dependant on your energy levels.

The bathroom doubled as a drying room so each morning our gear was ready for another day up the mountain. There was a washing machine and dryer in the garage and electric blankets on the bed to keep you warm on those extra cold nights.

The 2 x outdoor spas are great to give your tired muscles a good soak at the end of the day and they have gorgeous views but get in early. There's also daily apartment servicing so you always come home to a clean and warm place which when you're tired and sore after a huge day is very welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysup4aholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    77
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
100
68
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed in one of the Alpine Resort Apartments as part of a ski trip. There were 10 of us, so we stayed upstairs and downstairs on one of the apartments. it worked out perfectly - the apartments were lovely - new looking, clean and well equipped.

The resort had two spas, a pool for those crazy enough to jump in (ski trip remember) a games room with air hockey, pool table, cycling machine and a fitness machine. The staff were lovely and friendly.

The downstairs bedrooms got a little cold at night if you had their doors to the main room shut, so either leave the doors open a crack or grab an extra heater or two at reception (or use the electric blankets).

We'll definitely be back - Wanaka is beautiful and nicer than Queenstown - cheaper and less crowded too (Closer to treble cone and cardrona and the snow park).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

My family, and friends from Melbourne, arranged to holiday together, staying in this apartment complex. Having stayed in several other Wanaka apartments, I particularly liked this one, being larger, with individual garaging, and internal access. We extended our stay and this was accommodated by management even though it required considerable reshuffling by them. Simone, the manager, also went beyond the call of duty to help us get to the shuttle buses for the mountain after our car had mechanical problems. Both families hope to return to this resort in September, to enjoy more skiiing at Cardrona.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwifamilyNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed here for a ski weekend with friends. Apartment was spacious and very well equipped. Lovely gas fire in the lounge which was super warm but we found that the bedrooms were cold at night - only stayed two nights and were out skiing all day so didn't ask reception for extra heaters but would have done if we were staying any longer.
Excellent pool and spa area.
The apartments are about 2kms out of town, walkable if you've still got energy at the end of the day!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank snownoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The rooms in this hotel are huge! Full kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms with full laundry in-room. Quite clean, but you could tell that the rooms have been lived-in, as the couches were very worn and the washing machine made a horrible noise when we were trying to do a load of laundry!

This hotel is a bit out of the way and not directly situated in town on the lake. We did have a wonderful view from our back balcony though!

Overall it was a decent stay for us!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgarianTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Arrived late Friday arvo, greeted with jolly, informative efficient receptionist. Very shortly after we where rolling our bags into a compfy 2 bedroom apartment aircon quietly humming, electric blankets warming the beds,fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge overlooking pool , games room and tennis court. All 4 of us very happy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalew66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and well appointed - had everything we needed. The games room was great for the kids. Friendly staff who know the local area and could give good advice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.7 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wanaka

Property: Distinction Wanaka
Address: 144 - 154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Resort Wanaka)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers a choice of 58 large, stylish, self-contained, serviced apartments, each providing you with a high level of personal comfort and convenience, perfect for all seasons. Superior facilities include a gourmet kitchen, 50 channels of Sky TV (43" screens in 3brm apartments), under-floor heating in the bathrooms and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Distinction Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Clarion Wanaka
Wanaka Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing