We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Distinction Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distinction Wanaka
Ranked #12 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Spent a week in the 3 bedroom apartments with friends in another unit. Both families had a great week. Clean and well appointed. Great activities for teenage children. Friendly and responsive management. Great location with 20 min walk to town centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    79
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
103
71
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Alpine Resort Wanaka is the property management company which maintains several Wanaka vacation rental apartments. My son and I stayed at one of their rental apartments, and greatly enjoyed our week-long stay. To see our writeup of that specific apartment, do a search in TripAdvisor on 'Central Wanaka Apartment'. Alpine Resort Wanaka on Anderson Road is the management office, but the 'Central Wanaka Apartment' is located on Hedditch Road in Wanaka. This review is about the management office.

The staff of the management office could not have been better. Several different people operated the desk at different times, and all of them were pleasant, cooperative and helpful. I had questions about local services (food markets, etc), attractions, directions and more, and the staff were very informative and knowledgeable. One thing I really liked was free WiFi internet access, which is not generally free in New Zealand, from my limited experience. There were some bugs in getting it started for us (since we were the first users of their new internet provider in that apartment), but one of the agents gave me her cellphone to use during my stay to work with them on getting it resolved. I really appreciated that, since my stateside telephone provider was charging me USD $2.00 a minute for all international roaming calls. That was a very considerate act and saved me a good bit of money.

The cleaning staff came by mid-week, as they said they would, to give us fresh towels, linens, and a general 'freshing up' of the apartment. They were exceptionally nice too. I really cannot say enough good things about the apartment management team. If I ever come back to Wanaka, I would return to Alpine Resort Wanaka for a place to stay. It is a long and grueling 31 hour trip from the east coast of the US to New Zealand, so I probably will not return to Wanaka or to NZ, but if i did.... I would seek out Alpine Resort Wanaka.

Room Tip: My apartment did not have an associated garage, so if that is important to you, be sure to specify i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbarnes14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights. Had a view of the tennis court which was a little disappointing but we coped. The only thing I would say is that this accommodation is a little far from Wanaka but if you like walking it is a nice walk to town and an easy drive. The staff here were outstanding. The accommodation itself is very nice and comfortable and serviced everyday which is wonderful. The garages are a little tight but they provide access to your room and house a laundry which is very handy when you are travelling. Everything you need is provided for and if you like to have your own kitchen it is well appointed with all you need to cook a meal. I would stay here again but next time would ask for a view of the Lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Lake but if not the Tennis court rooms are nice and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebL53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our apartment was lovely, clean and spacious with everything you need and expect when travelling and staying in self-contained accommodation. Added bonus of having your own internal garage, so a real home away from home. Our beds and pillows were great and extremely comfortable which made for a perfect sleep each night. Our children loved the tennis court, games room with table tennis and the pool and spa were brilliant. The staff were very friendly and more than helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer but we will be back to stay again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Staff were friendly and the apartment was fabulous. It is spacious and had wonderful views of the lake and mountains. Walkable distance to the main shopping dining area and only about 2 minutes to drive there. Our apartment had a great kitchen and laundry and was well appointed. Our son enjoyed the pool and gaming area. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs apartment with lake and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bohica-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights.
We had asked for a one bedroom apartment with a view of the lake and were really disappointed when we arrived that we did not have a view at all.
The woman at reception however kindly upgraded us to a lovely three bedroom apartment with spectacular views. The apartment was very spacious and modern, very well equipped. Lots of Sky channels as well. You have to pay for internet though.
Although it said in the instructions that it would be serviced daily, that was not the case. The first day no service at all and the second day they came only to change the towels and did not clean anything. As it was spotlessly clean when we arrived that was not a big problem for us. The distance to the centre was no problem as in Wanaka there is plenty of free parking space. All in all a lovely trip and we loved Wanaka, plenty to do and a good choice of restaurants and cafes. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piririnha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Alpine Resort in Wanaka provided excellent accommodation. Well located and well set up, but slightly out of town. Lock up small garage with remote control roller door a plus.
Full kitchen, washing machine and dryer in garage, plus nice lounge/eating area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JhhDjh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wanaka

Property: Distinction Wanaka
Address: 144 - 154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Resort Wanaka)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers a choice of 58 large, stylish, self-contained, serviced apartments, each providing you with a high level of personal comfort and convenience, perfect for all seasons. Superior facilities include a gourmet kitchen, 50 channels of Sky TV (43" screens in 3brm apartments), under-floor heating in the bathrooms and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Clarion Wanaka
Wanaka Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing