We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility, excellent for families”
Review of Distinction Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Wanaka
Ranked #10 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great facility, excellent for families”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed a week at the Alpine Resort. We had a three-bedroom apartment. The apartment was very clean and fully equipped with modern, quality fittings. We had our own garage. There is Sky tv with the Sports And Movies channels. There is a gas fire in the lounge and heating for the rest of the apartment. The resort has a tennis court, two swimming pools, two spas, two games rooms, a sauna and a gym. The apartments are also serviced daily, which is more like staying in a hotel. The location is good, but you need a car. It's about 3 minutes drive from Mount Iron and Puzzling World in one direction and the village centre and lake in another. It takes about half an hour to walk into the village. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, would definitely come again and would absolutely recommend this resort if you are looking to relax and have fun.

Room Tip: All apartments have mountain views. Some also have lake views too, but you'd need to request tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    82
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
110
78
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Terrific place to stay, sadly we were there only one night. Great well-equipped apartment, very clean, with washer in the garage. Used the pool and spa, there was a gym next to it. Very helpful staff. It would be good for families, although some way from the town centre.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HampshireBaggin... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

After a long drive from Te Anau (via Queenstown), we were pleasantly surprised to arrive as our first impressions exceeded our expectations.

The establishment appears newish, in the style of units sold off the plan to investors and then leased back to a central company, or overseen by a central manager.

The units are configured into 2 bedrooms (downstairs) and 3 bedrooms (upstairs). We stayed downstairs (apartment 28A from memory). It was a lovely experience, with the interior modern: two separate bedrooms, kitchen, family room, bathroom and private courtyard. Guests will be happy to know the apartment had its own washing machine and dryer.

There were two swimming pools on site, two spas and a sauna. There were also two multi-purpose / gym rooms. While the kids jumped in the pool, I sat in the sauna - perfect after the long drive.

If I had to find fault, it was that the establishment was a little out of town, which meant a car trip was needed to get food, groceries, etc. On the plus side though, it was quiet. The views from the room over the mountains were majestic. Perhaps there could be potential overcrowding during the busy period, but this was not our experience.

All in all, two thumbs up. We would stay here again, and are even dreaming about a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveM0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Spacious 1 bedroom unit at ground level with well equipped kitchen facilities and spotlessly clean. Quiet location with easy drive into town. Service was excellent. We didn't use any of the extra guest facilities but they appeared to be in reasonable order. Great laundry facilities in the garage. Quality accommodation at reasonable price. Would definitely consider another holiday at this resort.

Room Tip: There are two story villas with distant views of the lake and they would be worthwhile considering w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpineresortwanaka, Owner at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, we were delighted to have you stay with us. Enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had an upstairs, 3-bedroom apartment. It was equipped to a high standard and had some great views from the living room. It was also large and the furniture was well-chosen and comfortable. Cleaning occurred on a daily basis and was carried out by helpful, and very pleasant staff. All in all a nice place to stay. My only problem was the heating, which was rather lacking in the third bedroom at the back of the apartment (closest to the driveway).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A great sized apartment with everything you need for a night away, would be even better for an extended period. Loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom and it was fantastic having our own garage to park the car in to load and unload.
The furnishings were stylish and the outside, contained area with seating, bbq and grass would be fantastic in the summer, especially with children.
The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when it looked like the road to Franz Josef was closed.
A little out of town (i.e. not really walking distance) but fine if you have a car.
Highly recommend for families.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

truly a beautiful resort ... the cleanliness , warmth of the people running it ..cleanliness , ammenities like the kitchen and washing machines for clthes and dishes etc...we had a great time..the view from the room was excellent and i think this is the ideal place for families visiting Wanaka to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsm1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
783 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wanaka

Property: Distinction Wanaka
Address: 144 - 154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Resort Wanaka)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers a choice of 58 large, stylish, self-contained, serviced apartments, each providing you with a high level of personal comfort and convenience, perfect for all seasons. Superior facilities include a gourmet kitchen, 50 channels of Sky TV (43" screens in 3brm apartments), under-floor heating in the bathrooms and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Clarion Wanaka
Wanaka Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing