We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed for one night at the Lakeview motel, and were blown away by the incredible views of the lake and mountains, right through the window. We were assigned room no. 1, and were pleasantly surprised to find a rather modern room with a huge glass window overlooking the lake. Certainly wish we could have stayed there for longer

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
Thank xlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2011

We loved how the table was built right into the bay window so you both get a great view while eating breakfast. Although there was no stove top in the room there was a bbq.
The room was very comfortable with a table and chairs on the deck where you can sip wine while watching the sailboats on the lake. Free wifi was a nice touch
A leisurely walk into town for good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statsman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We spent a night in Wanaka. The motel was perfect for us. There was free parking just outside the door, the views from our balcony area were fantastic, everything seemed to be almost brand new and very clean, there was plenty of space, and the management were very welcoming, leaving a note to welcome us as we arrived after reception had shut for the day. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_b_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

What a fabulous location for a motel! You can view the lovely Lake Wanaka right from your window! We had visited Wanaka on our honeymoon and had stayed at this motel on a friend's recommendation. We had opted for a standard twin room for 2 nights. The hotel is located in a peaceful location, a mere 5 mins drive from the main town. The rooms are spacious, clean and have all the necessary amenities. This is a serious no fuss, no frills place and provides excellent value for money! The owners are also very helpful.

This is surely one of the finest places we stayed in during our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aruna_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed here for one night, I dont think I could have spent any longer here.
I found it old, and it was uncomfortable. The sofa sank and the bed was uncomfortable.
Its basic.
There is a fridge and a preparation area/Kitchenette.

The views are wonderful and we had our breakfast and dinner looking over the lake and Rob Roy Glacier.
We used the BBQ to cook some steaks. However, it is windy up top so we had to go in.
The outdoor area is small and everyone sits at the window watching their neighbours. The car park is very tight and is at the back too where the BBQ/Lounging area is.

We paid $140 for one night. I think its expensive for that. I would rather pay $90 then I would have been happier. In Queenstown I paid less for some of the 4-5* accommodation. Wanaka needs more accommodation options.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamer101Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We booked in for 10 nights as we were visiting our daughter who wroked in Wanaka. It was great. Room was spotless, cooking in room facilities OK but we used the excellent BBQ more. Bed was really comfortable and the location quiet. The view as others have mentioned is fantastic. Overall great value, we paid a lot more during a month in NZ for worse accomodation. I liked the 'light touch' approach by Leanne and her staff, there if we needed help but otherwise just let us get on with it. In fact we had a days gap during our stay as we went to Milford Sound and Leanne very helpfully let us leave our excess luggage in Lakeview rather than check out then check back in again. Highly recommend Lakeview to anyone in Wanaka. The free wifi was great as well.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

What a nice place to stay.Very good place to visit Wanaka.The hosts had some good ideas about dining.We ate very well in Relishes-cafe.The motel is a nice place to relax after a busy day.We did the MilfordSound-tour with Wanakaflightseeing.Expensive but very much worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhofstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £79 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing