We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning view with great price”
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Stunning view with great price”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Lake view motel Wanaka

As you could tell from the name of the motel, it has a view of Lake Wanaka. It was a stunning view from the hill. The motel located on the hill and it took about 10minutes to walk down to downtown Wanaka.

The self contained unit was clean and reasonable size. It has a microwave, electrical kettle, refrigerator, some utensils and a toaster. We couldn't cook a full meal from it but is good enough to make a breakfast.

There is a working desk facing the lake, which is our favorites. A flatscreen TV with a sofa. 

The queen size bed was clean and comfortable. I found it really weird about the set up because the " kitchen" is right in front of the bed.

No complaint about the bathroom. It was clean with enough amenities. We love the heater in the bathroom and the heated towel rack was a bonus.

One thing we really loved was the extremely high speed wifi Internet in the room and it was free of charge!

We love the Clearbrook Motel but this is a very good backup! 

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Hi and thanks for your review. The views from the bay window are stunning aren't they. Today we have a billiant blue sky, the lake is like a mirror and the snow capped mountains are looking pristine.
Even though our units are older and more rustic than some we pride ourselves on keeping them clean and cosy for our guests.
We have just expanded the wi-fi package we use so its good to hear that it is operating at high speed!
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and come back to Wanaka one day.
Mike & Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    92
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
202
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was by far the best accommodation we stayed in while in New Zealand.
The service was helpful, the room was warm and had an excellent shower. The best thing about it was the bay window looking out on the Lake. It is also walking distance to the town centre, although it's all uphill on the way back. Plenty of choices for dining nearby. We easily could have stayed an extra couple of nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mon83Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Lakeview - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say you can't beat the view of the lake and mountains from the rooms, hope you got some good photos to refresh your memories when you get home. We hope the rest of your trip around NZ goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed here a day as it was part of a whirlwind tour of NZ in 11 days but the place is very comfortable. We stayed in Room 4 which is at the end so u can sit out in the small porch without runnin into anyone. It has a beautiful unobstructed view of the lake just like in the photo.

Has a small kitchenette so got some ready to eat noodles and stuff from the supermarket for a nice quiet dinner in the evenin. Given that the sun sets late u can sit out there much longer and wait for the crystal clear view of the stars reflecting on the lake.

Parking is right in front of the room at the back of the house. Reasonably priced and a nice place to stay close to town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderin_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here for one night at the end of December, we booked 2 rooms having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. The views are excellent; it’s a couple of minutes’ drive from the centre of Wanaka, the rooms were clean and well appointed, the free internet connection was good we were able to video Skype back to the UK easily. We were made very welcome by the owner our only regret was that we had only booked in for one night we wish we could have stayed longer. We would definately stay here again, good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandJWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We came here for part of our honeymoon (a Kiwi and an American) and were so glad we came here instead of Queenstown. Room (~$NZ100) was big with an amazing view of Aspiring and the (warm) lake, the staff were very nice, and there was an easy walk down the hill to the beautiful sandy beach and decent sized town (where we found an awesome Mexican restaurant).
We shall return.
Thank you Lakeview!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlairMichele-SanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Basic but nice clean room. Good value. Beautiful views of the lake. Most accommodating in helping set up golf and fishing guides.

Room Tip: Not a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed as a family of 4 with 2 children under 5 years old for 5 nights and absolutely loved it!

Lake Wanaka itself is stunning and when you have a view right over the top of it you just cannot ask for anything more.

The studio we had was great and spotlessly clean. Not huge but just enough room for the four of us and a nice little kitchenette for meal time. That said it is all about the view of Lake Wanaka and few places would beat this.

Hope to be back in Wanaka and would certainly stay at the Lake View Motel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Property: Lakeview Motel
Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing