We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely view ”
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very lovely view ”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable stay well equipped studio room for two. Bathroom spacious. Garden overlooks lake and mountains. We can see from bed Lovely rustic feel. Only negative although there is unlimited free wifi it's so slow as to be unusable Very friendly hostess very quiet road

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kilburnhealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    92
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
202
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views especially the sunset. Is one of my favourite self contained units so far The room was clean, spacious, and well -equipped. We had a satisfying and comfortable stay. Would definitely return to this motel whenever we visit wanaka in the future.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We are currently staying here right now for 2 nights. We were so impressed with this little gem that I needed to write a review instantly. This is a two leveled unit with an amazing broad view of Wanaka and the lake. Upstairs is the bedroom with a divider wall, allowing you to see downstairs and the amazing views through the big glass sliding door. Downstairs is the lounge and a small kitchenette (bar fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, cutlery/crockery and a sink.) and the bathroom and toilet. Out the sliding door is a balcony with a table and chairs. It is so nice sitting out there with a drink and watching the boats gliding around the lake. This unit is a comfortable size for a couple and there are also other units in this motel to cater for larger groups and small families. The unit is extremely clean and tidy. If we are ever back in Wanaka we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose unit 5 or 6 (top level with the balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TylarC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Well equipped, spotlessly clean studio room. Amazing views over lake: look left for town, right for mountains. Easy walk to town. Parking right outside room. Gas bbq with seating under gazebo available Great value.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jsdkoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington,UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed for two nights and loved this motel. The room was spacious and comfortable and the view over the lake was fabulous. The hostess was kind and helpful, and we were glad to take advantage of the laundry service. I am happy to recommend this motel, and if we return to Wanaka we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed there in Sep 2013. The hotel was overlooking the Lake Wanaka and the view was spectacular. Room was clean and spacious. The motel provides free unlimited wifi to their guests! The host was friendly and was accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accura_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during our honeymoon. True to what the other reviews say, the view is spectacular! On the first morning, we saw a huge rainbow stretch across Wanaka lake from our window! Coupled with snow capped mountains in the distance, it was indeed a view to die for.

Rooms were quiet, clean and warm, with a heater in the bathroom - extremely useful for those zero degrees days. Kitchenette was equipped with utensils, a kettle and a microwave. Would be good if there is a stove and pots for some light cooking but there are many restaurants down beside Lake Wanaka and a good supermarket so it was no bother.

What left the most lasting impression on us was the kindness of the motel owner. We were going to Fox Glacier via the Haast Pass and was afraid that the road might close on our way back due to bad weather conditions. The lady we corresponded with first helped us call the people from the Road Report Helpline to check whether the pass was open, then made advanced reservations for us for the following two days when we were scheduled to come back. When we were at Fox Glacier and heard news about roads being closed, we called back and she was kind enough to waive charges for the first day. Her help, kindness and concern was indeed heartwarming. For that, I will definitely stay at Lakeview again should I ever come back to Wanaka.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank a_scot_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Property: Lakeview Motel
Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing