We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views from your room!”
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best views from your room!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

A beautiful view from our room. The rooms are older but well maintained. Parking is a bit tricky down a steep incline to the back of the property. The internet was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Can't think of a reason to look elsewhere.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BKbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    92
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
202
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Convenient location for Wanaka with wonderful views of lake and mountains. Comfortable room with all necessary facilities, shared outside patio area and garden. Parking area in front, beneath the rooms. Owner very helpful with spot on recommendation of restaurant and obliging laundry service at reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandV1F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a ground floor corner room which afforded some additional privacy (had our own small patio). The room itself was clean and comfortable. Free Wifi was a definite plus. We parked on the street, which is a short, steep climb from the entrance to the room; we had no problems with this arrangement. Took a walk after dark to the large hill behind the motel and sat and stargazed, which was lovely. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor corner unit has its own small patio rather than the other ground floor units which shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

WOW, stunning view from room! I was in room 6 and I couldn’t have asked for anything better. Shared balcony, but this was no problem and the view of the lake was utter brilliance. Wanaka is a fantastic place to see, a World Heritage location and it shows, the roads in and out are stunning, so if coming on a bike, allow plenty of time to stop and get off your bike to take photos! The accommodation was well situated, on top of a hill looking down on Wanaka, so you got a great view. The welcome was lovely and very friendly – I was able to park my bike right outside of my room. If coming on a bike, mail in advance so you get one of the 2 rooms on road level – there are spaces outside your door and would save riding down a steep drive to the lower rooms (which still have fantastic views). The room itself was pristine, very clean, well-stocked and had a very comfy bed. I would gladly have stayed here longer. The road the accommodation is on was not busy, in fact it was very quiet which was lovely and I could see my bike from my bedroom window which was great. You are just 10 minute walk from the main town for bars and restaurants. Cannot recommend enough, well worth the price, location and view.

Room Tip: Mail in advance and ask for a road level room if coming on a bike
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
324 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great view from our room overlooking lake Wanaka. Room was up to date in furnishings and equipment. Parking is a bit tricky, as there aren't many spaces and there is a steep cliff in back. Motel included free Wi-Fi and was well maintained. Would stay there again. Very quiet location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The views from this motel are outstanding but the room we were in was very high standard as well. The complex is only a short walk to the town centre but sufficiently far away to avoid the hustle and bustle of a busy tourist town. The lady we dealt with was extremely helpful and friendly. If there is any downside it is around the parking which is somewhat tight but can be negotiated with a bit of patience. We would not stay anywhere else in Wanaka if we are lucky enough to return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I spent one night here last month and were glad that we did. Our room was very nice and the view was fabulous! We got some great advice on where to eat dinner (Francesca's);
every expectation that I had concerning our stay was exceeded. Lakeview Motel deserves its five star rating!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Property: Lakeview Motel
Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing