We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I've given the Lakeview 5* as even though it is fairly dated as mentioned by a previous reviewer, value for money is excellent, the views are stunning and the studio apartment was spacious and well equipped.
Parking can be a bit tight getting down to the lower car park but there are seats overlooking the lake, a BBQ if required and seating immediately outside the room.
The furnishings are fine for an overnight but would have also been fine for a longer stay. It is a 5 to 10 minute walk down to the town where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. There is also a short cut back up via some steps.
Someone has recommended Uncle Mike's BBQ - don't bother. It looked scruffy and cramped on the balcony and when we asked them what time they finished serving and we returned 30 minutes before the time they stated, the response was tough, we're quiet and can't be bothered serving you!
They did us a favour as we found 'Relishes', a great restaurant just as you enter the town on the left hand side. The fillet steak was superb and very reasonably priced with good service.
We would return to the Lakeside as it is in a great location, excellent value for money, offers stunning views and gives a reasonable degree of privacy.
It is very family owned and that is a nice touch which guarantees personal service. However, the free internet advertised was a waste of time as try as I did, I couldn't connect to it and the signal was non existent. However, that was a small if frustrating problem and wouldn't put us off returning if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

The view is stunning, lake and mountains spread out before you. Our room was split level with big veranda, nice sitting room and bedroom up in the loft. The bedroom space was a bit tight but this wasn't an issue. We booked for two nights initially but extended to three as we were so comfortable. There was plenty to do around the town, we had lovely walks along the lake and the river, enjoyed the circuit up and down Mt Iron one evening,and had a couple of hours kayaking on the lake. The owner was very helpful and the motel was very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzieWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The location of this motel is top-notch: close to the town centre with a magnificent view and away from any busy roads. The rooms are spacious, although dated in style. My main objection was the electric blanket on the bed. It doesn't seem necessary in summer and I woke up a couple of times because I could feel the wires.

Other than paying when we arrived we didn't see the staff at all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belgianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

The view from our room was amazing - sadly we had a rare rainy day when we stayed there, but we could imagine how nice it would be on a sunny day. The accommodation itself is really well appointed, nice comfortable beds, a small kitchen area, great bathroom and showers - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefutps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We had booked this hotel for only one night and as soon as we arrived here, late afternoon, I began to regret my decision. I badly wanted to extend my stay by a couple of more nights. The rooms were clean and basic with a well equipped kitchenette. But what made the stay super special was the view.

True to its name, the Lakeview Motel offers an uninterrupted view of the bluest waters shimmering like diamonds during sunset. You can see a line of little white yachts and the rolling mountains beyond the lake. The rooms have large windows facing the lake and just outside the unit, there are pretty white benches to just sit and stare at the beautiful scenery. We loved it! I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krishti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We selected the Lakeside for the view...and what a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding snow-clad mountains there is. We were only there for one night so did not have the opportunity to use the BBQ area overlooking the lake. Our room was a little on the small side but it was nicely decorated and comfortable. The owners were friendly and helpful.

It's located in a quiet area outside the town ( a 15 minute walk away ). There is open parkland in front which is handy for walks. Check out its location on a map first as it is a little difficult to find.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Wanaka is a better alternative to touristy Queenstown and this place has a fantastic views over the beautiful lake BUT it could be so much better. The rooms are really lacking style and TLC so don't do justice to the ecellent position.
One of the few places not to charge for Internet!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandPCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £80 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing