We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, A pleasant stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Benbrae - Cardrona Valley Resort
Ranked #21 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value, A pleasant stay..”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Benbrae, and loved it!! For starters location was great for skiing at Cardrona, the on site restaurant was great and the pub down the road was awesome as well.. The beds were very comfortable to sleep , the unit was of very good standard and overall our stay was fantastic. Staff were so helpful and a pleasant to deal with and even help us defrost our windscreen!! Thanks Very Much Benbrae!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RaynLisaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    17
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
24
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The Benbrae lodges are perfectly located for acces to the Cardrona snow ski fields, 100 metre stroll to the historical Cardrona hotel . The lodges are very well equiped , clean and every thing you need for your stay. The pool and hot spa are great after a day on the slopes . The small bar restuarant " The Sombre Duck " does great pizzas and has a great selection of wines . The managment are friendly and are more than helpfull . Laid back stay . The horses in the paddock next door add to the overall country feel. Great .

Room Tip: Short 10 min drive up the Cardrona ski field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our stay was worry free. From the lovely young gentlemen at the front desk to the modern and clean villa. We stay for three nights and considered staying longer after the first day. Even though it was below zero outside, the villa was always warm and the roads around the resort were not icy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEverywhereSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

When we first stayed at Benbrae in Aug 2009 (I wrote a review back then) we absolutely loved our stay. Since then we have returned every year & it just keeps getting better!
The managers of the resort have opened a fantastic pizza & wine bar on the premises. It is a perfect addition to the resort. The ambience is great, everyone is so friendly, the wine selection is very good & the food is fantastic.
The apartments are still in very good condition, very clean & comfortable.
Lee-Ann & Jamie are lovely hosts, very welcoming & very easy going.
We will be back again next year - highly reccommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_perfect_h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Benbrae - Cardrona Valley Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thank you for your great review! The Sombre Duck Wine and Pizza bar has proved to be a great addition to our already wonderful resort and we are glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed one night in a modern warm and extremely clean villa. Comfortable bed, spacious living and bathroom. Fire place and heater were ideal for a cold winters night! Was greeted by an extremely pleasant young man upon arrival. The information folder in the villa was both informative and helpful. Look forward to staying at Benbrae again soon and would happily suggest it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Benbrae - Cardrona Valley Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Our stay at Benbrae was great. Amazing location, with luxurious facilities to match. The highlight of our two night stay was the spa and surrounding area which provided an entertaining evening under the stars. Would absolutely recommend, especially to keen skiers, as you couldn't be any closer to Cadrona and Snow Park.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MattHopkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed as a couple for a getaway in a one bedroom villa and just loved it! The villas are modern, clean and spacious. Ours had a gorgeous sunny deck which was lovely to relax in. These are all beautifully appointed, loved the fireplace, and the peace and quiet! Didnt try the pool, but will be back with family to enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiontour34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
13.4 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
14.7 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
16.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benbrae - Cardrona Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbrae - Cardrona Valley Resort

Property: Benbrae - Cardrona Valley Resort
Address: 2326 Cardrona Valley Road | Cardrona, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Benbrae - Cardrona Valley Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benbrae Resort is centrally located between Wanaka and Queenstown. Benbrae is the ideal location to experience the many outdoor adventures with tramping, fishing, wineries, international ski fields, mountain bike trails, with a great choice of international golf courses in the region and so much more. As a high-quality regional themed resort, Benbrae will attract guests based on outstanding service, a sense of fun and adventure complemented by stylish and contemporary accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benbrae - Cardrona Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benbrae - Cardrona Valley Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing