We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing food.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant

Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: US$17 - US$22
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy the fresh and contemporary atmosphere in Sargoods Restaurant and Wineglass Cafe, situated at the very heart of Edgewater. Savour the outstanding New Zealand wines and cuisine, from the Wineglass Cafe menu, on the surrounding outdoors terrace area, and soak up the spectacular scenery and ambience of Lake Wanaka. Enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in Sargoods Restaurant daily.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I think the last time I dined in this hotel dining room was about 15 years ago. Sadly, I won't be rushing back. All four of us agreed that the food was rather ordinary. Perhaps it was 'chef's night off'.... A few days later we talked to some friends from overseas who were staying at Edgewater. They were happy with their accommodation but very disappointed with the dinner they had in the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sally,

We're sorry you had such a disappointing experience with us in the Wineglass Cafe.

We would be pleased to investigate further, with a few more details.

As I note your located in Wanaka please feel free to make contact with us directly. In the first instance if you wish to email me on bd@edgewater.co.nz we can take it from there.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beef and Venison - delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Beautifully cooked venison sandwich with out the bread. Went back a week later and just as good. Husband had the sirloin steak and kumaru chips. He also repeated the following week as it was ooked to perfection rare/medium. Wine was a reasonable price. Staff excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Kia Ora

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us at the Wineglass cafe.

Pleased you enjoyed the venison, sirloin and kumera chips with us.

We'll shortly change our menu to our winter menu and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy that too.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great lunch - the waitress' were great - Gaynor tired me out just watching her work - my burger was very good but the scone was a bit pricey - when I went to pay they had totally mucked up the bill ( missed putting the drinks or dessert on the account ) so not very professional or organised but overall a very good experience - mainly because of the staff and "buzz" of the cafe

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nnesbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Kia Ora

We appreciate you feedback and lovely comments about the team and Gaynor. They are a great team and Gaynor is a true gem.

I'll bring your comments to the attention of management and I am sorry that you experienced a muddle with your bill.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious meal and great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at the Edgewater resort, so it was very convenient to have a meal there also.
On the Saturday night we booked a table and enjoyed attentive service and amazing meals.
Everything was cooked well, presented nicely and tasted delicious.
Well priced and quick service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaynie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Jaynie

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experiences with us at the Wineglass cafe.

No doubt we'll see you in the future! You are most likely aware that we change the menu each season, so there may be some new items to try during your next visit.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food in a great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have eaten in the Wineglass cafe on several occasions. Though it is casual dining, the food is excellent and service good. Best of all, it is reasonably priced

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Julie

Thanks for your comments regarding the Wineglass Cafe. They are certainly appreciated.

You're probably aware we change the menu seasonally so we look forward to welcoming you back to sample other items on the menu in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing