We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairway Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Great location. convenient for town and nearby restaurants. clean comfortable and value for money. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great local advice from Rob and would recommend a stay. Han & James

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cvjmje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi guys, glad you had a great time here in Wanaka! Keep enjoying New Zealand and have a safe trip home too :-)

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review!

Kind regards

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    54
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
57
67
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had originally planned to only stay here for 2 nights but we liked Wanaka so much we ended up staying for four nights! The rooms are relatively basic, our kitchen in particular was very small, but they were clean and the bed comfortable so we didn't mind. The hosts were very helpful and flexible in allowing us to stay longer and the motel is within easy walking distance of the town centre. Having looked at other options in Wanaka, I think this motel offers good value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReadingHolidaywanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi Guys,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review :-) On behalf of the team here at Fairway we are glad that you enjoyed your time here in Wanaka and that you feel you got great value as Fairway guests. Enjoy New Zealand! Kind Regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

On our drive through form Greymouth to QTown, we stopped on a whim and took a room there and paid up 120 for one night, we probably got taken as a walk in. The room was under a staircase, the kitchen small and strangely spread on both sides, the room small compared to 6-7 other motels we stayed in NZ. The partitions were wood, if you knock you can feel the sound going through to the other side, we did not have any neighbor, did not hear any sound coming through. There's facility to wash your car near the pool with a faucet and rags to wash, we had a dirty car running 1500 kms though rain and dirt. Though the lady at the reception was helpful with information, we fell we could have got better bang for the buck. Location was good, the lake a walk down the road. Since it was for just one night we did not complain and pushed on.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I find this an interesting review as being the shoulder season and having looked through our November records there have been no charges for $120 for one night stays. I guess it is difficult to really provide an adequate response as generally if people are not 100% happy with any aspect of their room they will let us know at the time and we will do our very best to assist. I am glad the location was good and I can assure you that all of our studio units have thick concrete walls. Apologies if you feel we have let you down in some way. Regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Great stay with a baby and toddler huge rooms and plenty of space for 4 adults and two kids.
Only complaint was that the people who stayed above us were early risers and you could hear every thing including their jug boiling.
Needs a bit of soundproofing. But might pay to get an upstairs room too.

Bar that friendly hosts, Separate laundry available. Free BBQ and BBQ tools provided.

Would definitely stay again !

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank haykerryharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi Guys,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you had a good time here in Wanaka. In regard to soundproofing, thank you for the information, it is something we will look at for sure. Those two rooms are more recent 'add ons', the main block of studios and the apartments are all soundproofed but it is great to get feedback as we are always looking at continuous improvement :-)

Take care, again we are rapt you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of Eve and myself we hope to see you again. Pool is open from 1st Dec - 31 March perfect for the kids!
Kind regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Easy to find on the main road into Wanaka. Warm well equipped units and a friendly welcome make this a great place to stay. The unit we enjoyed on the 1st floor had a good view and was well fitted out.and roomy.

This would be an ideal motel if you were a golf fan but even if not would be an ideal family holiday spot or a business stay, Close drive to town with all the restaurants and bars that Wanaka has to offer.

Room Tip: Back block rooms are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Wanaka and that you found the room comfortable. We really enjoy hosting people in this beautiful town!

Kind regards,
Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My girlfriend and I called in to the Fairway Motel for 1 night on our way through Wanaka, and it was so good that we had to stay another night! Couldn't have been happier with our room and the service and hospitality that Eve and Rob provided. On more than one occasion Ruth (Girlfriend) thought I'd got lost on my way back from reception because I had been stood talking to the guys like I'd known them all of my life. Our room was spacious and airy, the shower was excellent (it put ours at home to shame!). The cooking facilities were very good, with plenty of utensils, plates, glasses etc. so you can definitely be self sufficient if you are on a budget or don't fancy eating out one day. Eve and Rob were very attentive, making sure we always had clean towels, milk, tea bags etc. they even contacted me to say that I had left an SD card in the room and posted it back to me. Highly recommend........ 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and loved Wanaka so much you stayed another night! It is awesome to be able to share this beautiful place with travelers and share in their experiences.

Hope the rest of your travels around the country were just as enjoyable!

Kind regards,
Eve and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincentia, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Eve and Rob Thorp are the perfect hosts and our stay at their lovely Motel a most comfortable and rewarding experience. Our 2 Bedroom apartment was beautifully appointed, modern, spotless and in glorious gardens set right next to town and the glorious scenery of Wanaka.
The comfort was unsurpassed and the stay unforgettable.
Thanks Eve and Rob, we'll let our friends know and the world through Trip Advisor this is the spot for value, friendliness and comfort to stay in your beautiful area.

Room Tip: For mature coules a ground floor unit is unsurpassed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Guys,

Thank you so much for your comments :-) Eve and I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here in Wanaka! It is awesome that you took an extra night to unwind and relax, sometimes you can forget that it is a holiday after all!

Have a safe onward journey, enjoy New Zealand and we hope to host you again one day.

Kind regards

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Motel

Property: Fairway Motel
Address: 2 MacPherson Street | Central Otago District, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For comfortable, affordable accommodation in Wanaka, think Fairway Motel. Fairway Motel can provide a great range of studios, family units and 2 bedroom apartments that can cater for anyone from traveling couples to large groups. Fairway motel facilities include: - Large in ground swimming pool (Dec - Apr) and BBQ area perfect for those warmer months - Guest laundry, bike & golf club storage space and a ski drying room for the winter - A big car park area to accommodate boats, trailers and tour buses - Freeview Satellite TV Fairway Motel is close to all Wanaka amenities, the pristine lake, fine restaurants and shops are just a short stroll away. Puzzling World and Mt Iron track is a short walk and we are adjacent to the spectacular Wanaka Golf Club. Wanaka can offer you a myriad of outdoor pursuits in all seasons, so let Fairway Motel be your ticket to ride! Your hosts Eve and Rob look forward to welcoming you to Wanaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing