We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Motel”
Review of Fairway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairway Motel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

After staying in a motel in Dunedin for a week which had no outdoor facilities we arrived here this is a fantastic facilty for families with our children loving the pool and a great barbecue area for relaxing at night. Close to town and clean modern facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliekarenryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and got good use out of the pool and BBQ area. Its great to see kids making the most out of the pool! Kind regards, Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel room was basic, and unfortunately, we were bothered by lingering kitchen smells (exotic food). Management helpful, and trying to do his best, but the motel is quite run down.
Not a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you found our location to be in a good position. Apologies that you felt there was residual cooking smells in the room, cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on. We would have been more than happy to offer an apology on the spot and move you into a different room had you alerted us to this issue at the time. It is difficult to know what to say when the only feedback you get is given online and after the fact, but I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. Have a safe onward journey. Kind regards, Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great location. convenient for town and nearby restaurants. clean comfortable and value for money. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great local advice from Rob and would recommend a stay. Han & James

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cvjmje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hi guys, glad you had a great time here in Wanaka! Keep enjoying New Zealand and have a safe trip home too :-)

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review!

Kind regards

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had originally planned to only stay here for 2 nights but we liked Wanaka so much we ended up staying for four nights! The rooms are relatively basic, our kitchen in particular was very small, but they were clean and the bed comfortable so we didn't mind. The hosts were very helpful and flexible in allowing us to stay longer and the motel is within easy walking distance of the town centre. Having looked at other options in Wanaka, I think this motel offers good value for money.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ReadingHolidaywanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Hi Guys,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review :-) On behalf of the team here at Fairway we are glad that you enjoyed your time here in Wanaka and that you feel you got great value as Fairway guests. Enjoy New Zealand! Kind Regards, Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

On our drive through form Greymouth to QTown, we stopped on a whim and took a room there and paid up 120 for one night, we probably got taken as a walk in. The room was under a staircase, the kitchen small and strangely spread on both sides, the room small compared to 6-7 other motels we stayed in NZ. The partitions were wood, if you knock you can feel the sound going through to the other side, we did not have any neighbor, did not hear any sound coming through. There's facility to wash your car near the pool with a faucet and rags to wash, we had a dirty car running 1500 kms though rain and dirt. Though the lady at the reception was helpful with information, we fell we could have got better bang for the buck. Location was good, the lake a walk down the road. Since it was for just one night we did not complain and pushed on.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I find this an interesting review as being the shoulder season and having looked through our November records there have been no charges for $120 for one night stays. I guess it is difficult to really provide an adequate response as generally if people are not 100% happy with any aspect of their room they will let us know at the time and we will do our very best to assist. I am glad the location was good and I can assure you that all of our studio units have thick concrete walls. Apologies if you feel we have let you down in some way. Regards, Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Great stay with a baby and toddler huge rooms and plenty of space for 4 adults and two kids.
Only complaint was that the people who stayed above us were early risers and you could hear every thing including their jug boiling.
Needs a bit of soundproofing. But might pay to get an upstairs room too.

Bar that friendly hosts, Separate laundry available. Free BBQ and BBQ tools provided.

Would definitely stay again !

Stayed: November 2013
Thank haykerryharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hi Guys,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you had a good time here in Wanaka. In regard to soundproofing, thank you for the information, it is something we will look at for sure. Those two rooms are more recent 'add ons', the main block of studios and the apartments are all soundproofed but it is great to get feedback as we are always looking at continuous improvement :-)

Take care, again we are rapt you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of Eve and myself we hope to see you again. Pool is open from 1st Dec - 31 March perfect for the kids!
Kind regards
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Easy to find on the main road into Wanaka. Warm well equipped units and a friendly welcome make this a great place to stay. The unit we enjoyed on the 1st floor had a good view and was well fitted out.and roomy.

This would be an ideal motel if you were a golf fan but even if not would be an ideal family holiday spot or a business stay, Close drive to town with all the restaurants and bars that Wanaka has to offer.

Room Tip: Back block rooms are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for the great comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Wanaka and that you found the room comfortable. We really enjoy hosting people in this beautiful town!

Kind regards,
Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#13 of 20 in Wanaka
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Motel

Address: 2 MacPherson Street | corner MacPherson St and State Hwy 84, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: £82 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For comfortable, affordable accommodation in Wanaka, think Fairway Motel. Fairway Motel can provide a great range of studios, family units and 2 bedroom apartments that can cater for anyone from traveling couples to large groups. Fairway motel facilities include: - Large in-ground swimming pool (Dec - Apr) and BBQ area perfect for those warmer months - Guest laundry, bike & golf club storage space and a ski drying room for the winter - A big car park area to accommodate boats, trailers and tour buses - Freeview Satellite TV Fairway Motel is close to all Wanaka amenities, the pristine lake, fine restaurants and shops are just a short stroll away. Puzzling World and Mt Iron track is a short walk and we are adjacent to the spectacular Wanaka Golf Club. Wanaka can offer you a myriad of outdoor pursuits in all seasons, so let Fairway Motel be your ticket to ride! Your hosts Eve and Rob look forward to welcoming you to Wanaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing