We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our nicest stay in New Zealand!”
Review of Alpine View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine View Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Dear Michelle and Craig!
What shall we say?
Spend words on the incredible panorama? It's there for all to see.
To say that Aspiring is a nice cottage misses the point by a mile. It is awesome! Nice sleeping rooms great sitting room and dining room. Well appointed kitchen washing machine, what more do you desire?
The terrace of course, with the grill! The garden with lawn and a table with sun-shade...
The whirlpool...
We spent a great time at your lodge in Wanaka and we will surely be back for more. Tahank you ever so much for providing us with our best stay on our trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pineapple_girl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was a first stop in our long journey across NZ. We have spent here 3 days and it was just perfectly fitting our needs to gather strength after 2-days flight. At the same time we have made few unfrogettable acitvities from Wanaka as well, so the location was really perfectly fitting into our itinerary. The lodge location is great. Not on the lake but the fabulous mountains views, private garden, quiet area (away-from-it-all) are compensating the lack of the lake-view! The accomodation is small child friendly. If we will manage to make another NZ trip sometime, this lodge will be on the very top of our list.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina_Gen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This was an amazing place to stay after travelling around the South Island in an incredibly uncomfortable camper van. Everything was luxury. The hosts were amazing and so friendly as well as informative in regards to our next destination. Free brekky was great, not just your crappy cornflakes and milk. It came with fruit and yoghurt! I was as happy as a pig in s!*t!!! Definitely recommend!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahBananz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

This was one of our better b&b stays in NZ. The host were very friendly and had lots of good suggestions for the area. The room was clean and fresh with a great view and quite large. Breakfast was served in the room which was great as we could sit at the small table and view the mountains as we ate. There is also a spa though we didn't use it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrebudJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Quiet location in lovely countyside but still only a 5 minute drive to lakeside and centre. Friendly and attentive host made us very welcome and our stay most enjoyable. Only stayed 1 night but would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Our host in Picton suggested Wanaka rather than Queenstown, selected this from google and were we pleased? Originally booked a 2 day stay and extended to 4 and would have stayed longer. Michele and Craig were so friendly and patient from the moment we arrived. We had the "Alpha" room which was great; bathroom and sleeping area on the entry level and then down a few steps to the sitting area, kitchen and deck. Very tastefully appointed, a twin bath...... and a spa. On top of all this Michele provided a complimentary continental breakfast which for us was home from home.
Michele and Craig gave us so much help with walks, visits etc our stay here was fantastic. In the evening it was so peaceful watching the colours changing on the distant mountains. Not quite walking distance to the town and can't see the lake but these weren't important. Would I stay here again - YES.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the studio and had more than ample room. Superb quality accommodation spotlessly clean and a wonderful informative host. Very peaceful location literally just outside of town with beautiful views. A lovely breakfast brought to our room to enjoy at our leisure .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
802 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
517 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
0.3 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Lodge

Address: 23 Studholme Road | Rd 2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £103 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Lodge is set in 4 scenic acres on the edge of Wanaka - close enough to walk to the lake and town, but far enough away to enjoy peace, tranquility and relaxation. Our guests describe us as one of the best accommodations they stayed in during their holiday, with many guests booking for one night but then staying for three or four. King, queen, singles and twin all with en-suite bathrooms, we also can accommodate families being able to sleep up to 12 people. We offer complimentary continental breakfasts with our studio rooms, free Wi-fi and also a constantly heated spa pool all in a garden setting with stunning mountain views. With beautifully landscaped gardens, Alpine View Lodge is also a stunning venue for small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing