We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanaka Haven”
Review of Alpine View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine View Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wanaka Haven”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We enjoyed a most hospitable couple of days at the Alpine View Lodge to celebrate our daughter's wedding at The Venue.
The location was perfect and very tranquil.
Hosts Craig and Michele were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble.
The accommodation worked perfectly for both families, a rather large group of 12. The main dwelling and adjacent cottage were very clean, comfortable and included every amenity to make our stay one of the most memorable in 40+ years of travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGregNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
154
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Alpine View Lodge early September, what a brilliant find. Our hosts Michelle and Craig were very welcoming and full of interesting information and suggestions. Our studio was just lovely, very cosy and comfortable with everything we needed and a wonderful view! Would highly recommend Alpine View Lodge, especially if you love something a little special!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaygee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

One of the best accommodation places we had on our month long holiday in NZ
we also wished we could have stayed longer in Wanaka
the room was excellant the breakfast was good served in our room
This is a 5 star property and we loved the Cardrona suite
Michelle & Craig were the were wonderful hosts and we hope to stay in contact with them
And lake Wanaka is just a wonderful place Great restuarants and much to see & do
thank you for having us - we will be back
Barry & Cherrie

Room Tip: Just 3 minutes from town, worth the drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our room was clean and had everything we needed - toaster, kettle, microwave, Meeting and feeding the sheep - Molly, Mary, Carpet and Yoda - was a highlight for the whole family. We'd highly recommend this lodge for anyone travelling to Wanaka!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursematilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Thanks so much to Michelle for being the most welcoming, friendly helpful host.. Such a FAB ambassador for Kiwi's.. We had our own unit with seperate access and it was GORGEOUS. The breakfast was just fab and Michelle brought it down on the cutest large tray with gingham cloth. We loved our stay here and would recommend this place to anyone.. Michelle even drpped us into town!! Such super service..THANKS!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sin2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The friendliness of the hosts sets this place apart. From the moment you arrive until the time you leave, you feel welcome. Our room was clean, cosy and comfortable, ideal after a day on the ski slopes. Located just a two minute drive from the town centre, its quiet but still convenient to the shops and restaurants. Breakfasts were simple but good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithsAreUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were completely impressed with our accommodation at alpine lodge. It was clean, modern and private. The hosts were incredibly helpful with local knowledge and all suggestions were spot on for us. The views from our room were fantastic and we felt comfortable throughout our stay without exception.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
778 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Lodge

Property: Alpine View Lodge
Address: 23 Studholme Road | Rd 2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Lodge is set in 4 scenic acres on the edge of Wanaka - close enough to walk to the lake and town, but far enough away to enjoy peace, tranquility and relaxation. Our guests describe us as one of the best accommodations they stayed in during their holiday, with many guests booking for one night but then staying for three or four. King, queen, singles and twin all with en-suite bathrooms, we also can accommodate families being able to sleep up to 12 people. We offer complimentary continental breakfasts with our studio rooms, free Wi-fi and also a constantly heated spa pool all in a garden setting with stunning mountain views. With beautifully landscaped gardens, Alpine View Lodge is also a stunning venue for small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing