We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in every way.... just wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of Alpine View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine View Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way.... just wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I don't often give out 5 stars on Tripadvisor but we just loved everything about Wanaka....

Our 2 night stay at Alpine View Lodge was perfect - Michele was such a lovely host. She helped us out with our itinerary and responded to countless emails offering suggestions before we had even arrived! The property is in a lovely setting and it was one of the few places we just wish we could have stayed longer! :-)

Thanks, Jamie & Gemma

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JKPR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
154
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Upon arrival, my husband and I were warmly welcomed by the owners. Lovely couple who could not have done any more to help us with our stay in wanaka. Our accomodation was superb and we felt it was pure luxury. Lovely home comforts with a lovely added touch of a slice of beautiful cake awaiting us in our room. Lovely breakfast also the next morning. All and all thoroughly recommended to all.

helen & peter molloy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and when we left Michelle and Craig it was like leaving good friends. The studio we stayed in was lovely with views across the garden to the mountains. It was clean, well equipped and the bed was really comfortable. They were very considerate and knowledgable about the area and gave us great tips. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts with other guests and evening BBQs on our private deck. Don't stay anywhere else if you go to Wanaka.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

we spent one night at this lovely B&B lodge two days ago. we were warmly welcomed by Craig and Michelle, they are really nice and considerate, making us feel like at home. when we got into the studio, it was a big wow, with stunning view from the window, and everything in the room can reflect that the hosts are really dedicated in making our stay comfortable. we fed the sheep, met with cat Koko and doggie Scruffy. they live together as a family, just like those warm lovely families. i would love to see my retirement like this, working hard but living happily with my families... if u ever visit Wanaka area, do stay with them, wont regret...we will definitely come back at winter season sometime in the future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daisy1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Don't look anywhere else .. stay here with Michelle and Craig. It is a beautiful property .. we had a self contained room / kitchenette / bathroom unit with some private space looking out on a beautiful garden and the hills beyond .. like a motel you might say! But they also serve a tasty breakfast in a lovely room joined by the other guests. We really enjoyed sharing a couple of long breakfasts with other interesting guests .. and with Craig and Michelle. Nothing was too much trouble and some great tips included

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very good place to stay.

Check this place out for availability BEFORE booking elsewhere in Wanaka. If its free, book book book!!!

Small self accommodation units ranging in bedroom sizes. I was by myself & had the studio which was large, very comfortable and well kitted out. Kitchenette was a little small though more than adequate for just myself (or even couple). Some of the larger units have full kitchens. Studio also had private deck & garden with AMAZING views.

Bedding and general décor is very nice and homely.

There are a mix of unit sizes. Suitable for singles, couples or family's (depending on the unit)

Most units seemed semi-detached, though for instance mine was only joined to one other unit via the carport/garage so no noise issues at all. Hardly saw/heard anyone else over the 5 days.

Nice spa.

Short 2 mins drive from Wanaka. Situated in the countryside. Super relaxing and quiet.

Hosts were very keen to look after you.

Will 100% return on my next Wanaka ski trip. Considering the price, I'm not sure you can beat it elsewhere.

Room Tip: All look good. Depends how many bedrooms you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

An enjoyable one night stay.Room is well furnished and pretty with comfy beds. Host is very friendly n hospitable. The breakfast is one of the highlights for us during the stay. Set in a peaceful environment,it is the perfect place to unwind. I like the high standard of cleanliness too. Can feed farm animals if u are keen.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Agnes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Lodge

Property: Alpine View Lodge
Address: 23 Studholme Road | RD 2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Lodge is set in 4 scenic acres on the edge of Wanaka - close enough to walk to the lake and town, but far enough away to enjoy peace, tranquility and relaxation. Our guests describe us as one of the best accommodations they stayed in during their holiday, with many guests booking for one night but then staying for three or four. King, queen, singles and twin all with en-suite bathrooms, we also can accommodate families being able to sleep up to 12 people. We offer complimentary continental breakfasts with our studio rooms, free Wi-fi and also a constantly heated spa pool all in a garden setting with stunning mountain views. With beautifully landscaped gardens, Alpine View Lodge is also a stunning venue for small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing