We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, charming and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpine View Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, charming and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at Alpine View Lodge for 3 nights and had a lovely time. Our room (Minaret) was warm and inviting (on a cold July night!) with the heater on. The electric blankets and heated towel rack were also a nice touch for winter visitors. Our room was very spacious for the two of us, and the view of the garden was beautiful. The bathroom was a nice size, with a clean and well-powered shower, and an additional heater in the bathroom. There was also a small area in the room with a microwave, mini fridge and kitchen utensils, however we didn't use those. Also a small TV in the room with local free to air.

Our hosts Michelle and Craig were perfect hosts, ensuring that we were comfortable and could contact them with any queries about Wanaka. Michelle's breakfasts were very welcome before a day of skiing (eggs/toast, pancakes/bacon and porridge respectively).

The lodge is very easy to find and is a quick 5 minutes door-to-door to anywhere in Wanaka by car. We also used the spa pool (hot tub), which was really nice on a cold winter night - but be advised to bring flip-flops to get out to the garden area, because we didn't and had to run on very cold ground!

All in all we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Minaret room is a perfect size for two and includes the carport right in front of the cabin door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isobellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
150
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flaxton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Michelle and Craig are the perfect hosts. They make you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive. The service was First Class, currently at the hilton, wishing we were back at the Alpine View Lodge. If they could make their B&B portable we would use it in every location. Thank you Michelle an Craig for a wonderful stay. Bren and Beth

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethWhielers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived late in the evening, and Michelle and Craig was simply amazing. The fireplace was already alight, the place was tidy and the use of space was brilliant. Every little touch was careful, every little need of ours was catered for. Was able to spend the morning feeding the chickens and sheep even, under the snowy peaks and perfect blue skies.

All I will say is that I wish I could have stayed longer, and really enjoy the amazing hospitalities. Already planning a return in the summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed one night in the Minaret (1 bedroom, En-suite studio with king bed). The hosts, Craig and Michelle, were very friendly, hospitable and helpful. Upon arrival, Craig greeted us and realised that he had seen us earlier at Mt Iron on his run (our walk ;). He then showed us to our room and made sure our dinner plans were sorted out.

We really liked the room especially with the little kitchenette that was well stocked with everything you need for small meals or snacks. Michelle even made some shortbread for us and left it in our room. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom amenities provided were thoughtful and elegant, not unlike what you get in 4-star hotels.

We also enjoyed the continental breakfast that Michelle prepared and we appreciated how she helped us sort out our upcoming plans by helping us check the weather in different areas, calling the skydiving company and hotels etc.

Location-wise this is outside of the main Wanaka lake area but we didn't mind as we had a car, and the lodge is set in a beautiful area. I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The minaret is perfect for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palliechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived in Queenstown and drove straight to Wanaka, where we stayed for 2 nights at the Alpine View Lodge. It was a perfect beginning to our holiday.

The room was well appointed and very clean with an excellent shower. We had a wonderful view from our room and the surrounds were tranquil and beautiful.

The hosts (Craig and Michelle) were friendly and helpful, and they very obviously enjoy meeting the people who come to stay in their B&B. They made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was delicious and healthy, and we very much enjoyed chatting to Michelle.

If you are going to the charming town of Wanaka and this B&B is available, stay there - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights. The very best B&B during our 10 day visit to NZ! Good to feed the sheeps. Full cooked breakfast is available for everyone. Love the Deere mowers! My life and her parents think the same too. Will visit next time if travel to Wanaka again in the future.

Room Tip: The king studio is nice. The split level studio is much bigger than it seems on the picture, with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent three nights at this B&B in Wanaka. The hosts were wonderful, breakfast conversation was lively, and we were given great advice for walks and biking throughout Wanaka. They even allowed us use of their grill and cycles. Our accommodations were very nice, and we couldn't recommend the Alpine View Lodge more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#8 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Lodge

Property: Alpine View Lodge
Address: 23 Studholme Rd South | RD 2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Lodge is set in 4 scenic acres on the edge of Wanaka - close enough to walk to the lake and town, but far enough away to enjoy peace, tranquility and relaxation. Our guests describe us as one of the best accommodations they stayed in during their holiday, with many guests booking for one night but then staying for three or four. King, queen, singles and twin all with en-suite bathrooms, we also can accommodate families being able to sleep up to 12 people. We offer complimentary continental breakfasts with our studio rooms, free Wi-fi and also a constantly heated spa pool all in a garden setting with stunning mountain views. With beautifully landscaped gardens, Alpine View Lodge is also a stunning venue for small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing