We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Friendly service by people who make you feel very welcome, great rooms, facilities & a great spa”
Review of Alpine View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine View Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2010

If you are looking for somewhere to stay where you are made to feel very much at home, where people make you feel like you are very special, this is the place to stay. We had the oppurtunity to stay in the smaller rooms & then later move into the rooms that had a large family area & both were great. Craig & Michele went out of their way to make sure that we had everything that we needed & went to great lengths to make sure we were comfortable.

The spa was great at the end of a long day sking to take away the muscle aches.

I wouldn't hesitate for one moment in recommending Alpine View Lodge & will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneMurwillumbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

We cannot write one bad word about this bed and breakfast establishment. Run by a sweet, helpful, catering couple, this quaint B&B was definitely the stand out lodging of our trip to New Zealand. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, with great heating facilities. Breakfast was promptly delivered to the room and it was delicious. The hotel is a 3-minute drive from the main part of town, but I would describe the distance as an advantage as it really gave the experience country charm. We'd have to say that one of the main highlights is the jacuzzi outside, which was really relaxing and a great place to view the gorgeous starry night sky. Stay at the Alpine View Lodge, and we assure you that Craig and Michele will provide you with the most memorable stay available on the south island.

-Lauren and Michael

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren34677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We visited the Alpine View Lodge just outside of Wanaka in 2010 and we loved it. The only thing we regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We reserved a two bedroom apartment because we traveled in a group of 4 (two couples). When we arrived, we met one of the nicest women we encountered in New Zealand. Our accomodation was basically a small townhouse. One bedroom was a small room with a patio outside the door. The bathroom had a shower, no tub. The second room was had a queen sized bed on a upper "deck" or loft, a large bathroom with a soaker tub, a living room space with couches and a TV, and a medium sized deck just outside. The deck had both a grill and a table set with chairs. Just outside our window sheep grazed and laid in the shade. (yes, they were in an enclosed area).

Outside, there was a hot tub that could be shared with other guests but the place was so quiet we had the hot tub to ourselves. The whole place was quiet and lovely. We had just completed the Routeburn hike and found this the perfect place to rejunivate.

This room is just outside of town. I'd say that it's great if you are traveling with a car or some type of transportation. If you aren't, it could be a little difficult/expensive to get into town.

Not the cheapest place around, but worth every penny! I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKH3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Alpine View Lodge. Just out of town, it affords all the luxuries of more fancied 'resort' styled establishments, and yet it's size allows for a more personal experience, either for a group (like ours), families, or indeed couples.
My group of 8 used this as a base for our fishing expedition, staying there on the first and last nights. No request to owners Michele and Craig was too difficult, and their hospitality was first class.
The accommodation has everything you need for a great holiday - enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagpieCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Our stay with Michele and Craig was by far one of the warmest and most comfortable of all the places we stayed at in New Zealand.Be it a request for a latch on the bathroom door or a bonfire or a frying pan for scrambled eggs,these guys were on top of everything. Breakfast came at a price; so we self catered which was not a problem since the clearing up was well taken care of by them! Laundry (at a nominal price)was well done; the clothes would be neatly folded and waiting for us by evening. The apartments were clean,well maintained; towels and linen crisp white! Craig was really helpful in advising us and helping us set up appointments to places to visit and restaurants. The lodge was a bit off from the main town center which gave us all the peace and quiet we needed. We were a family of ten people; hats off to these guys for handling us so well!!Craig and Michelle, we had a lovely evening sitting out and eating pizza with you the night before we left; my dad is your greatest fan and says we will def come back to you guys when we visit NZ again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vandanaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Although not a lakeside location, the alpine views and peace were brilliant. Great to have access to a private garden, decking area and barbeque - also a hot spa. The accommodation was roomy, high speck and beautifully arranged - very comfortable and luxurious. Hosts were very helpful recommending a restaurant within easy walking distance, brought great breakfast and had time to chat and offer thoughts and ideas about our NZ trip - we really wished we could have stayed longer - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We had a group of 7 friends staying for a wedding. The house was great, with nice relaxed surroundings with the picnic tables set up outside around the bbq and fire. Fantastic to come back to the spa at the end of the weekend. Michele and Craig were fantastic - so friendly, easy going and helpful. They did a great job, especially considering they had just recently taken over the business right in time for the busy season.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiShazSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilliP, Owner at Alpine View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2010

Hi Shaz, thank you for your review, we appreciate any comments that will help us to improve Alpine View Lodge and our performance. The cottage is being painted as I write this, with new curtains and bedding which should improve our guests quality of stay. Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to perhaps seeing you in Wanaka again sometime in the future. Many thanks Michele and Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
847 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Lime Tree Lodge
Lime Tree Lodge
#3 of 48 in Wanaka
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#10 of 53 in Wanaka
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Lodge

Address: 23 Studholme Road | Rd 2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: £110 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Lodge is set in 4 scenic acres on the edge of Wanaka - close enough to walk to the lake and town, but far enough away to enjoy peace, tranquility and relaxation. Our guests describe us as one of the best accommodations they stayed in during their holiday, with many guests booking for one night but then staying for three or four. King, queen, singles and twin all with en-suite bathrooms, we also can accommodate families being able to sleep up to 12 people. We offer complimentary continental breakfasts with our studio rooms, free Wi-fi and also a constantly heated spa pool all in a garden setting with stunning mountain views. With beautifully landscaped gardens, Alpine View Lodge is also a stunning venue for small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing